Most Influential Blogger, we’ll see.

The very sweet and kind Salva Venia of   http://salvaveniaxxl.wordpress.com/ nominnated me for the award Most Influential Blogger today.

logo_mostinfluentialblogger

It gave me pause to think about how influential I might be. I know there are bloggers followed by many thousands who hang on their every word ( can you feel the jealousy?) and who get many comments. But I think I’m followed by quite a few and that many of those read most of what I write. Some may even be of the same opinion as me on some subjects.

Yesterday I read a blog post which affected me deeply. It was from a woman who was born a man but always knew she was a woman. She’d moved a fair way because of the bile that some people feel they have to spout and was part of an internet group who accepted her for the woman she is, until someone from her  past, from school decided to ‘Out’ her to the group. What made me sad was that from out of the group who had accepted her, there were people prepared to call her an abomination in the eyes of the church, because the bible is quite specific on issues like this and of course for some people the bible is never wrong.  If the bible says the Earth is 6000 years old then by heaven the dinosaurs must have been and gone in that time along with the great flood of Noah’s fame. For some people there is no flexibility, no room for error and certainly no room for science. I know not all Christians are like this and I even quite like some of the lessons attributed to Jesus for living one’s life. Certainly the one I like most is that of tolerance.

Instead of venting my anger towards these people who will only hate even more than they do now, I thought I’d share with you something another friend recently sent me. I have no idea who to attribute this to but allow me to say , whoever it is has a fantastic straight face for humour and I love it. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. And, if you should come across a transgender child or adult or a gay person you’ll extend tolerance and love towards them. Their struggle is hard enough as it is.

Dear Dr. Laura,

Thank you for doing so much to educate people regarding God’s Law. I have learned a great deal from your show, and I try to share that knowledge with as many people as I can. When someone tries to defend the homosexual lifestyle, for example, I simply remind him that Leviticus 18:22 clearly states it to be an abomination. End of debate. 

I do need some advice from you, however, regarding some of the specific laws and how to best follow them. 

a) When I burn a bull on the altar as a sacrifice, I know it creates a pleasing odor for the Lord (Lev 1:9). The problem is my neighbors. They claim the odor is not pleasing to them. Should I smite them? 

b) I would like to sell my daughter into slavery, as sanctioned in Exodus 21:7. In this day and age, what do you think would be a fair price for her? 

c) I know that I am allowed no contact with a woman while she is in her period of menstrual uncleanliness (Lev 15:19-24). The problem is, how do I tell? I have tried asking, but most women take offense. 

d) Lev. 25:44 states that I may indeed possess slaves, both male and female, provided they are purchased from neighboring nations. A friend of mine claims that this applies to Mexicans, but not Canadians. Can you clarify? Why can’t I own Canadians? 

e) I have a neighbor who insists on working on the Sabbath. Exodus 35:2 clearly states he should be put to death. Am I morally obligated to kill him myself? 

f) A friend of mine feels that even though eating shellfish is an Abomination (Lev 11:10), it is a lesser abomination than homosexuality. I don’t agree. Can you settle this? 

g) Lev 21:20 states that I may not approach the altar of God if I have a defect in my sight. I have to admit that I wear reading glasses. Does my vision have to be 20/20, or is there some wiggle room here? 

h) Most of my male friends get their hair trimmed, including the hair around their temples, even though this is expressly forbidden by Lev 19:27. How should they die? 

i) I know from Lev 11:6-8 that touching the skin of a dead pig makes me unclean, but may I still play football if I wear gloves? 

j) My uncle has a farm. He violates Lev 19:19 by planting two different crops in the same field, as does his wife by wearing garments made of two different kinds of thread (cotton/polyester blend). He also tends to curse and blaspheme a lot. Is it really necessary that we go to all the trouble of getting the whole town together to stone them? (Lev 24:10-16) Couldn’t we just burn them to death at a private family affair like we do with people who sleep with their in-laws? (Lev. 20:14) 

I know you have studied these things extensively, so I am confident you can help. 

