You Just Turn Your Back for A Moment

You just turn your back for a moment, take your eye off the ball and it happens again. There I was minding my own business when someone sneaked another award in. This time it’s a liebster but at least I was given the option of colour just to define my masculinity though that may be in question again when I answer one of the accompanying questions.

Firstly The Award itself..

20130619-125031

Then The Presenter.  The generous Vikki Thompson of The View Outside   http://the-view-outside.com/2013/06/26/an-avalanche-of-awards/   Thanks so much Vikki.   As with all things in life there are certain rules to be followed so I’ll start with the obvious first one and say Thanks Vikki for thinking of me for this award when there are so many fantastic bloggers out there.

Second, I’m to post 11 random facts about myself and to be honest I’m not sure there are that many left after having done so many with other awards so forgive me if I get a little creative here. I’ll let you sort fact from fiction.

1. I once played Longinus in a BBC Radio Manchester play. I had to give him a broad Welsh accent.

2. When I’m feeling lazy I have Titterton’s Pies fed intravenously.

3. My Pet Rats were all named after the females in The Big Bang Theory. Penny, Amy, Priya and Bernie ( my favourite- Rat that is)

4. Most of my socks have the Welsh Dragon on them. (Y Ddraig Goch)

5. Other than the writing and editing of my books I’ve never read them. ( I know most of you can say the same too).

6. I won Buckingham Palace off Prince Charles in a game of Backgammon.

7. I own One Square Foot of Land in a Scottish Forest.

8. My daughter is a changeling and the real one is off with the fairies somewhere.

9. I have a great Walking Stick collection despite only using crutches.

10. I have known my best friend for nigh on 40 years and he still says he wouldn’t trust me with his sister.

11. I have been conned by more sob stories than most people have hot dinners.

Next. Answer 11 Questions.

1. What’s your most embarrassing moment? Standing next to my sister when she asked for ‘Some of those Durex batteries’ in a large Boot’s store quite loudly.
2. When’s the last time you sent or received flowers?
I received flowers for fathers day. I buy fresh flowers each week for my wife.
3. Have you ever sought revenge?
Of course.
4. What’s your greatest personal strength?
Generosity of spirit ( cos’ I’m mean with my money)
5. What’s the stupidest thing you’ve ever done (has to be different from number 1 lol)?
Bought a new fridge when the old one was only turned off at the safety switch and not broken.( I didn’t know it had one)
6. Who’s the most famous person you’ve met?
Prince Charles ( He’s very nice by the way).
8. What do you collect?
Walking sticks and waistcoats ( vests for our American friends).
9. Favourite all time song?
Very hard, this morning it’s Kiss and say Goodbye by the Manhattans.
10. Favourite ice cream flavour?
Don’t faint but I don’t actually care for ice cream much. A few years ago Mars did a special dark chocolate Choc Ice called ( I think) Dark and Golden. It was wonderful.

11. If you could only eat one food for the rest of your life, what would it be? No question, Titterton’s Pies.

Lastly. Award the Liebster to 11 Bloggers ( or less) I find deserving and pass the questions on to them, and notify them. I think at this time in the morning I’d struggle to come up with 11 off hand so I’ll just go with what I’ve got.
1. The Wonderful ACFlory at Meeka’s Mind  http://acflory.wordpress.com/

2. http://morguemouse.wordpress.com/

3. Michael Beyer at http://catchafallingstarbook.wordpress.com/

4. A fantastic travelogue  http://eastofmalaga.net/

5. Billy Ray Chitwood  http://thefinalcurtain1.wordpress.com/

6.Caroline and Tina http://areadersreviewblog.com/

7. Jacqueline King   http://taoofscrumble.wordpress.com/  ex of Wightrabbit.

8.Jason K Lewis  http://jasonklewiswriter.wordpress.com/

That will have to do for now folks or my ironing won’t get done…

Late additions while the Iron heats up.

