The Druid’s Inn Day and Back Away from Those Tools

Sunday. Such a lot of post this morning. It took from almost 5.00am to 8.00 am to finish.The fish were lined up at the side of the tank waiting for the light to go on when I got there. Maybe Starvation Saturday is getting to them, or maybe they’re just aware I haven’t imposed it upon myself. I spoke nicely to them as I dropped the food through the hatch so I may be forgiven. Mike had intimated it might be nice to do something today so after I’d taken my coffee through I proceeded to get dressed. I didn’t realise his ‘do something’ was stay in bed. Still, I was dressed, the sun was shining and I managed to stay on top of the mail. A little after 10.30 he rose from his pit and levitated towards the lounge in nothing but teeshirt and shreddies, I threw a cloth over Ju’s picture and one over the fish tank.

Twenty minutes after the first coffee I heard “Ug. ug. ug. ug” and knew he was waking up. ”  Good morning to you too” I responded. He shot off to the loo leaving burn marks on my laminate floors and eventually returned fully dressed and smelling like a brothel. I must say I prefer soup myself. After an hour of the laptop looking for a watchwinder it was time to think of lunch, or in his case breakfast. I left a bid on some green baize and we left. As always we were in the car before the discussion as to where to eat started. Best out of 3 at rock, paper, scissors told us that we’d go to the Dragon’s Rest . The journey began and my mind began to wander a bit, back to New Year. We just reached the op of the hill as I thought, “I wonder if we could get into the Druids today” as Mike actually said the words and we both shouted “Get out of my head you bar-steward.” As it happens with a slight detour we could get into the Druids and what a lovely meal it was. The standard roast beef dinner for me but Mike had beef, pork and lamb on his. My portion seemed like half a cow.

On our way out afterwards a woman was just applying a tissue to the corner of her child’s mouth. Mike told her she should spit on it first getting a ripple of laughter from the table. Following on I added “He knows that as I’ve just done it for him poor lamb.” to another ripple of laughter. As the sun was still shining and Mike’s usual visit to Manchester on a Sunday was going to be later today, we had a ride to Afon Wen( white river) Antiques and Craft Centre. You’ll all be astounded to hear I spent nothing. What I did come away with though was a violent stomach ache and a pain in the neck. The pain in the neck drove me home. A couple of trips to the bathroom started me on the right road and then just after Mike left to see his dad I fell asleep. I was out for over an hour and with having been out of the house for so long I can through to check the mail. The other half of the globe had written this afternoon. That kept me occupied until about 6.45 when I needed to eat something and take some tabs. Time to settle down with Poirot.

I was surprised when Mike came back ay about 9.00 pm and I stayed with him for half an hour commiserating on him losing his winder while he did the same over my green baize. I’m not paying nearly £30 for a metre square piece ! Eventually I came through and I’ve been here ever since. I’ve now sen the working file for the book and have high hopes it’ll be on in a day or so . I’ll be abe to order a proof copy then if Lulu OK it. I just hope t’s not going to cost a mint with pictures. Well it’s now 12.50 am so it’s time to call it a night. Five minutes with a book a I hope.

Monday. Mike and I had words this morning.He’s finally discovered the grunts don’t work and words are a better form of communication. If only I can get him to use them in the right order.

I got up quite early and did the usual rounds with my mail. Still no marriage proposals, it’s been about 3 weeks now since the last one. But I am still getting proposas of another kind as per the one below.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                              [SUSPECTED SPAM] Somebody kinky out there is prepared for a date with you tonight! See my stunning pics                                                                                                        Leticia to you –

Well, not just somebody it’s me right here actually.
Why do yummy girls get so lonesome now and again?
I don’t wanna end up going on a rendezvous with some wimp so
I though possibly you’re up for it?
I like it when a dude is self-confident and can show a chick a great time.
I can be very kinky sometimes, look at my glowing photos!
Are you that guy? I believe you are,
send me a message right here http://rhuclhsh5jljlimcswqyaog2uq.thevalentinefinder.in?tonin and we’ll see where it goes!
 
