A Hideous Spirit

Recently I featured a poem by myself. A rank amateur and someone with little interest in the field. But, today a friend from the Author’s Den site shared one of his many poems with me and I was so affected that I thought I’d share this with you. I hope you like it as much as I do.

A Hideous Spirit 

A smiling face that hid loathsome strategies

still haunts the shadows, lurking with predatory instinct,

ravenous in relentless pursuit of impossible dreaming.

A heart once embraced by lustful passion

destroyed by a Vampire’s thoughtless scheming.

Hideous spirit, you took what was not yours to take.

Your charm and transient grace would manifest fake.

Fingers, dancing delicately over a heaving breast

with voluptuous elegance you conned my heart

into feeling safe. Yet you tore it from my chest,

splintering sensual pleasure for a lifetime of pain

because you thought it best.

Now a cadaverous shell I lay,

my heart at your feet

on a canvas less painted in blood.

Pages of a life ripped from a spine-broke-book,

fly like leaves cracking on a withering wind

blown in disarray across a dispassionate wasteland.

Scattered to oblivion – a history lost to that look.

© P. Williams 2004 revised 2013

 

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “A Hideous Spirit

  1. A very thought provoking poem. It was very much like a story that I didn’t want to end. The visualisation was fantastic and drew me in to no end.

    Pass on my regards and I would like to read more if he has any.

    Sarah

  2. Thank you David for posting this, and thank you Sarah for your kind words. You will be able to read more of my work at http://www.authorsden.com/paulwilliams I’m currently reviewing and re-writing some of my old works to get me back into the swing of things. I have also recently created a Facebook page mostly dealing with things that have influenced me and some of my writing. It will from time to time, feature some of my work so you are more than welcome to join me there. https://www.facebook.com/BeyondTheLiminalRim?ref=hl

Leave a Reply

