Leonard, I’m sick.

For those of you who know me, you’ll know I’m a big fan of the Wonderful Big Bang Theory. If any of you also  like it enough not to miss an episode ( even when repeated for the umpteenth time) the phrase above will be familiar. Leonard I’m sick ! At which point Leonard is on his way out of the front door dragging on his trousers at 6am on a Sunday morning. When Sheldon gets no response o his plea he rings Leonard who claims to be in work on an emergency call.

Well poor Julia is having a Leonard week and she couldn’t even get out of the front door without being seen by me. Not that she’s renowned for being up at 6 am and not that she’s famous for hearing my calls anyway.

This has been coming on a week. Constant coughing with me swearing I’ll be able to shake it off usually leading to a trip to the doctors and very often a little holiday in hospital. This year I was determined, no docs, no hospitals. I didn’t do a Sheldon by inviting everyone to comment on the colour of my phlegm. Mossy green looked close enough. Monday I went out for a while with Ju’s sister and her husband with whom I’m very close and heard all the comments about looking white, looking pasty and looking below par as well as “Isn’t this chocolate Indulgence drink fantastic.” I was glad to get home. My breathing was getting worse and the constant coughing exacerbated that.

Yesterday was meant to be a very short trip out to collect something but I couldn’t manage it. Last night I went to bed about 10pm and slept till two when I was wide awake coughing. I answered messages on the computer till 5 am then went back to bed till 8.30 which is quite a lot for me. In between coughs I tried to giggle as I rang the bell Ju had left me with in case I needed her. Perhaps she didn’t hear it because it said ring for peace and quiet. If only they sold one that said ring for Armageddon. She didn’t hear me so I swung myself out of bed and went to wake her, give the girls their morning treat and put the kettle on. I just laid her tea on the table as she arrived to get the girls out for a play. I took my meds and ambled back to my bedroom to check the mail.

Very oddly I found myself nodding off over my keyboard, of course I didn’t realise it until I actually woke with a start and realised I’d no idea what message I was dealing with, whether I was answering them with balderdash or just deleting them. It all seemed such an effort. I really felt so odd ( yes, other than my usual self thank you Oz) I had to lie down and the next thing it’s 11.30 am and Ju’s asking me what I want for lunch. Because of the knife in her hand I forebore to mention I hadn’t even had breakfast. Anyway we lunched and in order to satisfy the diet tabs I had egg toasties. Almost straight afterwards I must have fallen asleep. Ju gave me a gentle shake at 1.15 pm to say she was going to her riding. Hugs were exchanges as were I love you’s and she left. I saw a little news and decided to come back to my mail for another go. I was doing really well and had cleared it by just gone 3.00 and thought the afternoon film at 3.15 appealed. I turned on and promptly fell asleep though of course I denied it when Ju walked in about 3 40 pm. I made her a cuppa and settled to the film again. Viewed though my eyelids it was quite different. That over I was fine between 4.45 and 6.oo for part of an antique show and a quiz. By that time Ju was ready to relax in comfort in bed and I came through here again to catch my messages. I’m going to urn in soon because I feel tired, my breathing is atrocious and the coughing is annoying me. In honesty I’d go out and leave it if I could,

So, if any of you hear a plaintive little cry of ‘I’m sick’ tomorrow morning, it’s not Sheldon so you’re safe. It’s me, get over here with the chicken soup and brow soothers as soon as possible.

33 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

33 responses to “Leonard, I’m sick.

  1. I’m a big fan of The Big Bang Theory so sympathise with the Sheldon quotes. Does Ju sing ‘soft kitty’ to make you feel better? 🙂

    Get well soon.

  2. I’m sure you’ve never heard this before. I don’t have a right all the way across the sea, but… “Get to the doctor!” I can’t help it, it’s a Mom thing, and, no, I’m not your mom. But, I’m a mom. Go to the doctor. I’ve never watched the Big Bang Theory. Hmm

    • Yes, I have to hear that here too. Trouble is I know they can’ do much for it as COPD is progressive and I have the best meds for now. All I might get is antibiotics and sometimes three different lots before there’s any improvement and I could have got the same point without them.Maybe I’ll go if it’s no better over the weekend. Hugs. xx

  3. Ha! I LOVE TBBT, so had a great time reading this, David. Well, I always have when reading your articles, so no news here… 🙂

    My first instinct is to scream “Get to the doctor” like Mary above me, but I must say I’ve had so many bad experiences with doctors that I understand why you’re avoiding them. Hope you wake up felling better tomorrow.