Where it went was straight in the bin. It may have been some years since nookie and I were on nodding terms but I think I still prefer the more amateur approach. I dressed about 7.30 just to prove I was up before Mike but I needn’t have bothered too much as he still ignored the alarm despite the fact we’re due at our friend Brian’s house by 9.oo pm to help with the moving. I actually motivated Mike by wafting a coffee scented candle in this bedroom. I added a real coffee to that so he’s really no excuse. By 8.50 am we were just about on the road and reached Brian’s about half past nine. The place was in chaos as you can imagine, but we got started by dismantling the TV and satellite boxes,DVD player and get this, a VHS player. Once done this was taken to the car and stored till we  were ready to go. The computer, the printer, phones, modem and then Brian’s music centre were added to the mix. An hour or so later Mike and I made a move towards Brian’s new flat while he and his sister waited for the removal men.
 
In Llandudno we headed for ASDA (Walmart) fist and bought some milk and a new kettle so we could drink as we worked. Mike carried the TV in and opened a window for me to pass the rest of the stuff in. Sort of an un-burglery. It would have been funny to be reported to the police for actually adding something to a place.We started with the computer and with Mike on the floor attaching all the cables it was soon ready to go. At this point he couldn’t have accessed the internet as the new phone line isn’t active. The TV underwent a similar treatment just before the removal van arrived with Brian close behind. It was mainly stuff from his lounge and kitchen so we were able to get the computer up onto it’s work space and work out where best it would go. The printer on a little table next to it. Brian and the men went off for their second load while Mike and I set the phones up and arranged the lounge furniture. We nipped out for lunch then and came back with HUGE sausage and onion baps. Not my fault I couldn’t find anything diet conscious there.
 
Mike went into starting the fridge freezer and the cooker after lunch. He was well on the way when the next delivery arrived. I had the pleasure of putting the bed together. Mike checked the washing machine and found a pipe missing and Brian fretted about calling in the phone company and SKY.  The removal men had brought a unit that Mike thought would be better for the TV. We tried to keep a straight face as he cursed at having to undo wires, thread them through then re-attach them. Eventually it was up and while Brian went off to find the missing pipe Mike tried to tune the TV in for terrestrial channels as SKY were refusing to come sort their end until March 6th. One very unhappy bunny in our midst. Mike went off to do the washing machine while I decided to go out for cigarettes. The shop was further than I thought and I was out for over an hour which made Mike ring to see if I was OK. Breathless as I was, he thought he’d rung a sex line in error. I arrived back and Brian was still on the phone to SKY. Everything was arranged and all the appliances were up and running so Mike and I left.
 
On the way hope we stopped to pick up braised steak and creamed mash from the chippie and went home to eat. Then it was time for showers, me first and by 8.15 pm I was in my dressing gown and attacking my emails. I’ve been here ever since and it’s just gone 11.00 pm now. We’re out again tomorrow so I’d better get some sleep. Mike is driving back home tomorrow night so I might manage a few quiet days.
 
Tuesday. I didn’t sleep well or long last night. I’m convinced someone stole my share. Now I’m not naming names here but someone was in bed by 8.30 pm and was fast asleep ( telly still on)when I nipped to the loo at 10.30 pm. I turned the TV off fully expecting him to wake up and claim to be watching it but not this time. I got up. did mail , got washed and dressed, did mail, saw to fish, tabs and coffee, did mail and finally woke him with a coffee at 8.30 am. This unnamed person got up with some reluctance.
 