Thank you again for reminding us that God’s word is eternal and unchanging. 

Your devoted disciple and adoring fan.

Read more at http://www.snopes.com/politics/religion/drlaura.asp#fe2D54ofwKxz1Uze.99

52 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

52 responses to “Most Influential Blogger, we’ll see.

  1. I think simply the hugs you freely offer and the time you are so generous with make you a very influentual blogger 🙂 Well deserved.

  2. Tomorrow I get to watch my best friend marry the woman she loves, the world would be a so much nicer place if Christians followed their gods simpler instructions like love thy neighbour and left the judgement to him, to be honest 98% of Christians will be going straight to hell if they are right about their god for the amount of hate they spew and constantly putting themselves, never mind false gods in his place.

    Extending the hugs to include the blogger who has had to face idiots, she should join my fb friends there are a couple of transgender friends, lots of gay friends, and they only bit about all that that matters is one word ‘friends’ xxxx

    • I agree with you Paula. The only thing that matters is the word friends, and in the case of the wedding you’re going to tomorrow- Love. When people care about each other and love each other we have no right to judge it. With more love and caring with compassion and tolerance in the World there would be less wars.
      Thanks for the comment.
      xxx Massive Hugs xxx

  3. You certainly influence me… but you may be a bad influence because I have recently started craving BFG!!
    xxx big hugs xxx

    • You say it like that’s a bad thing. Just think about how good fruit is and how milk helps the bones, that’s the cherries and cream taken care of.
      xxx Humongous Hugs xxx

  4. You deserve the award and I love the letter. I think some people don’t realise that things were written at a time and for a reason and times change. Love the letter

    • Thanks so much Olga. I agree, people forget times change and traditions do also. I doubt the bible was meant to be taken so literally but I love that people with bad eyesight can’t approach an altar and that those who get a haircut should be killed. Oops, I’m in trouble.
      xxx Masssive Hugs xxx

  5. David, i won’t even get started. You chose a great way to sum things up. I once had a friend who’d known me for several years. This woman had not been to any church since she was a small child. Yet she (and some other coworkers) chose to send me verses from “Lev” when they realized that i had spiritual beliefs different from theirs.
    It’s bad enough when people how actually participate and follow a religion misuse its teachings… but just plain ridiculous when the ones who don’t even go to “church” start preaching… Hugs to you and the friend who inspired your post. Great big hugs. Huge hugs.

    • You had a very stupid friend and just as stupid co-workers Teagan. That’s a terrible thing to do to someone. If they”d done that to a Muslim I doubt they’d have kept their jobs. I’ve had one or two rows over Christianity and it’s very sordid past when people have challenged my beliefs which is why I created the Buthidars, a Religion based on Hugs and help where anyone is welcome if they suspend their religious beliefs at the door.Hugs are for everybody.
      I hope you get your new job and have a better set of friends.( But I’m always one of them).
      xxx Hugs Galore xxx

  6. Willy Nilly

    I think your post is a perfect example of why you are a most influential blooger and deserve the award. Your influence is strongly applied with a kind voice and good humor.

    • I thank you very much. That’s a wonderful thing to say. Humour and kindness are the good basis of a friendship I think.
      I love your Dragon Headed walking stick by the way, unless you’ve just done a stint in Slimmer’s World.
      Hugs

  7. Maggie Thom

    Thank you for sharing this David. Unfortunately people hide behind religion and many other things rather than deal with their fears. I hope the future is a world where we recognize that everyone is unique and beautiful and that life is meant to be about love, laughter, light and being kind to each other and holding each other in the highest regard, no matter who you are or what you’ve done in life – we all make mistakes. Congratulations on your award, well deserved. And massive hugs for the beautiful person that you are. 🙂

    • You put it perfectly Maggie. That’s the world I want to ,live in.
      Thanks so much for the lovely compliment. I can only say it takes one to know one.
      xxx Massive Hugs xxx

      • Maggie Thom

        Ahh thank you. 🙂 I think you’re doing a great job of making the world a better place. Hugs.

