Welcome to an Interview with Bee L. Kirk

Welcome to an Interview with Bee L. Kirk
picbypond     
 
Author of “City of the Guardians: Introducing Alex Honor”
cotgcover
 
A BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF “City of the Guardians”:
My book is titled City of the Guardians: Introducing Alex Honor and I always start out explaining the book with a personal experience.
I was driving down the freeway one day and something kinda whispered, “change lanes.”  It wasn’t an audible voice or a vision, just a little…whisper. I changed lanes. Five seconds later a car swerved into the very lane I would have been in, had I not changed lanes.
 
That’s just one example but this happens to all of us, everyday. That little whisper that says, “Watch this person or Don’t go there today.” Well in City of the Guardians, I took those whispers and gave them names and attitudes and opinions. I call them Guardians and one of the Guardians name is Stilo, he represents Strength. He’s the voice that we hear whispering not to give up and keep going. Rip is another Guardian but he represents Rage, he can be heard whispering, “Commit Suicide or Kill them.” There are a total of 10 Guardians that range from Love(Leere) to Jealousy(Jilt), Mercy(Mica) and Vengeance(Vile).
 
The message behind City of the Guardians isn’t new, I’ve just put a different spin on the common advice of listening to your gut instinct.
My personal message states that no matter what your past mistakes were, current circumstance is or future doubts are, pursue your passion with a passion.

SHARE YOUR BIO:

I’m a thirty-five year old, mother of two. I have loved writing for as long as I can remember but denied that it was my passion for years. I was born and raised in Camden, Arkansas and moved to Texas in 1996. I worked for the Dallas County Sheriff’s Department for four years as a Detention Service Officer, or Jailer. While there I came to appreciate the fragility of the unknown. I am also the host of a radio talk show called “The Honey Hour” on DFWiradio.com, Thursdays at 11:00 a.m. I am a contributing writer for Best Southwest Moms Blog and have my personal blog atwww.beelkirk.blogspot.com and www.beeklkirk.wordpress.com

WHAT MADE YOU DECIDE YOU ‘HAD TO’ WRITE THIS BOOK?
I began writing this book over 4 years ago but stopped after only 3 pages. The notebook I was writing the story in was loaned to my brother and I forgot about it. Not entirely but it wasn’t something at the top of my priority list. Then one day my brother called me (3 years later) and asked me when I was going to finish the book. When I asked him, “What book?”, he began to read the words I’d written years earlier. I thought he’d lost the notebook because during those 3 years he moved around a lot. But always had it with him, he never lost it. The notebook and story survived for a reason and I couldn’t deny it the right to be told.
 
WHERE DID THE TITLE COME FROM?
One of the main characters name is Stilo(Strength) and he’s a Guardian (Angel). I didn’t want to use the words “Guardian Angels”, in the title because it felt overdone. Some titles that I experimented with were, The Unseens, The Hidden, and The Whispers but they didn’t do the story justice. I wanted the title to represent a place, since the story took place in the city of Los Angeles, I simply combined the two ideas. City…Guardians…The City of the Guardians. Alex Honor is the first character whose soul is being fought for, so I introduce him, first. The next book is titled City of the Guardians: Introducing Stilo.
 
