Cancer in the Home, latest news.

Yesterday we returned to the hospital to see the oncologist and get the results of the scan Julia had back in March. Our daughter and nieces accompanied us again but that was probably in the hopes of seeing Dr. Drop Dead Gorgeous. They were to be disappointed since we saw the lady from our last visit. Though she is honest in where we stand she always tries to temper that with some enthusiastically given ‘Good News’.

Today we were told that the tumour has grown back to the size it was when Julia was first diagnosed and before the chemotherapy shrunk it so much. This was said with the speed of a machine gun spitting out bullets so that it had just hit home when the speech slowed slightly for the good news. “But” she said ” it hasn’t spread to any other organ, and since you’re not currently uncomfortable ( in pain), and you’re currently trying to live as normal a life as possible, we’ve decided to continue on the path of no treatment. To offer something now could exacerbate the growth and reduce your quality of life. We need to reserve treatment for a time when you start to feel the effects of the tumour again.”

Everyone seemed delighted with the news that the other organs were currently clear and that no treatment was currently needed. I held myself in check asking just a couple of questions, the main one of which was to see if chemotherapy could be restarted at a lower dose of the gemcitobene if needed as the other treatment option is to take tablets daily which have only a 10% success rate. The prevaricating answer is that they could look at the option. I thought Julia was happy with the news too until we got home. She told me she’s scared that the tumour is back at the size it is and she worries now if she’ll survive to see our daughter married or if she’ll hold a grandchild of that wonderful union. I did all I could to stay positive and remind her she’s still riding and relatively pain free.

My own worries though aren’t so easily dispersed since I’m wondering if the scan was six weeks ago, how much growth has there been since then? Will it grow beyond the limits of the splanchnicectomy and cause the pain to return which can only be controlled with large doses of morphine ? I don’t even know how fast the growth is. It could have started growing slowly in December when the chemotherapy stopped and taken till March to reach this size, or it may have only started growing a week before the scan and got to this size quickly. This again leaves me wondering where we are size-wise now.

We return to the hospital in 6 weeks unless Julia feels any discomfort in which case we go back straight away. But, if we manage the six weeks I shall feel I have to ask for a new scan to give me a better idea of how we stand. I will worry though that Julia and the girls will see this as a sign of desperation on my part and start to feel the same way. At the moment all I can do is hope Julia continues to enjoy the horse riding and doesn’t start to feel enough discomfort to lessen her quality of life.

Friday addendum. It seems I was wrong as Julia has told me today how upset she is that the tumour has grown back to it’s previous size. She’s wondering now if this is the beginning of the end. Staying upbeat and keeping her positive is that little bit harder now. But, as I pointed out, great strides are being made every day and by next Friday she could be cured and driving me to drink.

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “Cancer in the Home, latest news.

  1. Never underestimate a mother’s will to hold that first grandchild in her arms. Lady J is strong and she has important things to look forward to.
    -huge hugs to you both-

  2. Lady J seems to have many things in her life that she clearly enjoys, and knowing a wedding is imminent is certainly a reason to stay positive. It is lovely that you are all there for her, to know she has such staunch supporters can only be of help to her. hugs to you all.

  3. Thanks to you both for the support. It’s much appreciated I promise.

  4. Hope is powerful medicine. The desire to live, especially when Julia has so much to look forward too are powerful tools of healing!!! Many prayers are going up for Julia’s healing….never underestimate the power of prayer!!! xxx

    • I never underestimate the power of the human mind Kathy. In prayer I’m sure it’s capable of wonderful things. I also think the human body can actually fight back enough to reject cancer on occasions and believe me if anyone is stubborn enough for that it’s my wife. She wants to live and I want her to ( except of course when I’m strangling her for getting right up my nose) and so I think she will.
      Hugs

  5. My heart goes out to you and Julia. I feel with you in the uncertainties. Being, as you know, in similar circumstances, I find myself concentrating on enjoying my hubby now. The future may be uncertain, but we have right now with our spouses … and who knows, tomorrow may bring a new treatment, a new hope. Enjoy your Julia.

    • Thanks so much Rosie. I know how difficult it is for you and believe me I feel for you and hope your situation changes for the better. Like you I’m enjoying my spouse rather than concentrating on more mundane things- except eating as I need to keep her weight up. You’re quite right, we never know what tomorrow will bring. Since I saw that aspirin is the new cure all for cancer I make sure Ju will never have another headache if nothing else. She adds 2 75mg tablets to her daily regime now and I think it’s helping.
      As always, I send Huge Hugs to you and wishes for a brighter tomorrow.
      David

  6. Rosie and David — this is for both of you — from what I regularly read for my work, I keep seeing that there are new breakthroughs every single day. The aspirin alone was a ray of light. Anything one can do to delay and postpone is a victory.
    Ilil

  7. Hello, and first off, I’d like to thank you for stopping by my blog, A Walk With Words.

    Secondly, I find your blog to be interesting with all the different authors you’ve interviewed.

    And finally, I’ve lived through cancer in my home more than once, and I can relate to what your family is going through. Wishing you all the best.

    • Hi Mary, it’s very interesting to stop by so many blogs and to sign with some. They say variety is the spice of life and I’ve met some very good friends through their blog pages. Thank you for the nice comments, interviewing other authors is fun, I get to pick their brains for free. Some of them are very funny which is a great help when putting the end product together. I’m happy to interview most authors but won’t do it for fundamentalist books or any that promote hate. There’s enough of that in the world. Thanks so much for your best wishes which are gratefully received. I hope the cancer in your home had successful outcomes and if it was you, that you have received the all clear now. Good luck with the writing.
      Hugs. If you want to visit my other blog and meet Oscar, the cat from my books it’s http://lorddavidspage.weebly.com and Oscar’s Blog is all his own work……..

  8. Hello David,

    Thank you for the update. I know you have millions of prayers from all who know you, family, friends and Fans, me included.

    Best wishes,
    Mike

Leave a Reply