  8. Now that’s an intelligent person with razor wit…love it! Thank you very much for this morning’s laugh. Prejudice and stupidity should be pointed out for the man-made farce that it is. You are absolutely awesome, and I hope the lady you mention finds friends more worthy of her beautiful soul.

  9. I’ve read this before, David, but I still chuckle at the witty counter-attack. The Dr. Laura is Laura Schlessinger, who used to be a national radio-talk show hard-hitting, self-righteous, no-nonsense commentator…until graphic nude photos of her were released (and we mean graphic) and they were researched and real. She refused to talk about them and would cut off callers who even referred to them.

    • Thanks Marylin, I did wonder who she might be.And the context of the letter makes so much more sense now. So, in the end it was more Holy Cow than Holier than Thou with her. I bet she still pontificates somewhere and has the self righteous attitude. They don’t usually change.
      I hope you didn’t mind seeing the letter again in this instance.
      xxx Massive Hugs xxx

  10. This is a change of pace David. I too have seen this before but I welcomed the chance of another read. I long ago gave up on any thought of a ‘loving god’ first when I was being raped at 5 and jesus seemed to be absent that day and every other time thereafter for the next 12 years. Next when I saw the newsreels of the Holocaust. My young mind couldn’t rationalise it at all. How could all the things they were saying at sunday school about jesus loving children and that he would protect them. When these terrible things were happening in the world how could a child think anything else? I’m 63 and I still can’t make sense of it. The funny thing is the followers of the worlds largest religions, Christians, Muslims and Jews all share the same god of the old testament. A Babylonian thunder god who destroyed nations, killed the first born in Egypt, ordered the raping of girls and women, the destruction of the land and throwing people into slavery. Phew, pretty heavy stuff that has survived to this day. Then you look at the new testament and it’s all love and forgiveness. That seems to be preached until someone has their life/religion challenged and up comes all the bile, gore and vengeance from the OT. Scratch the surface of a fundamentalist and it doesn’t matter who they follow, the same stuff flies to the surface: kill, destroy, hate, punish all in the name of our god, who’s bigger than your god. *sigh* Rant over. Bring on the Order of Hugs and Love David, I won’t say church because someone will twist it around and do some punishing for not hugging correctly.
    Now, I would say you’re not very well this week David. So I hope you are feeling better.
    Manly Hugs
    Laurie.

    • There isn’t a thing you say Laurie that I don’t agree with. I always thought that since God did not put the sins of the father onto the children there’s no need not to protect hem in times of war. All this claptrap about free will is an excuse the fundamentalists use to explain why what the bible says will happen- doesn’t.
      Quite simply there’s no God and he was just created by someone with an eye to the main chance in controlling people.I don’t mind people’s beliefs as long as it doesn’t threaten someone else’s but it seems most of them do since they want control.
      My wife’s uncle was one of the first into Belsen and he was never the same afterwards. How could anyone do such a thing to another human being? And the far right are growing again in Europe which is scary. Even scarier are is that normal people seem prepared to vote for them as well as the thugs.
      I originally called the Buthidars a church to annoy someone but, as a church there isn’t anyone to tell people they’re not hugging properly. All my seniors are the most delightful people.
      Well guessed my friend. It even works from Australia? I’m sure I’ll be fine soon but I don’t particularly mind.
      Take care of yourself please. Hugs.

