The Last Journey.

Today we went to register the death of my beloved wife. How things have changed. As well as issuing permission for the funeral directors to go ahead they also deal with cancelling passports driving licences, blue badges ( parking for disabled drivers) and with notifying local councils and benefit agencies of the death so monies can be stopped. It seems they’re a One-Stop-Shop nowadays. It seemed to take an interminable length of time and I was truly glad to get out of there.

The funeral can go ahead. It will be at 11.45 on Friday April 12th at Mochdre Crematorium. Some people will want to bring flowers and I have no objection to that if i’s their way of showing love and respect. Others may prefer to donate and we’re happy with that too.

What we suggest are donations either to Cancer Research or to the Hospice Ju was looked after so well in.

http://www.stkentigernhospice.org.uk/fundraising       St. Kentigern’s Hospice.

http://www.pcrf.org.uk/                                    Pancreatic cancer research fund.

If anyone feels able or willing to donate then please do and you have my thanks.

Something else that happened this week has been a piece published about Julia’s courage. Here is he link. It would be nice if you felt able to comment as her friends even if you didn’t know her well.

http://soniamarsh.com/2013/04/my-name-isgutsy-story-david-prosser.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+blogspot%2FcXLI+%28Gutsy+Living%29

 

Thank you to all my friends who’ve offered great support. I will let everyone know how the funeral goes.

Regards and Hugs

David

32 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

32 responses to “The Last Journey.

  1. Good luck David, I’ll be thinking about you.

  2. I am so sorry…I know that Hospice is a gift,. . How difficult it must be. I wish you much peace and a sense of comfort as you face each future moment.
    namaste
    Roxie

    • Namaste Roxie. I have comfort in knowing Julia is still around me but it’s difficult to know I won’t be able to hug her again and though I can talk to her, she wont be there with a ready answer. Peace will come. I send you Hugs xxxx

  3. What an awful time that must have been. I get how you wanted to bolt from that office and its ticking-off of lists. I suppose the only consolation is that you won’t have to call or write to make all these notifications and cancellations – each time a reminder of the reality of Julia’s death.

    Best wishes, especially for the 12th.

    • Thank you. What made it difficult was what sounded like trite comments and insincere remarks from the deputy Registrar. Probably a very nice person, but when you face this day after day I suppose the same comments just trip off the tongue. It felt very condescending to us and disrespectful towards Julia. But you’re right, at least phone calls won’t have to be made now to each of the institutions to inform them individually.
      XX Hugs XX

  4. As always, you’re in my thoughts. I wish you peace in this difficult time. Hugs to you.

  5. Our sincere condolances to you David and Family at this difficult time. We loved having Julia up here, and i know how much she enjoyed her time here. Saturday we used the indoor arena for the first time, and i’m sure Julia is aware. She will be sadly missed by all at Pennant Park Riding Centre. With your permission, I would like to erect a plaque in the arena,
    in memory of Julia. Deepest Sympathies.xxxx

    • Thank you so much Carl and Storm. Yes, Julia loved being up at Pennant Park and she’s be over the moon to know the Indoor School is up and open. Her only regret would be that she missed the day with you. She’ll be riding wherever she is now and hoping the RDA come through for you so you can be the best centre in the UK and knowing that other disabled people will be taught by THE BEST. Yvonne and I would be absolutely delighted if you felt able to place a plaque for Julia in the arena. My Lady J will be missed but knowing others may see what kind of a person she was will be a great comfort.
      I send you all Huge Hugs and thanks for looking after her so well for me.

  6. Food Stories

    Thoughts & prayers are with you and your family.

  7. Catherine Johnson

    I think the one-stop shop organising all that so you don’t have to when your mind is clearly all over the place is a great idea, I just wish it wasn’t you who had to deal with that. Thinking of you, David.

    • Thanks so much Catherine. I wish it had been me in Ju’s place though I don’t wish this job on anyone afterwards The one-stop shop is a great help though.. Sending you Hugs. xxxx

  8. Truly sorry to hear that this journey has come to an end.

    Thinking of you and your family,
    Candy

    • Thank you Candy. She was magnificent at fighting and I know it was for Yvonne and myself. I wanted her out of pain and distress but I really didn’t want the journey to end. Sending Massive Hugs to you. xxxx

  9. Just wanted to let you know that I’ve made a donation to St Kentigern’s… unfortunately there was no way to tell them who it was in memory of, but you will know xxx

  10. Dear Lord David,

    My deepest condolences to you. I pray God will give courage and comfort to you and your family.

    Michael Phelps

  11. As usual, you are in our thoughts and prayers here, David. Many hugs!

  12. Pingback: Red Steps | Catherine Johnson

  13. My sincerest condolences. I hope you and your family find some comfort in the love and support of your family and friends.

    • Many thanks Pete. The support from family and friends has been astounding. Yvonne and I are overwhelmed by the kindness shown and I know Ju would be amazed that so many people cared even if I told her how special she was. I’m really grateful Pete, thank you.

  14. Oh how I can empathise with you over the loss of your lovely wife. 15 years ago my darling succumbed and left us. Nobody can truly say that they know how you are feeling; we all react and cope differently. Friends and family rallied around me as they are obviously doing for you. Not having known Julia and only having read a few of your blog posts I still feel for your loss. Know that we are with you in thoughts if not physically.And I really appreciate that you took the time to read my blog recently. Thank you.

    • I’m so sorry about your loss Judith. I know they say time heals all wounds but I don’t think it always dims the memory, especially of one loved so much. Yes, we all react differently but I’m sure in all cases the blow is tremendous and hard to come to terms with.It’s only been a week for me and I still can’t quite accept it’s happened, maybe I’m in denial but I still turn to speak to her in shops or when I see something interesting in the news. Thanks so much for the empathy and understanding. The support from everyone has been amazing and I’d sure if Ju is reading over my shoulder she’s smiling and sending her thanks. Huge Hugs xxxxx

      • Contrary to commonly held belief time doesn’t heal but it does take away the raw hurt that we experience over those first few months. And don’t worry about talking to Ju, I still say “I must remember to tell Bob that when I get home” even after all these years.
        The funeral will be hard; it’s almost a letting go – up to that time I didn’t believe it. Just make sure to lean on your family and friends on that day. They are there for you.
        Hugs to you and your daughter.

  15. I’m glad to know that the rawness will go and that it’s still normal to talk to a loved one. So far, I’ve avoided attending funerals of those I care about and have mourned in private. This time I can’t avoid it and I know it will be tough, especially speaking but I’ll be sure to lean on family and friends who will be watching out for problems. Huge Hugs xxxx

Leave a Reply

