We Interrupt this Programme………

Very rarely is my breath taken away though I know there are many people who deeply regret that. Some have even offered a gag. On Sunday I received an email and notice of a post that did just that. Another award nomination but one I’ve not heard of before and I hope my friend will forgive me for saying so, but from an unexpected quarter. Not that I don’t think she’s extremely generous but because I thought she didn’t believe in these awards as many don’t. First of all, let me say that I believe the awards are a good thing ( though sometimes they can be a nuisance) because they let an author or blogger or reader know that they’re touching someone’s lives and for me that’s what writing is all about.

This award is unusual in more than I haven’t heard of it before. It also doesn’t require that I answer a mess of questions or create more for my nominees. Having said that, I’m a rebel and am going to set one question to each of the nominated people. I’m supposed to find 14 worthy people which should not be hard but I won’t press too hard if each of then bend the rules slightly where numbers are concerned or on question setting if it comes to that. So without further ado, allow me to introduce you to my friend Jan and her very ecologically friendly site ‘The Snail of Happiness‘.  http://thesnailofhappiness.com   …………………………………………………………………………………………..

Wonderful Team Member Reader Award

Wonderful Team Member Reader Award

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

My nominations for this award are as follows……………………………………………………………………………………….

http://mothstoaflame.net/   Assorted misadventures to entertain you.

http://piczload.com/   A remarkable blog of photographs and pictures of such interest and beauty ( plus some I don’t understand at all but art is subjective).

http://dottaraphels.wordpress.com/   Life with all it’s complexities.

http://catherineryanhoward.com/  Help for bloggers and humour too.

http://janewenhamjones.wordpress.com/  Jane Wenham-Jones, Books and writing advice.

http://elainecanham.wordpress.com/  Elaine Canham, personal and professional blog mixture. Lots of humour in there.

http://masnstevy.com/ , Just shy of Pretty but I don’t believe it.

http://guyportman.com/  The ponderings of a writer a( and believe me, we have a few).

http://foodstoriesblog.com/  Shared food stories and recipes to suit every taste.

http://morguemouse.com/  C.J. and Morguie the mouse offer help in bereavement and entertain with their individual life stories.

http://twodifferentgirls.com/  Kitty Lapin Agile. A reader whose blog has great humour and varied subjects.

http://yankeeskeptic.com/  Kitty H writes a great blog on travel and other themes and are never short of a mile.

http://1writeplace.com/  Patti Hall. A blog filled with warmth and her daily journey through tears and laughter.

http://teagansbooks.wordpress.com/ Teagan is a writer, reader, blogger on so many subjects. A true entertainer and nice person.

I could actually go on at this point and probably find another 14  but instead I want to st the question I mentioned earlier. Here goes……                                                                   You’re given One wish with which to aid mankind. What do you ask for?

My thanks again to Jan and to those of my nominees who take up this virtual hug from me.

35 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

35 responses to “We Interrupt this Programme………

  1. Thank you so much, David. I haven’t seen that award either. I stopped doing awards, but I do value their benefits.
    If we had peace (no wars), that would mean other important issues would then be possible. Anything would be possible then! That’s my thinking anyway:>)

    • At least you know your blog is still worthy of awards in your readers eyes.
      I think peace would be my choice too so we could concentrate on saving the planet together.
      xxx Huge Hugs xxx

      • Thank you, I really do appreciate the awards. The whole peace scenario leaves so many openings for fixing our other messes. The time, money and humans that are wasted on war could then be spent on poverty, pollution, disease, and…but it is just a fantasy after all…
        Hugsback

      • I live in hope that fantasy becomes a reality when we realise what we’re doing. I’m happy to peacefully co-exist with others and I know I’m not alone. Maybe if enough of us spoke up?……….
        That’s why I use Hugs since you can’t hug easily while holding a weapon.
        xxx Have a Wonderful week. Cwtch xxx

      • You too and I do like your hug campaign:>) xx

  2. I’m one of those who is ambivalent about awards, I usually try and remember to accept them and say thanks, but don’t usually follow the rules… Anyway, a good list here for me to browse through some different blogs so that will be a good excuse for not getting on with important but extremely tedious duties.