      • Great minds think alike eh? As to the bible it’s a collection of stories decided on in the 3rd century, with dozens of ‘books’ excluded for one reason or another. Written in Aramaic, translated into Hebrew, then Greek, Latin and into old English under the direction of King James 1 and probably rewritten by Francis Bacon. Of course there are the different versions since then. Vector in the different offshoots of various groups who base their whole belief system on one or two lines, taken out of context and the whole world is ripe for the plucking. I watched an interview with a Holocaust survivor the other night. He’s 91 and has put his past into art. Now he reckons he still believes in god and it’s a miracle that he survived. But what does that say about the millions who died? Is he so special that those people had to die to reinforce his belief? I share your concern about what is happening in Europe, actually all over the world. It’s as if nobody learned from WW2. It’s depressing. If only we could start a hugathon, stretching around the world so people realised we’re all human, irrespective of beliefs.
        I figured that seeing there wasn’t a diary this week you would be sick, I also know your breathing isn’t too good. Yes it works from here. -) Hugs back at ya David. Keep well.

      • Again Laurie, nothing I can argue with.Mike’s Dad is in his mid eighties and is a survivor of one of the camps in Poland. All the family property taken away, he lost his parents and his sister plus aunts and uncles. There was nothing left to go back to after the war as someone else had the property. He has survivor guilt all the time, wondering why he should survive and no-one else.I think belief in God is much more ingrained in the Jewish mind.
        What I have trouble believing is the Christians who fell for Mormonism and Jehovah’s Witnesses with their odd and very late starts.
        I tried once before to start a Hugs Around the World using people I had in various Countries but the reception was luke warm. I couldn’t get the backing of Students via their Student Unions which would have helped. I just wanted to bring people together. Now of course I worry that they’re coming together under Naziism instead.
        You’re right that the idea of no diary was a result of feeling below par and almost a spirit of disinterest in carrying on. But I found myself doing it anyway so if I manage to continue until Saturday there will be a diary blog as usual.Yesterdays was a struggle after being out and coming back to so many messages that seemed endless.My low spirits nearly threw it all in.
        Still, here I am this morning at 3.24 am back on the messages.
        Hugs back Laurie along with a request that you take care please.

      • I feel sorry for Mike’s dad, still feeling a sense of guilt after all this time just for surviving, it’s terrible. Even the Jews have offshoots David, well, Christianity for starters. Although their religion has been constant for thousands of years. No hugathons then? that’s sad, I imagine if it was for something more tangible they would have backed you. All those messages everyday would get me down. In the beginning I used to click, notify by email if any other remarks are made or whatever. It became so cumbersome I couldn’t keep up. Now I’m like a pigeon, I leave my mark and fly off. if anyone wants to interact then they reply direct. I tend not to get caught up in lengthy dialogues in chat areas which is why I don’t go to LinkedIn anymore. The pressure to be nice can pull you down. I’ve ended up with a chest infection this week and even opening the laptop is a strain. Your continuing good health is worth much more than anything David.
        Hugs
        Laurie.

      • I feel sorry for Dad too but apparently it’s a recognised thing and survivors of many disasters feel it.I’m guessing that the more religious feel the guilt more?
        There may be a time I’ll feel more confident about the reception off a ‘Hugathon’ and try it again, maybe there will be more support.Joking apart I honestly think the Buthidars had something to offer. There were people from a few fields to offer advice to those in trouble like someone being forced to enter an arranged marriage who didn’t want to.
        When I found ticking the ‘ notify me of comments’ box meant between 300-400 messages a day I soon stopped doing that.
        Now my lengthiest contact is via the blog or sometimes other peoples and via direct email where I can.
        I’m sorry to hear you’ve a chest infection Laurie.I hope you,ve got everything you need to help you get over it quickly so it can’t linger. Please take care of yourself. Don’t bother with the laptop or anything if it’s a strain.
        My good health is immaterial I think as I’ve done all I promised to do and no-one has a real need of me now.
        All the very best my friend.
        Hugs
        David

      • Yes, survivors guilt is quite common David, amongst the military, cancer survivors, all sorts of disasters I guess. One day for the hugathon, I’m sure someone will come to grips with it. 😉 I got onto the infection pretty quick. My doc gave me a script for some good antibiotics to keep on hand at the first sign of an infection. A bit negative there on your health and place in the world David. We have need of you, crikey who’s going to show us pics of Rueben growing up? I’ll take care me old china if you do, okay?
        Hugs Laurie.

