The Price of Victory and Niggles of the Week.

I know that quite a few of my friends followed the mighty battle earlier in the week as I contested hotly on Ebay to win the carved bamboo walking stick that left me with foot rot from drooling so much. I have to inform you that due to significant skill on my part plus various IOU’s I WON IT !
I’ll never be able to use it of course since it cost me an arm and a leg ( plus my soul I think) and I now topple over a lot. That however is not about to stop me displaying the same picture as before just to rub it in on anyone who may have bid against me.

Samurai 2Samurai

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I don’t have it yet as it’s still in transit guarded by an SAS regiment and a brace of rottweilers.The other stick I won earlier in the week is still in transit also and I have a budgie sending me messages about how it’s doing. It’s really nice but the carving is not in the same class. I’m going to have great joy checking for signatures to see if I can be more specific with the dates . I’m pretty sure they’re both about the 1880 mark but it’s nice to be sure. For anyone entering the walking-stick / cane collecting arena, I promise the Meiji period produced the most fantastic work.

I won’t bore you to death with my other purchases over this week because much of what I got was for gifts and some very nosey people curious family / friends read my blogs these days.

It’s been a week of frustration and niggles too.I find it curious that we are forever being exhorted to upgrade our computers and operating systems. Recently I’d been giving this some consideration since I run Windows Vista and have been experiencing some real problems.I decided to look a little more closely first.
The First problem started a few weeks ago but seemed to be getting worse. I was unable to get into wordpress accounts, getting a message that they weren’t available (including my own) or, if I could get in, I wasn’t able to leave comments. I could write them and save them but they didn’t appear.It turns out this is a well known problem between Google Chrome and WordPress. What didn’t help was that in going to the WordPress ‘help’ button for this with a question, I was redirected to the forum where I got no answers at all. Anyway a Google Search soon brought up the subject and information from fellow sufferers on how to overcome it. ‘Get rid of chrome and go to IE was one.’ I did that and my regret was almost instant because I remembered the crashes I used to get that sent me to Chrome . Go to Firefox was another suggestion I tried. The layout on that was terrible ( for me) and in the end I uninstalled and re-installed Google Chrome thinking the problem was less annoying than the cure. As it turns out, I may have done something right as things have improved a bit. Not perfect, but definitely better.

The Second problem is with Google Chrome and ‘Flash’ ( no, not the fast running man in the crimson outfit, that’s FLASH). More and more I’ve had the message that Flash has crashed which has frozen my screen in Ebay. When you’re in the last minute of a bidding war this you don’t need. Neither swearing nor cajoling seemed to be doing the trick. I turned to professional assistance, otherwise known as the ‘Scream for Help’ from my browser, only to be told yet again this is a well known problem between Google Chrome and Adobe Flash.I’m not very technically minded but I did manage to follow the directions I was given which would cure this. What is odd is that when I went to try it again it wouldn’t work at all as no Flash showed up at all. I retraced my steps and lo’ and behold all seems OK now.

The niggle is that wordpress must have been aware of the problem and didn’t try to help me. They could have sent a general message out warning Google Chrome users they may experience this problem and this is how you deal with it. 1, 2, 3 done. I could have gone out and bought a new computer in my ignorance which might also have run Google Chrome and I’d soon be in a mess again. Adobe Flash can’t be unaware of the disparity between themselves and Chrome either. They may feel it isn’t their fault but it would be good if they put out a general alert since so many systems use their product. As for Google, well they certainly must have known what was happening as theirs was the system that came last and caused the problems. If a patch wouldn’t work, again surely they could have sent out a general message saying some users might experience problems but here was the solution. It was a disappointment that it appeared none of the companies was prepared to confront the problem that would hit some of their users.

Anyway a week of some Joy. Since my beloved daughter is still crossing her knees and refusing to let my grandson appear I have no news on that front. His father’s birthday is next week and he’s hoping for an extra special present.  Sorry Ugo, I think you’ll have to put up with the ones in gift wrap.                                                                                 As an aside to this I have recently been tweeting a lot about the Miracles of Cord Blood. That is the blood from a baby’s umbilical cord that is fresh and pristine and doesn’t have memories of being any particular organ and can be used to help repair or create many things within the body. It  really is turning out to be a great miracle helping heart conditions, cancers and has even helped an AIDS victim. I have always said that too few of our hospitals save the cord or harvest the blood and asked that mothers to be check to see if their hospitals do so and if not, encourage them to do so for research purposes.

At the moment there’s one little boy who could do with all the help we can offer and I hope maybe you’ll take a look and see if there’s anything you can do. His name is Rayaan and here’s his link.  http://www.thecordbloodmiracle.com/2013/08/Rayaan-Siddiqi-hemophagocytic-lymphohistiocytosis-Stem-Cell-HLH.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+TheCordBloodMiracle+%28The+Cord+Blood+Miracle%29

Now, since I’ve just seen a spider the size of a carthorse scuttle across my floor, you’ll have to excuse me. Since there’s room for only one thing that size in this house I’m off to stand outside the font door and plead for help. Someone must have a chair, a trident and a lot of courage I could use.