    • He He, thanks Renata. Glad to hear of another fan of the series. I really don’t mind most doctors but don’t like to bother them unnecessarily. I’m sorry you’ve had a bad time with them.
      I send you Hugs. xxxx

  4. -makes rude noise-
    For an intelligent man, David Prosser, you sure can be dumb sometimes. I know it’s part of the male genome to be stoic, and assume things will just go away, or get better, but did it ever occur to your awesomeness that your holidays in hospital were probably thanks to pranks just like this one?

    No sympathy whatsoever sir. Get thee to a quack or face the wrath of the Antipodes!

    • You mean you’re not going to sing Soft Kitty to me? No stoicism but also no chance of me going in hospital and leaving Ju alone. Putting up with something as small an inconvenience as this is better than that happening.
      Great title for a book by the way “The Wrath of the Antipodes”. Sounds almost like one of the thrillers I’d pay sixpence for at a Saturday afternoon matinee.
      Sending you Big Hugs. xxxx

  5. Hope you get to feeling better soon, David! (You can make even phlegm funny.)

  6. “Soft kitty, Warm kitty……” C’mon, sing it in the round!

    I am going to grump now, join with Meeks, and tell you to go to the doctor. RIGHT NOW!
    Number 2 is an asthmatic and those falling asleep episodes sound to me like a body who is working so hard on the small amount of oxygen it has that it doesn’t have the resources to keep you alert too.

    “Happy kitty, sleepy kitty. Purr purr purr…..”

    Hope you feel better soon 🙂

    • Oh, now I’m trying to imagine your voice. Is it like Penny’s a little hesitant or more like Ju’s, a weapon so bad she carries a permit.?
      I will think about the doctor, then I’ll hope Ju doesn’t catch me doing it as my doctor is dishy. I’m sending you extra special Hugs for singing to me and for wishing me better soon.

      • No, I don’t sound like the chirpy Penny at all, I have been accused of being a bit like Leslie Winkle though, more so when she was Darlene in Roseanne (and Leonard was David). I suspect that hearing me sing Soft Kitty for real might make you feel worse rather than better 😉

        If you have a dishy doctor that is definite reason to sneak over there when Lady J isn’t looking, just don’t let her wander through the pet shop while you are there, otherwise your wallet might be the thing that needs resucitation afterwards!

  7. Catherine Johnson

    Awh, I hope the chicken soup works wonders. Get well soon!

    • Thank you Catherine.To tell the truth I only suggested chicken soup as Ju can’t really cremate that. (I’m so happy she doesn’t read this blog).
      I hope things are going well for you all.
      Massive Hugs
      David

  8. Cough..hack..honk…sniff…cough..ok i’b really sorry youre so sick. I’b goingd to singd soft kiddy for you… Sniff cough. Sofd kiddy..sniff cough warmb kiddy…hack honk sniff… Liddle ball ob fur….honk…sniff… Happy kiddy, sleepy kiddy …cough cough… Purr purr purr…..

    Now maybe we both can rest! Love ya GL! Who’d of thought we’d both be sick at the same time?? Get better now! Xxxxoooo

    Hugs,
    Patti

  9. Lord David,

    WISHES from me to you for a very Speedy and Complete Recovery . . . and then for the remainder of 2013, I wish you and Julia al the best in HEALTH, HAPPINESS and Prosperity!

    Mike Phelps

  10. Love the Big Bang Theory and hope that you recover soon. Rest, rest, rest. And Happy New Year!

  11. David,

    Since we have a had a young child I haven’t really seen any television that wasn’t animated. I actually wasn’t sure they still made any! I though that all television had been abducted by the Disney channel! It is wonderful to hear that there “might” be a world outside of cartoons. I hope you aren’t pulling my leg and this is just a cruel joke on a stay-at-home dad.

    I hope you are feeling better now and you are taking care of yourself. Who else would I get to have such fun television banter with????

    Aaron

    • Honestly, there are actual programmes with real people. And programmes outside of 7.oo pm too just for adults.
      Feeling much better thanks and I always take care of myself no matter what Lady J tells people. I’m perhaps just a bit slower at going to the doctors that some people.
      Take care and keep up with the fun writing.
      Hugs

Leave a Reply

