Error Report.

We started today by taking a prescription request to the doctors and collecting the prescription I’d requested Monday. My drug tray is updated every Thursday so the stocks must be maintained. After leaving the doctors I knew we needed bread and OK i needed cigarettes. Before you ask, I haven’t given them up because I haven’t really wanted too and yes, I realise my illness is exacerbated by smoking but I’ve been at it a long time now. I’ve tried hypnosis and all that got me was a reasonable sleep for half an hour. Anyway back to the plot. The brand I smoke isn’t sold where we live so we decided to pick them up with fresh bread from Flint and perhaps go for a coffee.

Walking round the supermarket someone threw herself at us and we were delighted to see a young lady we first met some years ago who we haven’t seen for a long time. It appears she’d been to the cafe and actually left her phone number there for us as she wanted to bring her daughter round to see us. This young lady was fresh out of the army when we met her and she’d just had her baby. She had just moved to the area and knew no-one, it showed. She looked quite lost that first day and you could see what a wonderful mother she was from the way she interacted with the baby. Julia took quite an interest in the baby while I smiled from a distance having not got used to being near strangers . As we were leaving I passed Ju some money to pass on for Mum to buy the little girl a gift from  us. She was so taken aback and it proved to be the start of a warm friendship whenever we met. It hasn’t happened often but each time we’ve noticed huge changes in the little girl who now attends school.

We paid for the shopping and went for coffee remembering to take a box of sweets for the cafe staff who are great with us. There really are some wonderful people around and it’s nice to acknowledge them. After coffee it was a dash home to have lunch and prepare for going out for Ju’s scan. I hadn’t seen the appointment card for this but knowing we’d seen Dr. Dreamboat last week and he’d hoped to get an appointment this week I was happy. We lunched and I watched an antique programme got my coat and prepared to leave. I’d suggested going early so that if there were no delays we’d have time to sit with a cuppa before going in. Coats on we headed to the car.

“Ju, it’s definitely two o’clock for the scan” I asked as we got in the car. With a sigh of exasperation she opened her bag and pulled out the letter. “There see, doubting Thomas” she said ” two o’clock Wednesday 20th Feb.”  I must have looked stunned for a moment as she asked what was wrong. “It is Wednesday isn’t it?” she asked. It didn’t take me long to point out she’d got that much right at least but that I didn’t fancy sitting in the waiting room for two weeks. On a more serious note neither of us wanted her to wait another two weeks in the pain she’s currently feeling. So, as we headed back out of the car and I thanked her for the outing, I suggested I go to the chemist to fill my prescription and she phone the oncologist and see if he could get the appointment moved up. It turned out that was up to us so when I came home from the chemist we phoned the scan department and explained the problem, emphasising that Ju has cancer and a prolonged wait would mean very much increased pain. They promised to ring us back if they could find a cancellation. Sure enough ten minutes later they were on asking if we could go next Tuesday evening. We grabbed it.

The Macmillan nurse called this evening and I disappeared after quickly making sure Ju would ask about the treatment after the scan. She assured us Doc. Hotlips would act very quickly after the result and if it turned out to be fluid causing the distended stomach he would probably drain it in a matter of days.( I’m reliably informed they can’t drain it by giving the patient a tap on the head). She said if he wasn’t quick enough she’d see if it could be done in  a hospice by another doctor. That’s a real comfort knowing there may be another option. It may be done in the day or it may mean an overnight stay as a lot of the body’s salt and other minerals could be lost and Ju could be very tired. The bad news is this may be a recurring theme. The good news was Ju managed to stay up until 6.30pm because she hasn’t eaten today and that meant I saw an episode of the Big Bang Theory. Cup half full !!

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “Error Report.

  1. -grin- A cup half full day is a good day. -hugs-
    p.s. the tap joke? -rolls eyes-

  2. madyane

    hello
    is this an auto portrait,how can i do to read it everyday/

    • I don’t do a blog everyday I’m afraid. But, if you want to follow it, when you bring the page up it should have a ‘Follow’ button right at the very top of the page which notifies you when I write something.I hope you enjoy it.

  3. Have you tried the Warren Nefron method, from Jerry Lewis’s ‘Cracking Up’ to quit smoking, David? 🙂 I tried to find the scene on Youtube, to no avail… Hope you’ve seen it, great comedy.

    I love how you can always look at the bright side, and see the glass half full instead of half empty. That’s amazing!

    Many hugs!

    • I’ve not heard of that Renata. I must have seen it at some stage as I’ve probably seen all Jerry Lewis’ films but don’t remember it. I’ll keep an eye open.
      Glass half full is what keeps me going I think because I can usually make others smile, Half empty and they’d turn off in their droves.
      Sending you massive Hugs
      xxxxxxxxxxx

  4. Present for the baby, treats for the cafe staff… you are a big softie 😀
    Glad to hear you had a half-full day and I hope that Lady J is feeling better very soon 🙂

    • Treats for the cafe staff mean great service every time, though that’s what we get anyway so it’s a thank you. The baby was one of those Ahhh moments that catch us unawares.
      Half full days aplenty as long as JU is with me. Thanks Metan and Huge Hugs to you. xx

  5. I know how hard it is to give up smoking, and in the current situation, it would be only torturous to give them up now. It sounds like Julia is a brave, wonderful woman, and I hope they take care of the problem soon.

    P.S. I received your email sometime back but have had so much going on. However, it is a brill idea, and I’ll shoot you an email back hopefully this weekend.

    • Thanks Amberr, you’re right Ju is brave and wonderful and no-one here is giving up on her. We’re always looking at the latest treatments and the new wonder fruits.
      You know, I love to have brill ideas but I can’t even remember what this one was so I look forward to hearing from you. Hugs. xx

  6. Have managed three months now off the cigs have put on about a stone but loving the extra pennies in my purse lol hope Ju is still managing the odd ride when weather allows, as you have probably seen from my tweets little Charlie is really having a tough time right now was supposed to be on a new drugs trial this week but is in ICU with pneumonia all anyone can do is pray for miracles

    • Well done Paula. Was it willpower alone or did you use something.? I bought a menthol electronic cigarette that’s quite good but it would cost me £10 a day and still give me nicotine.
      Ju’s not been able to ride recently because he stomach is so badly distended it’s very uncomfortable. I don’t think jogging it up and down would help. But soon hopefully they’ll sort this and she can go back to it for a while.
      I’m so sorry little Charlie is having such a tough time of it.I hope he can get out of ICU and on the new drugs trial soon. My fingers will be crossed that these will work for him.
      Hugs

      • I went in hospital for my spinal surgery so knew I had to do cold turkey for the first few days then just gritted my teeth and did it – actually first few weeks were okay I just have really bad urges every now and again that sneak up upon me

      • Erm, I don’t think I fancy doing it that way Paula, my spine is OK as it is. I’ve not had a long period in hospital for a while just the odd few days that makes me want one the minute I come out- even when it’s for a lung condition. I wish you lots of luck in fighting the urges to smoke and also to fight replacing the cigarettes with the odd nibble. Still, I suppose if you gain a couple of pounds it’s a great excuse to buy new clothes.
        Hugs

Leave a Reply