DO YOU ALWAYS WRITE IN THIS GENRE?
No, I’m actually working a self help book right now called, “Real Life Consequences of Bad Decisions: Stupidity is a Choice. I’m gathering real life stories from ‘the average joe’ and telling their stories. Some of my bad decisions are in the book also (smile).
IF I SAID ” EXCLUDING FAMILY AND FRIENDS, WHAT’S THE MOST IMPORTANT THING IN YOUR LIFE”? What would it be and why?
I would have to say my faith. My relationship with Jesus is very important to me. I’ve been through some pretty tough things and I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that, if it had not been for my faith and belief in Jesus Christ, I would not be here today.
WHAT WAS YOUR INSPIRATION TO WRITE AND WHEN DID YOU START?
My inspiration in the beginning was just something to do but then it turned into a message, my mantra. I originally started writing City of the Guardians about 3 years ago, I finished Mothers Day of this year. The more I wrote, the more inspired I became. I wanted to show my children that if you pursue your passion, you can do the impossible. I want to leave something behind, once I’m no longer here. I desire to inspire the out of the box idea that only comes from hard work and determination.
ARE YOU SELF PUBLISHED OR TRADITIONAL AND WAS IT A CONSCIOUS CHOICE? Traditional in the sense of I went through a company called Xulon Press and yes it was a conscious choice. I searched and queried until my hands cramped but didn’t get the feedback I felt this story deserved. I wasn’t willing to wait 2 or 3 years for the publishing elite to figure out that I had ‘something’. So, I decided to take matters into my own hands and introduce the world to City of the Guardians.
SHARE WITH ME A SECRET ABOUT YOURSELF, I WON’T TELL ANYONE.
Okay, since you promise. I ran away with my brother when I was 6 years old. I only made it to the end of the street and I don’t remember why I wanted to run away. I’ve always been a strong willed person so I’m sure it had something to do with me not getting my way, maybe. I planned for the great escape by putting back underwear and food. I hid it in a box under the bunk beds my brother and I slept in. On the designated morning of freedom, I woke my brother, retrieved the hidden box of essential survival items, and left. I remember the golden sand that embedded our driveway, crawling through my toes. Once reaching the end of Apple Street, I decided to return to the comforts of our room. I wish I could remember why I wanted  to leave. That’s a secret I would like to know myself.
ARE YOU A WELL ORGANIZED PLANNER OR A PANSTER?
I wish I was well organized. I have an idea of what needs to be accomplished for the day. But that always gets sidetracked by the inevitable call of motherhood. I always write at night, when the kids are asleep. During the day, I try to handle business related tasks.
DO YOU HAVE A WEBSITE TO SHARE?   Yes, www.beelkirk.com
ANY LINKS TO THE BOOK?
Amazon:
 
Barnes & Noble
Goodreads Giveaway:
 
Twitter:
 
Authors Database:
PLEASE FEEL FREE TO SHARE AN EXCERPT.
This excerpt contains the characters Vile and Joe. Vile represents Vengeance. She’s tempting Joe, as he tries to process the death of his son.
 
”Once she crossed the threshold, she immediately
felt what she was looking for. Then she followed it
down the hallway, into a room. It was dark in the
room, and Joe was on his knees leaning against the
bed. There was a photo album on the bed with pictures of him and Jeff.
Vile went to his side and knelt down. She bowed
her head as if she were praying and began to whisper.
“You will never get over this. It is the worst thing
that could have ever happened to you. The children
are supposed to bury the parents, not the other way
around. Someone needs to pay for this. Why was
your son the only one taken? Why are you the only
one hurting?”
Joe’s tears became longer. He held his head and
shook it. Vile knew she was getting to him.
“You will never see him again. He is gone forever and the others are still alive. The old woman
driving should never have been driving. If it wasn’t
for her, Jeff would still be alive,” she whispered ever
so softly.
Thank you David for the opportunity and patience.
Be Blessed,
Bee
 
 
 
Twitter: @beelkirk
 
 
 
Many thanks Bee for taking the time to share with us. It was nice to have you drop in.

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Welcome to an Interview with Bee L. Kirk

  1. Great guest post. Intriguing. I love that Bee has has given substance to those voices, whispers – a clever and inspired premise for a story.
    And Bee’s other book… what a fantastoc idea, “Real Life Consequences of Bad Decisions”… most people want to read about train wrecks, especially those woithhappy endings… I hope there are at least some happy endings. Although I’m disappointed I didn’t think of it, other than as an underlying message in a few blog posts 😉

  2. I enjoyed this interview very much, David and Bee. “They” say that it is a good idea to use a universal issue or thing to capture your audience. I like the one about the whispers. Very creative way to deal with it too.

  3. My sweet friend, I have nominated you for The Versatile Blogger Award! Please visit this link: transcendingbordersblog.wordpress.com/2013/10/15/the-versatile-blogger-award-6/

  4. Oh I love the idea behind this book, very clever. I’m very in tune to my little voice and it never let’s me down. I’m going to download this now to have a good read. It’s great that you are promoting the different and the unusual, I thank you for that.

  5. What I love about these interviews is that I feel I’ve met a new person, a wonderful new person, whom I’d never know about it weren’t for blog posts like this one from David.
    Yes, I believe in Guardians – and I love the way Bee describes their presence in our world. I have heard so many stories from friends who have had these ‘close encounters’ with disaster, except they listened to their ‘gut,’ (or was it their guardian?). In the past decade or so, I haven’t heard of anyone approach this subject, so I think it’s exciting that Bee is writing about it head on. Your book sounds terrific, Bee. Best of luck (and may the guardian be with you!)

Leave a Reply

