Honours in Sunshine.

This morning I was greatly touched ( I know many would say I’ve been touched for years) to receive from my wonderful friend Margaret Lynette Sharp, an award called The Sunshine Award. I take great delight in introducing you to her blog wher I’m fortunate that she often features not just birds but also the natural beauty of Australia- or at least her part of it.

Without  further ado, allow me to introduce  http://margaretlynettesharp.wordpress.com/

All awards come with a price and this is no different. I need to display the award itself which I shall now do………………………………………………

sunshine-award

Then I must tell you 10 interesting things about myself which I confess will be a struggle. Lastly I must make my own nominations which will be difficult only because there are so many wonderful blogs out there, and I’m charged with informing them.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………. …………………………………     1. Though Welsh, I was actually born in Germany.

2. I love playing board games ( not Monopoly) and cards. At age 6 I was learning how to play Cribbage from watching my parents/grandparents play. It’s good for maths.

3. Michael/Mike whom I refer to as brother has been my best friend for 40 years now.

4. My first name ( and preferred) is David though some family/friends call me Mike to differentiate from my father, imagine the confusion with No.3.

5. I’m an inveterate shopper. I love it. The Postman may hate me though. It’s great seeing someone’s face as you give them a gift.

6. I had a breakdown that left me unable to speak to people face to face but I have no probs annoying them on the net.

7. Typical man I hold my feelings close but when my budgie died and one of the rats very recently ( Bernie) I cried like a baby.

8. I love humour in most forms but never quite ‘get’ some of the cult things like Monty Python. Current favourite, The Big Bang Theory, unbeatable.

9. Some people say I’m an easy touch but it’s better to be conned by a few than let one real one go unnoticed.

10. The Internet has been a blessing. Without it I may never have written, and I’ve forged some great friendships over the world…………………………………….

My Nominations.

1. http://ililarbel.weebly.com/    A very interesting blog for those who enjoy history and by a very skilled writer.

2. http://www.wildozark.com/  Some stunning pictures. Helpful herbs and currently a blog about a trip to Germany.

3. http://wordpress.com/read/blog/id/8197164/  Animal Couriers. Heartfelt stories about re-homing mistreated animals and reuniting animals and owners worldwide.

4. http://greatbigjar.com/  A real delight to read this blog is by a Scottish friend whom I treasure.

5. http://www.sorinsuciu.com/ A delightful blog by a very funny young man ( See The Scriptlings) who also carries great interviews.

6. http://seumasgallacher.com/  The blog of a man at peace with his own insanity. A great humorist.

7. http://maggiethom.wordpress.com/  A great selection of book reviews.

8. http://dieselelectricelephant.wordpress.com/ A great writer and a great reviewer.

9. http://valeriedavies.com/  A wonderful eclectic mix of posts.

10. http://acflory.wordpress.com/ Simply because I love this woman and what she writes. Great books and things that matter on her blog.

Right, I shall notify everyone and hopefully some will take up the challenge themselves. If you haven’t been included in this list it isn’t because I don’t value you or your blog but simply because there are so many I do love that I’d be here all day if I didn’t stop somewhere.

Hugs and Compliments of the Season to you all.

52 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

52 responses to “Honours in Sunshine.

  1. Thanks Teagan, you’re a star.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

  2. Thank you for the kind words. I shall do my best. 🙂

  3. Well-deserved Sir! Congratulations!

  4. Oh Uncle, I like you even more now 🙂

  5. I, too, love The Big Bang Theory. Very few sitcoms can guarantee weekly laugh-out-louds like that show can. Really great writers.

    Congrats on your award!

  6. Congratulations on your award, and number 10 of things about you is my favourite. Lovely!

    • Thanks so much. I like that one as it shows just how lucky I’ve been in the people I’ve met. The internet rules ! Without it I’d never have been able to share your touching story.
      xxx Hugs Galore xxx

  7. Great answers, David. Shine on!

  8. You deserve this award! 🙂

  9. Congratulations David… what fun reading all your answers….
    thank you so much for nominating me, I’m very touched and honoured… But I tend not to accept them, I’m just not up with the play enough on these things. So thank you, thank you, David, very much appreciated, but not my thing…

    • Not a problem Valerie, it’s not everyone’s cup of tea. But, if you find a deserving Blog you can still pass the award on since you’ve been nominated. The awards can be tedious I confess but I think it’s nice to honour someone. I struggle sometimes to fulfill the rules so I’d say ‘don’t’, a little fexiblity in the rules should be acceptable.
      It was a pleasure nominating you Valerie and I do think your blog deserves the recognition.
      xxx Huge Hugs as always xxx

  10. …what’s not to like with a great blog like this??!!! :)) cheers , David ..:)

  11. Reblogged this on Seumas Gallacher and commented:
    …some of these Awards with attendant questions about authors are absolutely fascinating… LUV this one … cheers to my pal, Lord David Prosser …

  12. Congratulations… Lord David!!! … most well deserved for all the sunshine you bring into my life, and that of others… Lots of xxx

  13. I’m devastated that you don’t “get” Monty Python, Lord D! But I shall survive. Congratulations on the award! (And all the other awards you’ve been getting. Well deserved!)

    • I think I liked my humour a little more subtle but it may just be I was at the wrong age back then. Maybe I’d view t with different eyes now- not that I haven’t got the same eyes but you know what I mean.
      Thanks for the congratulations, they’re much appreciated. I don’t think the awards are especially deserved but perhaps people remember my name when struggling to make a list..
      Nadolig Llawen. x

  14. I am grateful you found the Internet too. Congrats on a well-deserved award. (((hugs)))

  15. You are SUNSHINE and you light up so many lives. Fantastic news, David and VERY well deserved Big Hugs to you! XXX Lottie 🙂

  16. Congrats on the award David! My poor postman hates me too. Lots of packages that he must deliver to my front door. 🙂

    • Thanks a lot Kourtney I’m appreciative of the award but surprised by it.
      Our postmen should be grateful to us keeping them in work.Looks like between us we’re keeping the economy alive.
      xxx Hugs Galore xxx

  17. #8: It’s Penny, is it? 🙂
    Bazinga!

  18. Wow! I am so proud to be on your list David. You have so many wonderful friends, I am very humbled by your appreciation of my Scottish banter. LOVE the snow on your screen saver – Merry Christmas my fantastic friend x x

    • Well, what a really sweet thing to say. I DO have some wonderful friends but you’re counted among them too. Your Scottish banter is a delight and anyway we Celts and Gaels have to stick together these days. The snow is a wordpress option and now comes automatically every December.
      Nadolig Llawen a Blwyddyn Newydd Dda my wonderful friend from North of the Border.
      xxx Huge Hugs xxx

  19. Borrowing the words of Walt Whitman “Some people are so much sunshine to the square inch.”… You 🙂

  20. I’m delighted that you so wonderfully accepted The Sunshine Award! As always, your comments are a delight to read!

  21. Merry Christmas David, lots of hugs from us all up here battling with the elements. Take care, my friend x x

    • Happy New Year. I’m rapidly trying to grow fins and install sails to cope with the weather.Those are not the kind of sails I like. I hope it eases off before you start to celebrate the New Year. I’m wishing you a successful and Happy one.
      xxx Massive Hugs xxx

Leave a Reply