Have a Great Week everyone.   Hugs to you all. ( Yes, even men )

34 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

34 responses to “The Price of Victory and Niggles of the Week.

  1. I now have an opportunity to confound your technical intricacies by suggesting a third browser alternative. I have found the problems with Chrome unbearable – yes I suffer much the same as you. I don’t like Firefox, and I abhor IE. So… there is a little-known browser called Opera from Norway that resembles Chrome quite a bit.

    http://www.opera.com/

    • I like Opera and Firefox. I am a bit anti-Google ever since I realized they were censoring my searches and, you cannot take the filter off. This might only be a USA thing however. So I tend use Bing on Firefox. Opera however is nice and fast.

    • I’ve been using Opera for years, and although it does have the odd quirk – such as insisting that all html adhere to the standards [which most don’t] – I still think it’s the best browser out there.

    • With so many of you promoting Opera Colin I should either suspect you of being shareholders or of the product being good. I’m not sure yet which wasy I’m leaning considering most of you write fiction. Perhaps it’s time to give it a go though unless either google chrome or wordpress can apply a patch that works fast.

  2. Great, newsy post David. Congratulations on your win and thanks for the update on the family. I checked out that link and I really wish there was something I could do for Rayaan. Such a sweet little boy. 😦
    -hugs-

  3. Congrats on winning the lovely stick! I know it was quite a battle.
    And be careful of that spider! Yikes!

    • It’s 5.26 am Teagan and I couldn’t find anyone brave enough t go in and tackle the beast. I’m tired and cold from standing on the doorstep all night. I’m just gpoing to have to hope it lifted a skirting board to get under and go back in. My nieces are picking me up at 10.30 am and I suppose they’d prefer it if I was dressed.
      You’re right it was quite a battle for the stick. But I donned my armour and set forth ( must have scared them to death) with my trusty steed ( no, not the spider) and threw down my price gauntlet. No-one was brave enough to pick it up at he end ( well, they ran out of time). It’s mine my preshusssss.
      Sending Huge Hugs xxxxxxxx

  4. My bank (the one I use, not own) states right up front that their stuff doesn’t work on Chrome. I had a huge problem commenting on WordPress blogs for a long while. I made a WordPress blog just to deal with it. I never thought it might be the browser conflict but there it is. I had Opera on a previous machine but didn’t use it much. Like Firefox, terrified of IE.

    Let us know if you find more history on the walking stick.

    • Arf, Arf, if my bank said nothing of theirs worked on chrome I’d really be stuffed. I’d have to move in next door to the bank ( since it’s cake shop I wouldn’t mind too much). I wonder if I could have Opera but just use it for wordpress, or perhaps that would be ridiculous. If I have it I may as well use it?
      I’ll pass on any news I find out about the stick but I think I’m going to lock it in a bank vault cos’ I don’t trust you avaricious lot at all.
      xxx Sending you Huge Hugs xxx

  5. Congrats on the stick win! Nothing like a bidding war to get the blood flowing AND the bankers engaged.

    • Thanks Candy, I think I like the idea of the blood being engaged and the bankers flowing more, preferably out to sea with them.
      The hard part is getting to sleep after getting hyped up in a bidding war late at night. I think I’ll just have to make sure I buy nothing after about 8 pm from now on.
      xxx Massive Hugs xxx

  6. Congratulation on your WIN, David! Can’t wait to see pictures when you receive it.

    I use Firefox and Vista. Ok, someone will probably slap me for that. But last week I couldn’t get into Word Press either. Other people saw my blog, so at least I knew it didn’t disappear. Still, I was freaked out. Yes, it’s the free version, but not for long. I contacted them via Twitter a few times with a few tweets, but heard nothing. To their credit, they have answered me in the past.

    Tell your grandbaby not to be shy. The world awaits.

    I hope you found that nasty spider.

    • Thanks Mary J. I have found wordpress helpful in the past and couldn’t understand why they sent this query to forum instead of answering it. Judging by what I found on searches the problem is well known so they should have had an answer. I think four people have told me today to change to Opera browser as they’ve had no problems with that and it’s fast. I can tolerate things being a little slow but I hate no being able to comment. My wordpress is the free one too but I’m sure that’s not the problem. Until now I hadn’t heard of firefox problems with it so maybe this is something new from the new wordpress version recently out. I hope they manage to get patches out before we all migrate to a new browser.
      xxx Huge Hugs xxx

      • Heck, I couldn’t even get my blog to load for most of the day, that day. I got it on my Kindle Fire, but not on my laptop. But, I can’t seem to edit my posts on my Fire, and I had one ready to go out. Oh well, it’s over now.

