Welcome

Finally, the news we’ve all been waiting for. My grandson got tired of playing with his wii and came out to say hello. Well, perhaps not as eagerly as I intimate since the little horror caused him Mum to be cut so the doctors could send search parties in to find him and drag him out kicking and screaming. But finally he’s joined us before we need to start preparing for his first birthday.

Reuben

Reuben David Chukwudi Eboh was born at 14.47 pm on 21st August 2013 and weighed in at 9lb 13oz though his Mum maintains it was nearer 9 stone 13lb. Reuben your Mum and Dad are so proud of you as will the rest of the family be as they all meet you in turn. It’s a shame you had to be born in England but I’ll forgive you that as you do have Welsh blood in there.One day maybe you’ll play rugby for Wales, Oggie, Oggie, Oggie.oy, oy, oy.

Here’s to a long and happy life young man. Your ‘Pops’ is delighted to meet you at last, and by the way, when you get your first job, you owe me a chip supper which you diddled me out of last night when your Mum and Dad should have been visiting me. It seems everyone’s priorities are out of kilter.

Lot of Love

Your Pops

66 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

66 responses to “Welcome

  1. A HUGE congratulations to you and your family, POPS. How wonderful. Welcome, Reuben. The world has been waiting for you!

  2. Pauline

    Again congratulations Pops ! What a handsome fella Reuben is, absolutely beautiful xx Wish Yvonne a speedy recovery so that she can enjoy this new delightful addition – her gorgeous son xxxxx

    • Hi Pauline. I’ll pass the message on in the morning. I know she’s hoping for a little rest tonight. Now we can make plans to turn him into a Welshman before his Dad notices. xxx Huge Hugs stranger. xxxx

  3. Oh, finally the wonderful news we’ve been all waiting for!! Congratulations David, and to the proud new parents, of course. I’m not just saying it, Maria and I are just in love with Reuben, he’s so gorgeous!

    He’s a perfect mix of his parents features and looks absolutely beautiful and adorable.

    Hugs for all of you, and please hug Reuben for me and Maria! πŸ™‚

    • I’ll hug him for you both in the morning right after I’ve hugged him for myself Renata. I’m so glad he arrived safe and well and it’s his Pop’s job to look after him now.
      You’re right, he does share both parents features, he’s got his Dad’s big feet !
      Sending you both Great Big Hugs xxxx

  4. Congratulations – what a cutie! And welcome, Ruben!

  5. Fabulous news ~ congratulations Pops! Handsome little dude, Reuben, great name choice, too πŸ™‚

  6. He looks like you got a nice one, David. You will love being his grampa.

  7. Cute post, welcome to Reuben, congrats to all!

  8. Mike

    At last he’s arrived …welcome to the family Reuben…can’t wait to see you at the weekend…Huge hugs to you your mum and dad ..and of course my Brother POPS …XXXXX

  9. Welcome to the world, young Reuben!

  10. What a hunk! I just bet Yvonne is really glad the doctor grabbed him as that heft would hurt. Welcome, Reuben. I’ll tell Ella Cosette all about you. She’s a tad younger than you, but not by much.

    • I’m going n a little later to see how Yvonne is today after the stitches have settled. I’ll be sure to tell Reuben about Ella Cosette who was born a mere half an hour later than him and shares his birthday. I hope the world becomes a nicer place for them both as they grow.
      xxx Hugs Galore xxx

  11. Reuben is obviously worth all the trouble of waiting for him… with such movie star handsome looks, such class, such sstyle, of course he had to make an entrance! Congratulations to you all!

  12. My eyes watered when I read the weight of your beefy but gorgeous new grandson. Good heavens! A very hearty congrats to mum and dad and to you of course, dear David. Joyous and wonderful news. Lottie xxxxx

  13. CJ

    So sweet! Congratulations!

  14. 9lb 13? Are you sure Yvonne gave birth, or did she just explode?
    Yay for Ugo and Yvonne, and yay for you too Pop. I’m sure there will be many Reuben and Pops chip suppers in the future to make up for the lost one. πŸ˜€

    • There better had be Metan !! Thanks so much. I wasn’t surprised there was a C section when I heard his weight. I think he’s been eating my chip suppers in there.xxx Hugs to you xxx

  15. Wow, almost a 10 pounder πŸ™‚ One of my great grandfathers was Reuben, so of course I think it’s great name choice. He did well getting David also πŸ˜‰ Wishing you all many happy chip dinners, and more πŸ™‚

    • I still have raw patches on my knees from begging for a good Welsh name but I’m proud he’s a David. Reuben of course means ‘Behold, a son’ so is fairly appropriate.There would have been a hasty conference had a little girl emerged instead.
      At that size he doesn’t need any chip dinners so maybe we’d better start going for the healthy options.
      xxx Sending Hugs Galore xxx

  16. Pops, then? Not taid? If you can knit, you can make him a blankie!
    Welcome young Rueben.
    x

    • Pops is kind of a family thing but Taid would have been a good choice had my son in law accepted the Welsh heritage early enough. As it is, he’s been calling me Pops for 8 of the nine months. I can’t knit or crochet I’m afraid. When I was young I did learn knitting but only to the extent of making mile long, very thin scarves because I never figured out how to cast off. Diolch yn fawr for Reuben’s welcome, the first time I get them over the border I’ll make sure he has it in Welsh.
      xxx Huge Hugs xxx