Mike joined me for coffee in the lounge and asked what time we were going to Chester. I explained that I’d said to expect us about 10.00 am. It was almost 9..30 am before we left but we made reasonable time and were there by 10.10 am. Somehow I ended up with Reuben in my arms while Yvonne practically bolted to the kitchen with the excuse of making drinks. He grabbed my ear and twisted it  so I knew who the boss is. Well and truly put in my place. We offered to put up a curtain rail in the lounge which meant I could pass Reuben back. He was showing every sign of being a tired little boy. Fortunately Yvonne managed to get him off and laid him upstairs in his cot with the baby monitor on the table bedside us. We sussed out what to do and went to get the tools from the utility room. There wasn’t a single thing of any use and it appears Ugo has all the power tools in the car. He mustn’t trust Yvonne not to operate on Reuben when he’s niggly. Mike had to run me into town for  hammer drill, both masonry and wood bits, screwdrivers, pliers and a hacksaw. As it was approaching lunch time we picked up some pizza to take back. When we arrived, Reuben was back downstairs having slept for about 20 mins.
 
After lunch and the usual lapdance from Reuben ,plus an attempt to pinch my Pepsi Max Mike and I started work. He was much more than hands-on guy and I was more planning and passing. Reuben wasn’t at all keen on the noise the drill made at first but after a while he just looked a little startled when it started though happy once it was going.Of course he started growling at us all but I don’t know whether it was drill imitation.Once the curtain rail was up we attached the curtains, then reattached the hooks for the nets to a different place and put those up. It did take a good couple of hours and it’s a job Ugo won’t have to worry about doing once he finishes work. Yvonne was a little worried he wouldn’t like us doing his job but I told her to say the curtain fairies had dropped by. We left at about 5.15  pm as Mike wanted to pick up some jumpers for his dad before he sees him on Friday. That done we headed for home.
 
At home there was a note in the letterbox to say a delivery had gone next door for me. Yay, my card table. It’s pretty good.I tested it out and it stands quite firmly. Mike went on a marathon phone call as I started catching up on mail. 128 in total. I worked at them till 8.00 pm then went through. He came off the phone long enough to ask me if I’d refreshed. I ignored him and asked what he wanted to eat. I solemnly swear the bacon butties were entirely his choice. I had to join him as the bacon wouldn’t have got used again this week. As it was ready he finished his phone call and came to eat. That done, I went back to the computer till about 9.30. Then it was time for meds so I went to the lounge and there was Mike on another marathon phone call. It had to be  a woman. I watched the end of a programme and decided to stick around from Law and Order special victims unit at 10.00 pm and it was then he came off the phone again. I swear I’ve never seen anyone with cauliflower ears from phone calls before. Both Mike and I received a message from Ugo thanking us for saving him some work. I answered that he’s welcome but to put my tools down and back away from the bag now. I don’t want to see them disappear to the car too.
 
11.00 pm time for me to have my last go at messages and to get the blog post on. It’s gone midnight now so time for me to head towards bed and a short read. I’m so pleased it’s a day in for me tomorrow after Mike leaves. I’ll be able to stay on top of things much better. Nytol…….
 
Wednesday. A funny start to the day, no not the humorous kind. I worked from 5.00 am to 6.30 on my emails and then couldn’t keep my eyes open. Rather than send anyone a gobbledegook message I lay on the bed for a minute that lasted an hour. We have some very flexible minutes in Wales. At 7.30 I sort of roused a bit, did a couple more messages and then went to sort the fish out. I’d no idea what time Mike was planning to leave but I know he promised Rose he’d accompany her to hospital this afternoon. I didn’t make him a coffee as I did mine  intending to let him stay asleep till about 9.00 am. However, with no shout from me and no alarm clock he got out of bed unaided at 8.30 am. I was and still am in shock.
 
