Blink and you’ve missed it. Another week gone,

Sunday last week was quiet. Brotherfriend tells me he’s not sleeping well at the moment which roughly translates as ‘ Wake me in the morning and you’re dead meat’ so needless to say I let him lie in. By the time he eventually got up it was almost time for me to go back to bed again but I’m not one to complain- much. We paid a visit to a shop to have a look at some shelving units. I had a unit in mind from a pick-up catalogue company but it turned out the shop we visited had the same one for £10.00 less which was great for my budget as they also had a second set of shelves for £10 where all other boxes were £20.00. That meant I have a nice new stand to hold towels in the bathroom and one for the airing cupboard to take some bedding. Pleased with myself I bought three towel bales in different colours- OK, maybe I did forget to co-ordinate the colours with the bathroom but a fella can’t be expected to think of everything. Anyway I’m blaming Brotherfriend because he chose two of the three- whaddaya mean which two? The worst two of course!  After a coffee so he could spend ten minutes in banter with the staff, and I could spend twenty minutes begging them not to ban me for taking him there, we headed off to lunch. The Blossoms is a pub with a nice little restaurant inside,  separate from the rowdies watching the Grand Prix, oops sorry, that was Brotherfriend Mike. We had a  nice lunch and head home to start erecting shelving which took most of the afternoon before he had to leave and drive 120 miles home. It’s only 60 miles away but he’s a lousy map-reader.

Monday. Yvonne, Ugo and Reuben were coming in the evening so I aired the rooms because of my smoking, Febreezed the place within an inch of it’s life and hoovered.  I’d  set the washing machine going and was just finishing folding  some bedding for the ironing basket when they arrived early at about 4.30 . Naturally it seemed as though I’d not been busy by then so I had to make drinks. They brought me a pizza for my tea which I struggled to finish. I help Reuben and as usual he fell straight to sleep in my arms. NOTE TO SELF– buy some deodorant . We had a discussion about Doctor’s appointments. Yvonne said I should go, I said I wasn’t keen so she rang up and said I was going. It looks like I’m going.

Tuesday. My nephew arrived to re-start the decoration. I removed everything from the bathroom again and took the curtains down to be washed. The state of them convinced me I needed a new pair. While he got on with the easy job of painting the ceiling, I got on with the hard job of finding and ordering a new pair from Ebay and answering my mail. The bathroom ceiling done he painted one wall the same turquoise as the hall and then started to finish painting some of the hallway ceiling and some doors. Late afternoon David left and I ironed the now dry curtains and rehung them. The bathroom is really looking quite nice now. Back in with the new shelving and the towels which are of course for show only. I expect people to shake themselves vigorously to get dry.

Wednesday. Another day of painting doors and skirting boards. I even watched him doing it sometimes. It’s tiring work but someone has to do it. At the end of the day he’s done a great job and nearly worked as hard as me. I had to give him a tip so I told him not to back the favourite in the Grand National and gave him a postdated cheque for next century. He’s fairly determined that he wants to do my bedroom next but I loathe to start that as there’s nowhere to put anything while it’s done. Instead I’m putting a lot of thought into the fourth wall of the lounge. I think, maybe,  perhaps, possibly, I DO want to have that wall re-papered.

Thursday. Visitors today and tonight. I need to change the bed but in the end decide to keep it and just apply fresh bedding. The room needs a good hoovering and some stuff moving off the floor. A bit of judicious shuffling enables me to remove a laundry basket and re-position it in the airing cupboard and voila you can now get round the end of the bed. I strip the bed and place the bedding in the washing machine. Heavens, it’s seeing some action. That’s twice now since March. MuJo arrive and after exchanging news we head off for lunch. It’s Holywell market on a Thursday and though not large is nonetheless quite good. After eating we had a look round the stalls and I bought some new bedding and a small runner in blue. After stops for shops and refreshment ( I hadn’t been banned) we went home where Mu helped me put the new bedding on and they left. NOTE TO SELF. Stop forgetting deodorant! It was now 5.00pm and I needed to hoover and lay the new runner. Can anyone please explain to me why I bought a blue runner since the walls are cream, bar the papered one which is gold and coffee brown, the main carpet is brown and the furniture was brown. Do you suddenly become tasteless at age 60+ or have I always been this bad? I had a little tea and settled down with my mail. I had 213 and a very sour expression. My phone beeped and a message told me Brotherfriend Mike and his companion Rose were setting off at 8.00pm intending to arrive at mine about 10.30 pm. What’s the point of rushing when the shops are shut? They arrived at 10.33  having thoughtlessly kept me waiting all that much time longer.