9. Patricia Carrigan AKA Spidey   http://patriciacarrigan.com/

10. Shawn Bird   http://shawnbird.com/

11. Judith Baxter  http://growingyoungereachday.wordpress.com/

28 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

28 responses to “You Just Turn Your Back for A Moment

  1. Haha, love it, you sneakily awarded ACFlory while she isn’t looking! Blogging awards seem to go in cycles, you are in a purple patch at the moment, and you are so good at passing them on, which is after all the point… Oh, and I will get to mine, I haven’t forgotten, it’s just you know, sometimes I have to pay my dues to real life so I can pay my rent as well 🙂

    • I thought I’m safe for a couple of days and then I’m leaving the country !
      Passing the awards on is great and others get to meet new bloggers hopefully and aren’t there some great ones to choose from now. I’m glad you’ll get to yours and punish the next batch with evil questions and embarrassment seeking missiles. I look forward to seeing it but not till you’re safe from eviction. xxx Hugs xxx

  2. “Have you ever sought revenge? Of course” was it on your embarrassing sister? 😉
    I don’t know what Tittertons taste like but a life filled with bacon and egg pies from the local bakery would be very satisfying for me. Shortened, but satisfying…. 😉

    • I refuse to answer on the grounds it might incriminate me.
      Hey, I never said my life on Titterton’s would be long, but MAN, how satisfying. Now bacon and egg pies sound pretty inviting too, can I tack those on for pudding?
      xxx Massive Hugs Metan xxx

  3. A much deserved honour M’Lud … CONGRATULATIONS 🙂

  4. David, that was the most entertaining blog award I’ve read. LOL. Nice work.

  5. Congratulations on another award. Well done for passing it along so quickly. I could do with following suit on that count.

    Good idea having pies fed intravenously. You should patent that idea immediately 🙂

    • No way am I unhooking this IV and leaving the sofa while there’s one pie left. Someone might visit and envy me. I wonder if I can patent it on a laptop?
      I had to get rid of the award straight away Pete since misery loves company and I’m a sadist at heart. I hope the cat is doing much better my friend.

      • He is thanks. We’re having more trouble giving him the tablets!

      • Yes, I know how difficult that can be Pete.I love the peashooter method that the vets use but I can confirm here and now 1) it doesn’t work from across the room 2) Your wife doesn’t appreciate it when you get her mouth instead. Mind you, her coat was nice for weeks. I hope you all get over this and the vet finds an alternative delivery method for you if the peashooter doesn’t work for you.
        All the best
        David

  6. Great answers. Did Prince Charles dare tell his mum he lost Buck House, lol, really enjoy your humour. 🙂

    • Not sure but I know I’ve got squatters in my house now. Many thanks for the nice comment. Your site scared me to death when I read the price of watching the World Cup games live. It sounds like there will be a lot of second ( and third) mortgages from Soccer fans this time.

  7. You iron???? As a liberated woman I gave up ironing years ago. Thank god gumboots and gardening clothes don’t need ironing. 😉

    Congratulations David, and I did so read your books – all of them! Where is no.4?

    • Me iron? Of course, how else will my socks and underpants get their crease? Us liberated men know where the iron is these days Andrea. Why, I’ve even found out how to open the washing machine now without flooding the kitchen, by not opening the door at all mainly. It’s far too late to start complaining that you read my books now, I told you ‘The Cheque Is In The Post’ it’s not my fault the snail is slow. As for No 4, I think I’ve given that idea up. The two chapters I’ve written will just have to be a reminder that I should have collaborated with a ghost writer while they were still daft enough to believe they’d get paid. xxx Huge Hugs xxx

  8. CJ

    Oh my! I am…speechless! Congratulations! And thank you for passing it on.
    Poor Charles, and his lousy luck at backgammon! Lol!

  9. Ha ha ha brilliant answers! 🙂

    You are very welcome!

    xx

  10. Another deserved one! And I loved the title of the post, just perfect! 🙂
    Hugs

  11. Great responses, David ~ it’s good to get to know you a little better. And thank you so much for nominating me, what a fabulous surprise! It’s just what I need to get me back into blogging more frequently and with more humour. I doubt my replies will be as ‘laugh out loud’ as yours, though! 🙂
    p.s. Ironing?? Haven’t done that for 20 years! 😉

    • Thanks so much Jacqueline. That’s a nice little ego soothing. If the award gets you back to blogging then I’m really pleased and if I encourage humour then I shall kick myself from here to next Tuesday for encouraging competition. I hope you have loads of fun because I’m sure that’s what it’s all about unless we are talking very serious subjects occasionally. Hints on how not to iron for 20 years would be welcome.
      Hugs galore. xxxx

Leave a Reply