Just before 10.00 am Mike left and told me he’d be back again on Friday evening after taking his dad to see a solicitor. I’m a bit wary of asking why since I don’t want to find out Mike thinks it’s for the purposes of solicitation and have to disappoint him. After he’d gone I worked on messages until lunch time and then nipped to Pauline’s for some milk and ciggies before making myself braised steak with boiled potatoes and peas. I have to eat some of the food I bought at the weekend after all. I stayed in the lounge after lunch to finish a Sherlock Holmes episode but missed the last bit when I nodded off again. I think I’ve been bitten by a tsetse fly. Finally I came round enough to work on my mail. Two more offers of enhanced cleavage today which are more like waterwings. If I got lost in those they’d need search parties to find me again. I’d say it’s like being in a brothel except you’d ask me how I know. At 5.00 pm I couldn’t face any tea as I’d eaten so much at lunch time so I just had a drink. Lee arrived about half past and then Dil and Matt about 6.00 pm.
 
I made coffee, tea and poured cold water and then unfolded the new ( to me) card table. As usual we started with two games of Scrabble. Who won? Sorry, I couldn’t quite hear the question it’s a little noisy with me tapping my fingers like this. Then we had a game of Nomination whist and I offered my support to the other three players allowing them to scramble above me. By now I’m starting to sulk and my chin is at table level. Dil suggests a game of Crazy 8’s until they need to go. I’m jinxed, I couldn’t win a game if I was the only one who could see the cards played. Matt to one side of me reversing the direction of the game and then laying ‘pick up’ cards on me, Dil doing the same from the other direction. Just to add insult to injury Lee sits opposite me laughing his head off. The night was a disaster zone. I tried very hard to wipe the tears from my eyes as I bid them goodbye. They were also trying to wipe their eyes as they left, it seems laughter does that to a person. Shame it wasn’t raining.
 
I washed up and came through to deal with the last of the day’s mail, though I was bright enough not to refresh at the end just in case. Now time to tell you my tale of woe in the safe knowledge of your sympathy. Hugs all.
 
Thursday. I swear I’m going through the change. In bed at 1.00 am this morning and up again at 5.00 am, What? I know there’s nothing unusual in that but let me finish. By 7.30 I’d finished my mail but suddenly found my eyes filling with tears. In fact I woke up. I’d nodded off on the keyboard again and dropped my cigarette in my slipper, I dreamed I was being tortured- you’ll be happy to know I resisted and didn’t give any of your secrets away. Please send the cheques in gratitude to my home address. I removed the cigarette which had gone out anyway because of these new chemicals added  to them, put the flames out on my foot and limped to the kitchen. It’s a terrible shame but I spend the majority of my life limp which has Mike in fits of laughter.
 
The fish were ready to be fed but this morning only the angel fish was glaring at me. I can live with that since he turns in circles all day so the glares are intermittent and not sustained. I’ll be honest here and say the albino cory doesn’t scare me at all but the bigger bull nosed plec, well I just hope his eyesight is awful cos’ if not one of these days I’m really in for trouble.That done, I started to do my drugs for the week which is a Thursday chore. I opened the stuff that has been delivered yesterday and wouldn’t you know it, one of my sprays was missing, AND it had to be the one that ran out yesterday. I did everything else and then took my coffee through. There was a little more mail which I finished just after 9.00 am then got washed and dressed. I went to the chemist to see what and happened and for a start they’d forgotten to put an IOU in my bag for which they apologised and then explained they were having some problems getting this particular spray. I hope it hasn’t been discontinued or it will mean a visit with the doctor, I dread those, lovely lady though she is. Then I visited Pauline’s to get my lottery tickets and handed over the one from last night to check. Please note, no begging letters will be answered, but I’d won £25 ( about $40) which paid for today’s tickets, a newspaper for Muriel and three scratchcards  which ultimately proved useless ( sorry Reuben).
 
I came home and the postman had been. The green baize had arrived along with a [package from the U.S. from a friend sending Reuben a copy of a colouring book she’d published. There was a letter from my optician telling me it’s time for a new appointment and also accompanied by a quick snigger from the gods of whimsy, an appointment to visit the surgery for a review of my diabetes and though April seems far enough away not to worry there was a reminder to book an appointment to have a blood test in advance of the appointment.
 