      • I’m hoping one or other of them will sort out the problem in a hurry or I for one will be moving to Opera.xxx Massive Hugs xxx

  7. Final try to post this comment… I think they are all going into your spam folder….
    I have been having terrible problems with WP for weeks now. I usually use Firefox, but have actually found connection slightly better with Chrome. I even tried IE in desperation, but that was dreadful. Apparently, WP have recently released a new version and I suspect that is causing problems… of maybe they are just sabotaging those of us in Wales!

    • My problems have been recent too and it seems it is a well known scrap between chrome and wordpress. If you run a search ‘WordPress problems with chrome’, there are a few fixes available though It’s been suggested to me more than once today that the best solution is to use Opera browser. I found IE awful for crashes and Firefox just awful so I may yet make the change if the problem gets bad again. My worst bit is not being able to comment as people must think I’m ignoring them. I had to start making the comment as a twitter member instead. I’d hate to think Wales was being marginalised again….
      xxx Sending Hugs xxx

      • Ooh… WP seems to be working ok today… I can actually see comments and respond to them! I’m just concerned that, as you say, I’ve missed some comments and people think I’m ignoring them. Ah well, lets hope a smoother service has been resumed. By-the-way, now I have got used to Firefox, I rather like it!
        xxx

      • My fingers are crossed since I’ve had no problems this morning either. Maybe the Gods are on our side today. I used to use Firefox and didn’t mind i but there seems to be a new display I couldn’t get to grips with. I like to have my favourites displayed overhead and couldn’t get that on this new version. That’s probably more my fault than theirs though.
        xxx Hugs xxx

  8. Congrats on the win! But I’m still waiting for the baby (and remembering how rough those final weeks are, I doubt your daughter is intentionally holding tight against delivering this baby!)

    • I’m not so sure, she hates anything to stop her shopping with ‘Daddy’. They’ve actually said they’re not worried until about 30th at the hospital though her due date is next Thursday. I don’t think she can waddle for that long though. xxx Huge Hugs xxx

  9. You never fail to make me laugh, David! 🙂

  10. Will you be in the market for another hallstand soon, or is the new one expansive enough to accommodate the new prizes?
    Obviously there’s an upside to my being too busy to spend much time online recreationally, if WordPress is experiencing glitches. Given I haven’t managed to post anyting recently, I, at least, do not think you are ignoring me 🙂 I admit to using plain old IE and Google, sometimes Bing as it’s default program loaded to my Ultrabook (which operates Windows 7 or 8 depending on which mode it’s in). In this area the only problems I ever experience (knock on wood) are WordPress glitches from time to time. Don’t get me started on other glitches, bloody Telstra…

    • Oh heck, I hadn’t got that far ahead in my thinking Ella. Things are starting to look a little tight there and it’s not like I have much more hall space anyway with the console table in the way.I’m sure my nephew Matthew would be delighted to help me out by lightening my load which might not be too bad as long as I don’t say something stupid like “Help yourself”. Aha, I just found a narrow space by the display cabinet ( which by the way can go now) and problem solved !
      It seems WordPress are centre to most of the glitches I’m hearing of at the moment, even if it’s not their fault, but of course much of my time is spent there either blogging or reading / commenting on blogs. Perhaps there’s something to be said for being too busy to get their often. I hope a period of relaxation is due so you can get down to your next blog though……..
      I promise no-one will mention Telstra.
      xxx Massive Hugs xxx

  11. I’m a Firefox woman for years. It has so many issues, but I still love it more than any other browser…

    Congratulations on your win! About the spider, I do exactly the same thing when it comes to roaches. If there’s one in the house, it’s their house, not mine anymore, until some knight comes to save me…! 😀
    Hugs

    • After all the advice Renata maybe we should all join Opera which seems to have speed and none of the niggles the other browsers have at the moment.
      Thank you. I’ve got my fingers crossed that maybe it will arrive today. I’ve got a bib ready in case I start drooling again. As for the spider, it disappeared. My chair feels somewhat higher when I sit down but my feet still reach the floor so I’m ready to run at the first sign of one of it’s legs reappearing.I have no idea what I’d do if I ever saw a roach here but it probably includes a suit of armour and a sword.
      Sending Huge Hugs xxxx

  12. Sometimes I make a comment on a blog, only to be told, sorry, it can’t be posted. I’ve found one solution is to put the comment through a different account. It’s easy for me because I’m on Twitter and FB as well as WordPress. That’s one idea, at least. 🙂

    • And a good idea too Margaret. I’ve actually started putting them through as Twitter when it misbehaves, though the problem seems to be over again now ( touch wood). Nice picture of your dog this morning. The weather looks wonderful considering how windy you say it is. The usual intermittent rain here. xxx Huge Hugs xxx

  13. They are great pictures of the walking stick. Looks like it is a cover for a samurai sword!

Leave a Reply