    • I look on them as a lovely way to show someone their work i valued and to give a hug. Rule following is a bind and they’re made to be broken-so I do. It’s a great way to find other blogs and waste some time…and in my case I put the wrapping off again.
      xxx Huge Hugs xxx

  3. Congratulations on your award, David. Very well deserved 🙂

  4. Congratulations on another award, David.
    And I am pleased and flattered to be included in such amazing company as I accept your very kind nomination. 🙂

    My wish… Ultimately I think all the things I wish for myself and for everyone – health, happiness, security, respect – I believe all those things are woven into the fabric of *Acceptance.* I let you all ponder the thought.
    Big hug,
    teagan

    • Thank you Teagan. The company only becomes more amazing as you join us. I’m glad you accept.
      I share the same wish with you and would hope that they would follow on from Peace in the World. I feel that we should never fear the differences between us but should accept and celebrate them. If we do that then Acceptance is easy.
      xxx Massive Hugs xxx

  5. many congratulations!!

    I have not been around for too long, but you participate wonderfully in my blog and have no doubt you do so in others. Looking at all the interviews you have done with people, supporting their work and presenting it to the world – That is a service.

    Very deserving.. 🙂

    Well done once again!

    ML
    x

    • Thank you very much Miss Lou, that’s really kind.I’m happy to participate on other’s blog posts as many are kind enough to drop in and see me, often leaving a kind comment. The interviews are fun for me and hopefully for the interviewee. Others have been kind enough to interview me and show my books to the World. I thinks a drop of kindness with the morning coffee make the day bearable.
      I send you Huge Hugs xxxx
      Nadolig Llawen a Blwyddyn Newydd Dda.

  6. Congratulations on your award David. Thank you for nominating my blog, this is much appreciated. I look forward to checking out the other blogs, they sound from your descriptions that they are well worth a visit.

  7. Pingback: Internet Hug! | Teagan's Books

  8. Nice to give you a surprise! I have been encouraged to engage with the awards business by Lonnie The Belmont Rooster (http://thebelmontrooster.wordpress.com/) and so I have set up a special page for them on my blog (http://thesnailofhappiness.com/awards-and-suchlike/). The first award accepted on that page is one you gave me about 18 months ago David… never let it be said that I don’t get round to things eventually!

  9. My wish, is that people would realize how truly rare and lucky they are to be travelling together on this pale blue dot. To truly look into the eyes of their fellow passengers, and know, this is my neighbor. Maybe Cary Grant put it best when portraying Dudley, an angel in the movie “The Bishop’s Wife” He said “If humans could only learn to behave like human beings.”

  10. Thanks to Patti Hall, I have been introduced to your blog. Like you, I have entered the blog world a bit late after a career in teaching college with a specialty in English literature. However, my blog’s main focus is on my life as a Mennonite girl in Lancaster County, PA.

    You are kind to honor so many notable sites, David.

  11. Hi David 🙂
    The snail of happiness….. I love your friend Jan’s blog site name, made me smile, very broadly.
    Thank you so much for the many wonderful sites nominated here, I’m incredibly honored to be on this list. I shall promptly visit each one,and I will get to my response as soon as I can,life,time and life,lol will permit soon.

    • Jan’s site, and her snails, are great for those who want to help conserve the planet, grow your own veg and generally want to unwind. There’s no time limit and no pressure with the award Dotta, it’s as and when or even not at all as long as you know your site brought pleasure.
      xxx Huge Hugs xxx

  12. You continue to be an inspired and exemplary award getting and giver. Well done with the great nominees 🙂

  13. CJ

    Gah!!!!! Thank you my dear, I am honored. And congratulations to you, of course! As you know, I behave badly with these. I must re-read to see how I must honor this kindness. I will try to do good by your sweet consideration. Otherwise I will have to blame the Mouse, again….
    XXXXmassive hugs and even some tiny rodent smoochies, tooXXXX CJ

    • It’s easy to do this time Catherine, just pay it forward to some other great blogs you know. Even if you don’t follow it you can still show the logo on your site so people will know of your nomination, nothing changes that. But quality and help must be recognised and you have both.
      xxx Huge Hugs xxx

  14. thanks David, that’s really nice of you. One wish with which to aid mankind? Er, I’ll have to get back to you on that. Maybe if we were all musical, we could sing our way of difficulty. thanks for the hug, too. have one from me.

    • If we rely on singing Elaine my voice is likely to cause more problems than solve them. I’ll have to stick with my hugs. Thanks very much for the hug you sent me, they’re ever welcome.
      xxx Hugs Galore xxx

  15. You DO deserve the award – you are such a constant and supportive follower of bloggers, and your comments always make me feel good! I send you a BIG HUG.

  16. Thanks so much for thinking of me – You are very deserving yourself 😉

    Happy New Year!

    • Happy New Year to you also. Thinking of you wasn’t difficult as you have a great blog with good interaction. Thank you for the kind comment about my being deserving, I’m afraid a lot less effort has to go into the preparation of my blog than others but I really do appreciate someone thinking of me.
      xxx Huge Hugs xxx

Leave a Reply