At 10.45 the MuJo arrived and immediately ploughed into telling me how difficult the journey was and how bad the weather has been where they live recently. I know they’ve had the snow I seem to have avoided. No, I’m not tempting fate. I made drinks and we chatted in general until 11.15 am when they suggested heading out for lunch. Unsurprisingly it was the chippie. John is so badly overweight I’m surprised it ever crosses his mind and yet it’s always his first choice. It was a nice enough meal though and of course freshly cooked. I had a word with the waitress and told her to slip me the bill to save the usual arguments. It worked. Afterwards we went to a newsagents where there is a new magazine to collect military watches and the first one was cheap so we both got one.
 
Next was our trip to Flint. A couple of shops so I could buy some chocolates to take to Temptations. The place was crowded and it looked like a mothers club had congregated there judging by the numbers of prams and pushchairs but we found seats. Ceri was on a day off but other friends were serving so my welcome was there as always. It took me three years of going in before I could speak to anyone and without the feeling of being amongst friends I couldn’t go. It’s been a much more instantaneous feeling at the Ivy with Tariq, Shella and the girls there. Coffee break over it was time for a car wash and home.
 
MuJo left at about 4.15 and after they’d gone I noticed the phone flashing.( I’d be arrested if I tried that ) and there was a message from the chemist to say they’d got my spray. Coat on again and I went to collect it. One of the girls said I shouldn’t have bothered, she’d have brought it on her way home. Living in a village is great. I watched the rest of an antique show I follow then went to start emails until my 6.00 pm programme. I saw the first few minutes and dropped off. It was midway through the following programme before I woke so I gave up and returned to my messages which I’ve been hard at since 7.30 pm. I gave up at 11.00 pm to write this and now some aeons later I’m leaving to go finish my messages before the spell wears off and I become a frog again. Hugs to you all.
 
 I’m back. In honour of my great friends C.J. and Mousie of  http://morguemouse.com/ I’m sharing a fun record that I’m dedicating to them
http://youtu.be/edDmtJYxg3U   It’s by The Kursaal Flyers and called Little does She Know. Mousie will know why.
Another old favourite to continue tonight’s Fun Hour ( OK 10 mins, so sue me)  http://youtu.be/nJ2zpCTdShg  Driver 67 with Car 67                                                                          http://youtu.be/TUb2-28adB0 This one I’m dedicating to ‘Meeks’ ACFlory  acflory.wordpress.com because we’ve had recent conversations about driving and because I adore her and her blog. 
 
 
Friday. You’re going to be very bored today.It can be cleared in a few lines with one exception which I’ll mention in a moment. Just so you don’t think I took advantage of being alone in the house I still got up uber-early and worked on my mail. As usual apart from the fish, tabs and coffee break I spent much of my time slaving over a hot keyboard. But, and I can’t remember where the heck I got it, an interesting quiz came along. If you’re honest with the answers it can be very accurate and also very revealing.   http://similarminds.com/jung.html      I ended up ISTJ and Mike as ESTP. I wonder how much we all have in common. After lunch ( sausages and sweet potato mash) I took a break to do some tidying up before coming back to the mail until Put Your Money Where Your Mouth Is time. I had Law and Order, put clean bedding on and then took a shower. At about 8.30 pm Mike came back for the weekend so bang goes my peace and quiet. We yattered a while then I got him to do the quiz while I did my mail. I’ve just finished so am catching up on the blog post so I can catch some Zzzz’s before tomorrow.
 
Saturday. How lazy was I this morning? 5.30 am before I slung my lazy ass out of bed and then got out myself. I was hard put to make headway into my post at all before Mike’s alarm went off at 7.00 am. I knew I had at least a few minutes as he wouldn’t move without his coffee so I headed for the kitchen. Fish on-Check, Meds taken-Check , Coffee made- Check, OK I can safely go through now. I called his name loudly enough to penetrate his ear, called coffee’s up and left to take my own drink back to my room. I had time to wash and dress, get up to date with mail, empty the bins, take them out and put the recyclable rubbish out for collection and he still hadn’t moved. Cleverly his alarm hadn’t gone off a second time so he must have been compost mental enough to turn it off after the first one. By now it was gone 7.30 am so I shrugged and refreshed my post.
 
