The Liebster Award

I settled to do my emails this morning and was amazed to find a new award nomination. The Liebster Award was nominated by the lovely and very talented Shawn L. Bird Author of Grace Awakening  and of the great website Shawn L. Bird http://shawnbird.com . Many thanks for the honour you do me Shawn. I find these awards very difficult to deal with sometimes so I may forgive you one day.

liebster-blog-award

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

As with all awards there are rules.

1. Accept the award, post the picture of the Liebster Award on the top of your post and say who nominated you for the award and list their blog site.

2. List 11 random facts about yourself.

3. Nominate 11 other bloggers for the Liebster Award and list their blog sites.

4. Notify the bloggers of their award.

5.Ask the award winners 11 questions to answer when they accept their Liebster Award.

6. Answer the questions left for you by the blogger who gave you the award.

Since I’m sure I’ve satisfied No 1 on the list, here are the required 11 facts about me.

I love bacon sandwiches. I’m only supposed to drink de-caff coffee. We’ve never had a pet I’m not allergic to. I love fancy rats and budgies. I’m quite reclusive. I’m an avid reader. I Love the Big Bang Theory on TV. I haven’t used a phone in years. My favourite meal is a Roast Beef Dinner (Just leave them at the door please). I’m a big Motown fan. I rarely sleep beyond four hours a night.

Other Bloggers I nominate for this award are…….

Andrea Flory of Meeka’s Mind on http://acflory.wordpress.com

Christie Meierz of http://christiemeierz.blogspot.co.uk

Carrie Rubin of http://carrierubin.com

Yvonne Hertzberger of http://yvonnehertzberger.com

Colin of http://colinon.wordpress.com

Clive Eaton of http://marketingtips4authors.blogspot.co.uk

Matt Molgaard of http://horrornovelreviews.com

Kevin Allen of http://alphauthor.wordpress.com/

Lori Pinkley of http://repressedexpressions.wordpress.com/

Virginia Llorca of Fine Whine  http://www.dittymac.blogspot.co.uk/

Owen Jones of  http://behind-the-smile.org/#axzz2Rk3hLfY4

The Questions I’d like these bloggers to answer are……

1. What teacher from your youth or childhood had a profound impact on you?  How?

2. Who is your greatest literary inspiration?

3. What is a favourite quote from another person, and what do you like about it?

4. What is a favourite quote from your own work, and what is the story behind it?

5. Tell us about one of your pets.

6. What is the greatest barrier in your life?

7. Where is your favourite travel destination?  Why?

8. What is the most interesting place near where you live? What makes it interesting?

9. What is your writing space like?

10. When you were eight, what did you want to be when you grew up?

11.  What is your goal for your writing?

I’m cheating here as you’ll see these are the same 11 questions I was asked. Here are my answers.

1. What teacher from your youth or childhood had a profound impact on you?  How?

I actually have two. ‘Chalky’ White who taught English and could be persuaded to tell Ghost stories on occasion. He gave me a love of storytelling. ‘Frankie’ who taught history and brought it alive for me giving me a lifelong love of the subject.

2. Who is your greatest literary inspiration?

It has to be J.R.R.Tolkien because he brought fantasy to life and wove a story full of honour in such a wonderful world.

3. What is a favourite quote from another person, and what do you like about it?

I’d have to choose Churchill’s response “Madam, I may be drunk but in the morning I’ll be sober while you’ll still be ugly” for the pure speed of response he gets my vote.

4. What is a favourite quote from your own work, and what is the story behind it?

Difficult. From My  Barsetshire Diary when someone says to me. ” You didn’t miss many branches of the Ugly Tree did you Pops” after my face and forehead had reacted to being close to a horse.

5. Tell us about one of your pets.

Oscar the cat used to devise many ways of getting me out of bed to feed him. He was so popular he got his own blog until he died. ( not at my hands).

6. What is the greatest barrier in your life?

That I can’t communicate face to face with strangers and that I’m quite insular and reclusive.

7. Where is your favourite travel destination?  Why?

One of the three cafes I’m taken to visit because the staff are like old friends and I can talk to them.

8. What is the most interesting place near where you live? What makes it interesting?

The ruins of Basingwerk Abbey in a Heritage Park because though the Abbey was brought down by Henry VIII, the fish ponds still exist and there are many interesting things to see on the site like a Victorian School and an old farmhouse.

9. What is your writing space like?

Tiny since it just consists of a computer desk in my bedroom.

10. When you were eight, what did you want to be when you grew up?

Older and taller.

11.  What is your goal for your writing?

To become filthy rich. Actually I’d settle for just selling a lot of books and have people say they enjoyed them. It would be good if Penguin Books decided to publish them.

Well, that’s it folks. I hope you’ve enjoyed the insight and that my nominations suffer as much as I have. See you soon. Hugs !

30 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

30 responses to “The Liebster Award

  1. Lovely! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Congratulations David! -hugs-

  3. Bacon sandwiches and Tolkien. I Like! 😀

  4. Thanks so much for the award nod! What a pleasant surprise. I think I already have this one, but the recognition is always appreciated. 🙂

    By the way, The Big Bang Theory is my family’s favorite TV show, too. It consistently delivers on the laughs, week after week.

    Thanks again!

  5. David, It is a good thing I didn’t find out how strange you are until this very important, imaginary, long-distance relationship I have with you had progressed this far. I shall do this Leibster thing, and I am greatly honored to even be mentioned in your blog, but I realize, as you do, that they are really just to push our names around the blogosphere, which is fine with me, the blog whore, but I m flu-ish, so I will have to do it later. Bigger hugs.

    I do not want to know what a bacon butty is, and much less so, Daddie’s Sauce.

    • Alas and alack I cannot deny the accusation. I’m strange. I’m guessing this very important, imaginary, long distance relationship we’re not having has ceased to progress and started to retreat.I shall be a broken man. I realise the awards push our names round a lot but because you now appear on my site someone just may look at your blog and take up the reins of long distance relationship in my stead while I waste away ( with my stomach don’t expect a quick job). On occasion some of the replies just catch someone and cause a giggle, I imagine that could well happen with you.
      Please get better soon.
      Huge Hugs, David

  6. Thank you for the nomination. It is very flattering. 🙂

  7. Congratulations on your nomination. Bacon is the downfall of many 🙂

  8. Thinking of others during this time of grief is just one of the reasons why I admire you so much. You are a treasure, and thank you for thinking of me. I have no idea how to get this on my site other then copy and paste? I am a award moron.

    • Copy and paste is the way Lorene. Join the club of award morons. It took me ages to figure out what to do. I copy the award to my desktop usualy and then paste from there onto my blog. I then copy and paste the rules and the questions.I hope you enjoy the award and find bloggers you like to nominate yourself.
      Huge Hugs xxxx

  9. You can’t communicate face to face? Oh, stop it. Take a Paxil.

  10. Pingback: Leaping Liebsters | RePrEsSeD ExPrEsSiOnS

  11. Pingback: A Liebster Award – such a nice surprise | J. Keller Ford ~ Young Adult Author

  12. Pingback: Awards Lately… | MKG- Memories-Keepsakes-Gifts

  13. Pingback: THANKS FOR THE NOMINATION! :) | Metamorphosis of Letters

  14. Pingback: Nomination: The Liebster Blog Award | Walking With A Warrior

Leave a Reply