Friday the 13th.  Well it sounds like a horror movie and it almost was. Brotherfriend Mike, Rose and myself went into Chester having arranged to meet Yvonne at about 10.45 am for a drink. We parked by the river since cars with disabled stickers park free . Don’t worry, he won’t run into you as it’s not a physical problem he has but a definite mental one- he keeps associating with me. Unfortunately my rude remarks about him saving fuel by using that dispensed with by the cars he tailgates, meant he’d parked far enough away from the meeting point so he could make me walk. He’s evil. It meant we didn’t arrive till 11.00am and one angina attack later. But still we beat Yvonne who didn’t manage it until 11.20am. We had a nice cuppa while I fed Reuben who promptly fell asleep in my arms. We had a little mooch round the shops before going to lunch. It wasn’t where we intended so Yvonne had to call Ugo who was joining us before he realised we were trying to avoid him. As he arrived I asked what lunch he wanted and he refused my offer saying he’d get it himself after a trip to the loo. He returned from the loo and went to order a meal only to find he’d lost his wallet. Up everyone got to help him look for it without success. If he’d accepted my offer this wouldn’t have happened but I don’t think I can actually claim credit for the mishap. No-one could find it.A real Friday 13th it was proving to be. Mike, Rose and I bade them goodbye and headed off to some more shops. Yvonne , Ugo and Reuben headed for home only to find someone had found and posted his wallet through the front door.

Saturday.  Today just for a change we went shopping. We decided to take Rose for a run in the country and then end up in Rhyl. It’s a bit of a disaster town these days as some of the better stores have upped sticks and gone elsewhere. There were still enough to keep us happy though as we looked at various gift shops and Mike found to fire breathing ( via joss sticks) dragons he’d been looking for, for ages. We looked at and got samples of some wallpaper for the lounge though I’m waiting to see how my other option goes first and I also found a set of bedding. I had bought a set of bedding for Ju not long before she passed away. Yvonne recently asked iif she could have it and I readily agreed except I couldn’t find it anywhere. I’d got in in an ASDA sale and only paid £8.00 for it. The bedding today was a mortgage away from that but almost the same pattern and colour. It’s driving me batty wondering where the original one has got to. What’s funny was that I picked one up today and announced “This is like it” and a cushion promptly jumped off the shelf above. “Perhaps not” said Mike, “Ju doesn’t agree.” I put it back and found this other set instead which I bought since this time the cushions stayed still.

One thing that’s been consistent throughout this week is the shops themselves. I’ve seen Christmas cards , Christmas gifts and even tinned Christmas sweets and biscuits. Do they always start doing this to the shelves in June? What ! It’s September! Who the heck has stolen the intervening months? I swear Christmases are getting closer, it’s only five minutes since the last one. If anyone can account for the whereabouts of the missing months, hey’ll earn my undying gratitude and possibly a reward. OK, forget the reward, I know you’d only be offended if I insisted and I don’t want to offend you.

$T2eC16ZHJGkFFm9)Lmo-BSMg896RCQ~~60_12This is my idea for the lounge wall. I know this is a dining room but just use a bit of imagination please. David, please don’t read this or look at the picture since I don’t want to scare you off.

Have a nice week all. Hugs Galore.

33 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

33 responses to “Blink and you’ve missed it. Another week gone,

  1. Whew. Your week nearly wore me out with all that shopping! Good luck with your redecorating project 🙂

    • Just as well I like shopping isn’t it or my legs would be inches shorter now. Thanmks for the good wishes Madison, I hope to be a style icon now for others to visit and Ooh and Ahh over.
      xxx Hugs Galore xxx

  2. The blue runner should be good! Brown/orange and blue are opposites on the colour wheel, which creates a sophisticated palette! Chocolate brown and pale blue are very classy, as are tan and navy (i.e. one colour in the lighter hue, the other in the darker).

    You have had a busy week! Transforming things! 🙂

    • I’m going to pretend I’m keeping a weather eye on the colour wheel and that I just ooze good taste but in reality what keeps me in check are the screams from people I know saying “What colour? You can’t do that with blue!” I’m hoping for a little transformation break after Monday until the paper arrives. Supervision is very tiring. xxx Huge Hugs xxx

  3. I agree, the blue should be good with the brown… but more importantly, could I borrow your nephew when you are done??? X

  4. You should do a sponsored blog like the mommy bloggers. I find myself reading this so avidly. I love the poppies. And what is an airing cupboard? Besides a cupboard for airing. And, my God, David. Who irons anymore? Love that Julia is keeping you in line. How you must miss her.

    • I agree, Virginia. I love those huge decorative panels.

    • I ‘d like the idea of a sponsored blog if I knew what one was. Can I get a coffee company to sponsor me for a years supply? Thank you for reading the blog, I have to hope it brings a smile. I’m glad you like the poppies a that makes the score One for, one against now and I get the deciding vote. An airing cupboard ( over here)is usually built around the central heating boiler so that bedding etc can be kept fresh. I have to iron certain things Virginia or going out people may think it’s me that’s wrinkled and not the clothes. I’m trying to belie my age not advertise it.
      Yes, Ju keeps me in line still and yes I do miss her so much.Still, as long as no psychiatrists catch me at it I can still talk to her.
      xxx Sending you Huge Hugs xxx

  5. Phew… I now need a coffee from reading about all your gallivanting about! I like the idea of the blue as well but the poppy wall made my head spin.Or was that just an example of a feature wall?