Mike got up at 7.45 finally and he’d taken last night’s coffee cup and this morning’s through to the kitchen. They were empty so I washed them. He came looking for this morning’s claiming he hadn’t finished it. Perhaps he’d intended licking the pattern off the cup. I gritted my teeth and made a fresh one. took it to him and went back to the mail. Again I caught up and went back through where he’s sitting with a full coffee cup reading a magazine. I resisted telling him getting up would be less of a problem if he went to bed before 1.00 am ‘cos I’m good like that and also because he can run faster than me. Eventually he got up and got dressed. At 8.15 am we were on our way. 
We reached the supermarket and Mike got a trolley as I went to the cashpoint then I met him inside. We’d got two packets of potatoes and some flowers for Ju when he said farewell and flew off to the loo. That gave me opportunity to buy myself another pair of trousers I didn’t need without him nagging. I was also able to get some of the food I needed in the basket without him laying it out in some OCD fashion that drives me up the wall. Anyway there wasn’t much room as I’d found something for Reuben that requires a bit of space.
 
Mike caught me up near the bread aisle but he’d promised to take me to another shop for some particular baps I wanted. Pop, cakes, Milk. malt loaf and chocolate ( not for me) followed and we were done. Mike takes the bags to the end of the checkout when we’ve unloaded the trolley onto the conveyer belt. We have a good system going. My mouth was so dry we had to have a coffee before leaving. In 15 mins we were in the other store where I got my baps and also pods for my coffee machine. Mike got some windscreen wash but I refuse to drink that. And talking of drinks, yes we stopped at Temptations for coffee but unfortunately Ceri wasn’t there due to a family loss so the banter was missing.
 
Back home, we unpack. Mike arranges Ju’s flowers for her and they’re really pretty. I sit aghast when I find out my gas bill is in arrears by over £200 and my elec bill in credit by over £200 so they’re putting my direct debit up by £20 a month for the gas and lowering my direct debit for the elec by £3 per month. Go figure. I had some nice pictures of Reuben from Yvonne  in my mail so I sat looking at them for a while, sorted my mail up to date and asked Mike what he wanted to do about lunch. Since he’s the driver I think the choice should be his. We headed for the Ivy Emporium. Tariq waves and greets us as we walk in and as we approach the counter I see the heavenly mad cat lady (Helen) is there, as well as Sophisticated lady (Angie) which is good as the chocolates I pass over go down well with them. Helen says she’s still enjoying Memoirs of a Superior which of course is about Oscar, and it sounds like her dozen cats are enjoying his antics too. Like all of the places I feel most comfortable, the people here are very special. Tariq has a laugh and a joke with Mike as we order lunch. Mike’s gone for a Moroccan Burger and I’ve settled for a large breakfast. The gannet had a slab of apple pie afterwards and said he knows I’ll mention it. I’d hate to disappoint him. Tariq as always undercharges me and as always I have to overpay him. I’ll only feel guilty if he shuts down next week as the profits are too low…………………………………………………………………………………………………
Bacon.

Bacon.

Back at home later it’s mail time again while Mike goes on Ebay. When I do go through I promptly fall asleep and when I wake up Mike’s nodded off too. That gave me chance to put a film on anyway. We watched Tomorrow People and he finally let me come through to finish the night’s work.
I wish you all a great week and send the usual Huge Hugs……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
Green Guy

Green Guy

Swing Boy

Swing Boy

Little Man

Little Man

27 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

27 responses to “The Druid’s Inn Day and Back Away from Those Tools

  1. What a charming lunch you had. You made me feel like I was there. I could almost smell that burger and the apple pie! Reuben is even more of a charmer than ever too.
    Mega-hugs,
    teagan

  2. David, I’m still rolling on the floor over Thursday. Your dream! So glad the world can count on your to keep its secrets. 🙂 I think you need fake cigarettes from now on. Hey, like me having fake chocolate.

