Pride but no fall.

Today I’m as proud as punch. No, not because I’ve been in my first ever jacuzzi with my wife, the bride to be and her matron of honour but because when Julia and I got home the proof copy of her book had arrived. You might think I’d be blase  about proofs by now but the truth is I’m not. Also this is the first time I’d seen or read the book as I didn’t want to seem interfering. I had to let Julia handle the writing of this as she wanted even if it was badly written as it would at least be badly written from the heart. I was in no position to tell her how she actually felt at  the news of her cancer nor how she felt when told it was inoperable. Though I’ve tried to be with her every step of the was and be as supportive as possible ( no more so than Yvonne and our nieces Karen and Joanne) at no time could I put myself in her shoes. Probably I’ve had times where I’ve been selfish and looked at things from the viewpoint of how I’ll cope without her.

Ju has been keeping a journal of sorts at all the major stumbling blocks and had made them into an ongoing blog. My sole involvement was to suggest perhaps she made a book that we could always refer to. When the idea of promoting a new Riding school for the disabled in our area was mooted I thought maybe she could sell a few copies to help raise funds. She jumped at the idea and with the help of a friend in the U.S. who is herself a writer, the book was put on Lulu. Having agreed the proof copy it has now gone on sale. The book is called Hello, My name is Cancer. This title was chosen because Ju felt that after the diagnosis people looked at her as the illness and not the person. Since we’re currently beating the prognosis by quite a way we’ve proved the person is still there, As strong and as brave as ever. Currently Ju is back in some breakthrough pain again and we’ll have to arrange to have her medication reviewed. The MST ( morphine) is now inadequate.But tomorrow with the wedding of ouur daughter Ju has achieved her most important bucket list wish.

The link to the book is  http://www.lulu.com/shop/julia-prosser/hellomy-name-is-cancer/paperback/product-20380013.html and it’s available now at £5.98 per copy with all profits going to the Pennant Park Wishes fund.

The author (Ilil Arbel) who helped Julia edit the book and put it on Lulu wrote this for the back cover…

Hello My Name is Cancer is a most unusual book. It was written to encourage cancer patients on their difficult road, but it is much, much more. The book tells about the author’s relationship to her beloved horses, to family, to friends; it shows how life should be lived no matter how much time we think we have or not have. It is a story of pain, courage, loyalty, and the way to self knowledge. This book must be read by anyone who is undergoing difficult times – which happens to almost everyone – because no matter what the trouble is, the story would help the reader regain balance and perspective.

If you buy it I hope you enjoy it and that it inspires you as the author does me.

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “Pride but no fall.

  1. Pauline

    I have placed my order for Julias book, and can`t wait to get my copy, I am so proud of her, as a person she really is an inspiration, and I`m sure her book will be also.
    Well you are probably in the midst of all the pre wedding excitement, how wonderful you must all be feeling this evening , the eve of such a glorious and happy occasion, my sincere thoughts are with you, and I hope tomorrow (the BIG DAY ! ) goes brilliantly for all concerned. I would like to send my very best wishes to the bride and groom, and hugs galore to the extremely proud and very brave Mother and Father of the bride. I will be thinking of you all tomorrow, my dear friends xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx Pauline xx

  2. Pauline you’re an Angel. But we’ve always known that. Thanks so much. I’m not sure about pre-wedding excitement as much as pre-wedding fear. I’m hoping to catch laryngitis overnight ( that’s if it’s not running too fast) so I can ask Ju to give the father of the bride speech.I’ll loan her my top hat.
    Still, I’m looking on the bright side. The minute Ugo says “I do”, I can say “I’m done and it’s your turn now” before I start running, or more accurately, limping away.
    Thanks for the kind thoughts, Photo’s will be posted as soon as I have any.
    Huge Hugs

  3. I, too, bought Julia’s book, David. I’ve read your perspective of this ordeal as well as the fun times, and feel as if I know Julia just a little bit as we pray for you both nightly. Tell her hey from here, will you?

    • As kind as always Normandie. Ju will be thrilled ( though of course I’ll be miffed if she sells more than me) and I’ll certainly tell her “Hey” from you. I know she’d join me in sending Huge Hugs back to you both..

  4. Since I had the honor of helping to edit this wonderful book and push it to publication, I know it very well. It made me laugh and it made me cry, and most important, it made me see the world in a very different angle. Julia’s take on life is unique. Not just because of her courage as she fights the cancer, and not just because of her deep love of animals, particularly horses. It’s much more. Her vision of life is luminous, clean, and deep, and she would not let trouble, pain, or fear taint the clarity of this vision. Her honesty, truthfulness, and love are inspiring. You will not be able to put it down.

    • Thank you very much Ilil. We don’t underestimate your help in getting Ju’s book out either and I know she’s extremely grateful.She has OK’d the proofs and you copy has been ordered to be signed. Hopefully not too long a wait.
      It’s been a very long day but a nice one and with much to blog about and photos to put up over the next few days.

  5. Your Lady J is an amazing woman. Hugs to you both 😀

  6. I’ve just placed my order Daud. Please tell Lady J that I think she’s the bravest person I know. All my thoughts with you both.

Leave a Reply