  17. Well… “bless his little cotton socks”… WELCOME REUBEN!!! and huge congrats to Pops and Mum and Dad. What a joy and what a beautiful baby boy. xxx xxx xxx πŸ˜€

    • Thank you so much. A joy yes, and everyone is so proud as we all are of our children and grandchildren. He’s loving the welcome he’s getting across the world.
      xxx Hugs Galore. xxx

  18. Welcome, baby Reuben!!
    Congratulations to everyone!!
    xxxxx HUGS xxxxxx

  19. Welcome to the world baby Reuben, if you are anything like your Pops, you will make a big splash in the lives of many who surround you with love and care. Oh, and please get him that chippy otherwise we will never hear the end of it πŸ™‚

    • Oh, I’m cut to the quick. How could you cast such asparaus on my character.He’s going to be much more like his Dad and be first in the queue so he can eat a meal while they get the other and his second one ready.Anyway, of course you’ll hear the end of it, any second now as I’m fading fast from starvation.
      xxx Massive Hugs ( regardless of how you hurt my feelings) xxx

  20. Hi David! I tried to leave a comment the other day, but my laptop has been possessed lately. Hopefully this one goes through! Reuben is so handsome. Congratulations and best wishes to the new family. You are going to enjoy every moment with that BIG bundle of joy. (((hugs)))

    • Hi Jolyse,
      my PC has that problem with some wordpress sites too. I’d throw it through the window if I had the strength to pick it up.It’s obvious with the number of ladies who say he’s a handsome devil that he has luck on his side and didn’t inherit any of my looks.I’m gonna make sure he can’t tell stories like I can though to even things up a bit. I might enjoy seeing him at Christmas and birthdays, I don’t want to bowl him over with too much charm.
      xxx Great Big Hugs xxx

  21. Born in England or Wales, it doesn’t matter…Reuben David Chukwudi Eboh is beautiful and wonderful, and as my dad would have said: “He’s a keeper!”
    Congratulations, Grandpa David, and many blessings on you all!

    • Thanks so much Marylin. I’ve decided to keep him, mainly because he was too big to throw back with the tiddlers. He’s a chunky chappy and I’m fairly sure he’ll be playing rugby in a few weeks.
      It’s a lovely feeling having a new addition to the family.
      xxx Sending Hugs xxx

  22. Sorry David, I have been out of WP for a bit, but I am trying to catch up–YEAH for Reuben! Great name of distinction! You Anglos have the keenest names on the planet. I was 10 lb 31/2 oz, so he is in good company. Her next will certainly be over 10, as they only get bigger if they pop out when they should. He is a treasure and I am sure Lady J is cheering as well.

    • Nice to see you again Lori. Phew, you certainly were a big baby weren’t you. Feeling the way she does after a C Section Yvonne swears Reuben will be the last one. I certainly won’t try to put her off by mentioning they get bigger though I’m certain she’d love little girl too.
      Yvonne reckons Julia was there holding hands for the epidural and the birth.
      xxx Massive Hugd xxx

  23. Lot of love and warm hugs little one. Lovely

    • Thanks so much Harbans, I hope he’ll grow to appreciate them. Hugs make the world go round a lot nicer. I hope he’ll also appreciate the kindness of everyone here who’s commented except maybe me because I do tend to be less serious that I should. Hugs

      • Love begets love. It grows while we divide it. And our children like it the language of love transmitted through our warm hugs. These hugs have far reaching on the growth of the children for through this they learn the positive qualities of compassion, pity and piety- needed in all beings.

        God Bless

      • A couple of years ago I tried to start a ‘Hugs around the World’ to bring a little peace, love and understanding to everyone. After all, it’s hard to hug while carrying a weapon.I had reps in a few surprising places who started recruiting people for the day and spreading the word.What was surprising was the resistance I encountered in places I’d least expect it. Churches, Universities……. I agree with you that love can beget love and children feel it , accept it and usually return it but with adults it’s not always the case and faith still seems to divide us which is a shame as we’re all brothers under the skin.

      • Whenever you start some noble organisation, you are sure to encounter some resistance. Fearing resistance and leaving your noble Godly task is not the answer to spread the message of message.

        Let the love prevail.

        God bless

      • I’m lucky in that I didn’t fear the resistance to the idea I was just very surprised at the quarter such resistance came from.Where I expected the most support towards something that promoted fellowship towards others was where I got the least. No doubt I’ll try again at some stage when people are more receptive towards peace and tolerance.Myabe it would bnefit from someone with more charisma and appeal.

        Hugs

      • When you are on a noble mission, you are likely to face some opposition, we are ordinary human beings, even men of vision too faced opposition but they kept their mission in tact relentlessly.

      • Alas, I can’t claim to be a man of vision, just someone who thinks w waste the opportunity to help each other be better people by constantly fighting. Love is a much nicer approach to life. xx

      • Those who claim to be the men of vision, I am sure, pretend to be so. Love makes difference and your mission makes sense. God will really help you in getting it fructified.

  24. Congratulations Grandad! πŸ˜‰

    xx

  25. Belated congratulations on Reuben’s arrival. Sorry he had to be born on our side of the border πŸ˜‰ I hope all is well.

    • Thanks Pete. He’s got a very snotty cold at the moment which I put down to the chills of an English autumn, but not to worry I bought him a babygro at the weekend with Babi Cymraeg on with a Big Red Dragon. That should do the trick. Maybe a bit less gruel and dripping might help and a few more curlie wurlies if you haven’t cornered the market.
      Hope things are going well for you.

Leave a Reply