  3. Now I’m starving, thank you very much. Normally breakfast is my favorite meal to eat out, but now lunch sounds really good.
    Okay, so is that a darling hat on Reuben, or have you been trying to grow hair on the little swing boy???

    • Sorry Marylin, reading about someone else eating can do that to me too. I can’t even lie an say it tasted awful.
      Ha, that would make a heck of a wig wouldn’t it, be funny to think of his hair coming up grey though.
      xxx Huge Hugs xxx

  4. Your spam message is very authentic, my spam blocker flagged your email as containing malicious content… must be that awful Leticia, I couldn’t believe it of you 🙂
    It is for that exact reason the cigarette companies added the extinguishing chemicals to the cigarettes… an interesting variation to falling asleep in bed with a lit ciggie. Reminds me of C.W. McCall’s song Wolf Creek Pass and Earl’s mishap…
    “… the fire fell off a’ his cigar and dropped on down, sorta rolled around, and then lit in the cuff of Earl’s pants and burned a hole in his sock. Yeah, sorta set him right on fire… I looked at Earl and his eyes was wide, his lip was curled, and his leg was fried.”

    • So sorry. I think I should have wiped her address so maybe the malicious part went away but also to stop anyone from being tempted by her charms, or his if it’s really a burly trucker.
      The extinguishing chemicals are a pain as your cigarette now goes out if you look at it wrongly.But probably less of a pain that a funeral. I haven’t heard that song before, I must check Youtube.
      xxx Hugs Galore xxx

  5. Your life is so eventful I was exhausted by Tuesday just reading it. I’m glad you talk to the fish, they like to be communicated with !

    • My life seems really quite boring from this end Valerie. I find with the fish, the deeper the voice, the better the response. And the bigger the fish the better. One of my old fish Zippy a pangasius responded beautifully to my voice and came to the glass. When he was getting on for two feet long he had to be rehomed-with another man for the timbre of voice.
      xxx Huge Hugs xxx

  6. I want to see a photo of the card table please.

  7. Luckily I don’t eat meat so don’t always get affected by your meals, although the places sound great. Reuben has a fantastic smile. I don’t know any of the card games you mention and haven’t played for years although I bought a card table a few months back for the computer. But now I’ve moved the computer to the kitchen as it’s much bigger. For some reason I also get those kind of messages, although mostly on Facebook, some from men, but the odd one from women too. Now they seem to pick them up and realise they’re spam…
    Have a great week (oh and yes, do stop smoking. Must say I love the song Ella quotes)

    • I shall have to try and tantalise you with veg then or some chocolate maybe? Reuben could show you how fantastic his smile is if you ever mention chocolate near him. I swear he knows the word.
      Most of the card games I play are pure fun but some have an element f skill like nomination whist, cribbage and chase the lady. I suppose even crazy 8’s does if anyone stops laughing long enough to employ it.
      The messages are pathetic but also a real pain when you have a lot of mail. I hope They get caught before reaching you on Facebook now, though I do still get some there.
      I loved Ella’s choice of song too but I’m still not sure it will help me quit.
      Have a Wonderful Week, xxx Massive Hugs xxx