    Btw I think Yvonne and Ugo should hire you as Reuben’s nanny – you obviously have the knack of putting the little chap asleep. 😉

    • You needed a coffee? What happened to mine since I was the one who suffered it all. No wonder your head was spinning, you’re not supposed to breathe in when you look at it. Just think of all that pollen. It was the actual paper I’m bidding on so I think my aptitude for good taste has just gone down in your estimation.If I don’t win it maybe I’d better find a different pattern?
      I’m worried that it’s not a knack for putting Reuben to sleep as much as a B.O. problem knocking him out. I must get that deodorant today. xxx Massive Hugs xxx

  6. David. Here are the rules. #1, If the Christmas tree is not down by Easter, hang Easter eggs from it and it will look like a proper Easter decoration. No one will notice. #2 There are only 5 days to Christmas starting with Memorial Day, July 4th, Labor Day, Halloween, & Thanksgiving. The next day is Christmas. Now that’s in the States, so substitute your bankers’ holidays to figure it out for G.B. You may have fewer days! Sorry.
    P.S. Glad you’re open to Ju’s messages. I knew you were one of us.

    • I tried that last year Linda. At Easter I was ready to take the tree down when someone told me there was only a week till Christmas again. I blamed the young for this knowing that they complain their years drag but a little spark just went off in my head ( there’s plenty of space my brother says) which suggests maybe it’s a conspiracy by retailers to get more sales during the recession.I hope I don’t become a target by hitmen now for revealing this plot. xxx Hugs Galore xxx

  7. Wish I could help you find the missing months, but I have been looking for them myself. I missed summer, which means winter is going to be long. Hey, don’t forget the deodorant. 😉

    • I’ve checked everywhere Mary J , even under the bed and I don’t do that too often in case a monster pops out. No luck at all. I’ve come to the conclusion they’re being stolen by the young who seem to find their years are quite long. At this rate I might as well carry on Christmas shopping for all the months left to me.Mind you, it already feels like I do.
      I’ll try and remember the deodorant this morning in case Reuben is knocked out when he’s close rather than just comfortable.
      xxx Huge Hugs xxx

  8. I’m trying to remember the name of that TV show, the one where they come in and re-decorate your house in just a matter of hours…grrrr, it’s driving me nuts! Anyway, your post today sounds like you are coming on with the decorating in leaps and bounds! I can’t wait to get started on the Spanish house 😀 Hugs galore, Lottie XXX

    • I wonder if you’re thinking of 60 Minute Makeover? ( just as well I have a friend here this morning to ask). If they’d come in and organise me properly that wouldn’t be too bad but then I’d lose my supervisory role. The very best of luck with the Spanish house. I know you’ll have it looking wonderful in a very short space of time.
      xxx Massive Hugs xxx

  9. I wonder if the missing months are in the same place as the missing bedding set? There is a theory that all the lost socks of the world are in the one elusive place. Maybe there’s another for lost bedding and days.
    I also think the blue runner contrasting with the neutrals sounds very stylish. You may be a natural talent who doesn’t realize your own eye.
    Reuben’s first Christmas will be here before you know it, so you’d better get shopping… no rest for the wicked 😉

    • You might just have hit on the answer Ella. Another dimension in space and time occupied by missing items . I was inclined down the path that maybe the Borrowers had moved in had it not been for the missing months.But if they disappear at any greater rate than now people will be saying ” Wasn’t Christmas great, did you see that old Scrooge he didn’t buy his new grandson ( or anyone else) any gifts” because it waill have shot past before I know it. Hmmm. wait a minute, that way I save a fortune….
      If the contrast between the blue and neutral seems to have worked it will have been by pure chance I promise you.
      xxx Sending Huge Hugs xxx

  10. You’ve had quite a busy week!
    Yes, the lost socks of the world have gone through the same worm-hole as the months between Christmases! Maybe all the socks are coming back as Christmas decorations, hence the shop shelves constantly being full of them…
    Did I say that? I must need more coffee.
    Congrats on improving your place and finding things to help organize. I can relate.
    Have a great week,
    teagan

    • Hi Teagan, Yes, socks, bedding, months through a mysterious wormhole somewhere. Sounds feasible but do you mind if it doesn’t spit them back out cos’ some of those socks could be doing with an emergency wash before we need emergency recussitation.
      Get more coffee quick !
      Thank you for the congratulations. I have a knack for bargains quite often, the family text me when they want to find out where something is cheapest.
      Hope you have a great week too. Sending Huge Hugs xxxx

  11. Amazing how much goes into choosing decor!

    • You can tell by looking at my brow how much thought has been expended Niamh. Why, I almost broke out in a sweat once. I’m sure all this supervision will have been worth it in the end though.
      xxx Huge Hugs xxx

Leave a Reply