      • Chwarae teg Laurie. 😀

      • Diolch David, hugs i chi. 😉

  11. Oops, the first part of your post about transgender folk. I was friends for quite a while with a man/woman, they were halfway through their change. What a strong personality she had, didn’t care what people thought and lived quite openly as a woman. I remember going to a local shooting range one day to test fire an old German Mauser rifle I’d bought. I saw what I took to be a very large woman in the next booth, imagine my surprise when ‘she’ turned around. Yep, a bloke and sporting a huge beard, wearing a floral mu mu, sandals and holding a semi-automatic rifle. I found out that he’d made it himself and loved shooting it. We had a great yak and not once did we mention how he was dressed. He seemed very happy with himself and how he looked to the world at large. So if he can accept himself then others should be able to as well.
    Hugs again.

    • Again Laurie you say just the right things. I’ve also had to converse with a man in a dress who was bearded. I never found out if he was a transvestite or transgender, though probably the former. Whatever he was he did no harm to anybody and seemed quite comfortable as he was. I saw no problem with him even though he didn’t have the figure to carry it off. People are people. I like the nice ones who do no harm, the rest I can’t be bothered with.
      Another Hug mate.

      • It takes you aback a little at first David, you get used to the beard being there, then you just go on as normal. It’s amazing how society condemns those who stray from the herd, those who just want to be different. I figured with the bloke at the range that anyone who could manufacture his own firearms wouldn’t be the type to take the mickey out of. People are people David and as you say, stick with the nice ones.
        Hugs,
        Laurie.

      • 😀 All my very best to you Laurie. Hugs

  12. Congrats on the award! 🙂 I’m jealous of those with 1000s of followers too.

  13. In honour of your award, I’m toasting you now with a glass of vino blanco – sorry it’s not cava 😦 but this was all I had in the fridge. David, you are wonderful. You brighten our days, make us laugh and smile and tell it how it is! Here’s to YOU! Congratulations and well deserved. Victorious and Glorious HUGS to you XXXXXXXXX

    • Heck, I wish I’d been in earlier I might have grabbed a glass full. Thank you more times than I can say it for being so kind. Those are all the things I’d like to be along with clean rich ( not filthy), back at the writing again, and good enough looking to attract some female attention. OK, I’d settle for the rich just now but I’d share it.
      xxx Sending you both Gigantic Hugs from Wales xxx.

  14. Hi, David. I’m having a terrible time getting WordPress to work for me today, so I won’t get in as many blog visits as I’d hoped. I sure hope this comment posts, most of mine today haven’t. 😦 But here’s some giant hugs for you just in case this actually takes. ((((((HUGS)))))) 🙂

    • It came through fine Elizabeth. The hugs were delivered and very welcome too as I’m feeling sorry for myself with a mouth ulcer. They’ll make me feel much better thanks.
      xxx Hugs Galore to you xxx

  15. Congratulations on a well-deserved award.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

    • Thanks so very much Margaret. It would maybe be better to find someone who really reaches out and influences people but I’ll take it and try harder.
      xxx Massive Hugs xxx

  16. Thank you for always finding the time to share my work, you have a great spirit and that means a lot that you would take the time to include my blog. Hugs and the highest award goes to you and all that you do for others. Much respect and thanks again. Silent

    • That’s very kind of you Silent considering how much you put into giving others. It’s a pleasure to retweet your work.Maybe between us we can make this world livable.
      xxx Hugs Galore xxx
      David

      • I always heard that “you cannot police the world”, I say yes we can, that’s why the Lord invented social media. I am with you. Hugs

      • That’s wonderful to know. Maybe we can do it after all. We’ll make sure the Hugs spread the world since you can’t hug properly with a weapon in your hand.Peace begins with love.
        xxx Gigantic Hugs xxx

Leave a Reply