  8. Do watch out for those flaming slippers!

  9. WARNING! LONG COMMENT Follows! Dear Lord David, Kindest Sir, It is 11:15 a.m. on the west coast of California, Sunday… The Mousie and I have just finished reading your week’s diary post. We have now decided it best to make notes along the way, because we DO read every word. The Mousie wants to know what a “chippie” is. I believe it refers to a sort of fast food type of diner. Please define. Oh, back up, we both enjoyed the bit about the tsetse fly, btw. Apparently a swarm of those lives nearby us, as well. So don’t feel alone. Next: that snippet about cleavage, waterwings, and getting lost inside brothels did NOT escape our attention. We detected a bit of ‘deception’ on our transatlantic transcendental psychic detector apparati. This detector went wild also at the part about tearful goodbyes at the end of your game-losing streak. We agree a rainy evening, some tissues, loud sniffling and less enthusiastic hand-waving would have served you more convincingly there. For THURS: You have a stern scolding coming! As CJ is a smoker herself, she knows better than to trust herself indoors with such a destructive, life-threatening device! Therefore she takes (actually she is banished) her habit of utter filth, danger, and disgust out of doors to a place where she is free to set fire to herself and her things as she pleases, leaving the rest of the household unfettered. Sir if you must insist of partaking of ciggies inside kindly do so more carefully or do not disclose to your adoring readers of your near-death adventures…you caused at least 3 gray hairs today, out of that alone. We are worry-warts and hand-wringers. HEY! But we liked that you are a lucky sort! On the ciggie event and the lottery deal! Good for you on both counts. Next: *+*+*+blushing+*+*+* at the song dedication. We will have you, and anyone who might still be reading our lengthy comment, know that THIS BLOG was (AS EVER) the priority, in the 173 weekly blogs delivered, today. It did require us nearly an hour to get thru, thanks to 2 refills of coffee, and a phone interruption, plus a video and quiz. We are true-blue, and we never lie to you, love. Wink. We confess we averted our gaze for video: between the plaid suit and ghastly teeth, the lead singer was about to kill us. We loved the song, though. Thanks for that. And lastly, to prove we digest everything you write: our quiz revealed a fairly honest ESFP scoring. We are 8.5% of the population. We are entertainers, but of a rarer species, apparently. But, we believe you already knew that. XXXxxxhugest hugs and whisker rubsxxxXXX CJ and Mousie

    • Dear C.J. and Mousie, I swear you read more of my blog than I do. I’m sorry it’s proving such a big distraction in your day but I’m honoured you choose to read it all.
      First of all so I don’t forget Mousie, a chippie is either a carpenter (but not in this case) or as C.J. cleverly suggests, A Fish and Chip shop.
      I’m glad you liked the tsetse fly even though you have an outbreak there. It’s terrible when i just fall asle zzzzzzzz. Looks like there’s an Oops that my naughty bits didn’t slip past unnoticed, in fairness, I never thought anyone read it. But to suggest I might be taking liberties with the truth after my card game, well you obviously don’t know how I hate losing.
      Scolding accepted, but, surely you wouldn’t have me stand on the front step in my dressing gown showing my knobbly knees at midnight with people walking past and giggling. Well done to C.J. for her care and I promise to be more careful.
      I’m glad you enjoyed the song if nor the singer, so much fun. And thanks for doing the quiz. At least we share the S part. I can quite believe you’re both rare entertainers as you certainly make me smile.
      I send you both Huge Hugs and yes, some whisker rubs too Mousie though mine may be a little rough.
      xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  10. Thank you so much for peak into your world!
    It’s important for all of use to “walk a mile” — or even just have breakfast — in someone else’s shoes. Blogs are good for that.

    • If ever those miles get you close enough to have breakfast here Candy I’ll be happy to treat you.If not, at least you’ll be a few miles further away from the shoes owners by then.
      xxx Huge Hugs xxx

  11. You have a most eventful life, David! I can’t understand why those marriage proposals have dried up… 🙂
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

  12. when do you find time to write all that? Considering you’re doing all the stuff that needs writing about? Loved the bit about the fag in your slippers. Well, not about it torturing you, but its amazing how your dreams can accommodate what is actually happening to you.

    • Easy peasy Elaine. I live during the day and write at night. I just haven’t found time for sleeping yet.
      Dreams can be very accommodating, I’m just hoping not to have one about singed toes anytime soon.
      It’s pretty odd really that I can chunner for hours about so little of any consequence, and odder still that people come to read it. I love friends.
      xxx Sending Massive Easter Hugs xxx

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.