Warnings.

Much as I make light of the email con merchants I come across they do pose a real threat to certain  vulnerable sections of our society.  I shall keep making mention of those as they crop up but today there are some more I need to mention that are not coming via emails and are therefore hitting people directly in their own homes.

Mike returned from a trip to his father quite angry that he’d spent £180 over the telephone using a credit card with nothing to show for it. Worse still  because of his age he’s no memory of doing it. I know here is a scam out there that tells people they’ve won the Canadian lottery but there are fees to transfer it to an English bank account. I don’t know if that’s what’s happened here but if you have anyone in a vulnerable situation I suggest you speak to the phone company to see if they can monitor calls or if you can bar calls except to family members.

The other scam is coming in the post. It’s a letter from a Company in Holland which offers shares in a lottery in return for a cheque and more importantly for all bank details. Mike was lucky to catch this one before it went but his father thinks it’s a blight on his liberty to have these things stopped. He can’t see that they’re cons and doesn’t understand that we have access to the information about these cons online.

We tend to think that we can protect our families but it’s getting harder.  If you have someone in a vulnerable position, maybe you can think if there’s any way these evil people can get to them and their funds and prevent it in advance. Maybe ensure they have no access to a credit card unless you’re around or just an out of date one?

Good Luck.

51 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

51 responses to “Warnings.

  1. They prey on the vulnerable, don’t they? An excellent warning, David.

  2. It’s really sad that there are such a limitless number of people who just can’t wait to take advantage of or harm another. Slime-balls.
    Thanks for this reminder, David. Mega-hugs. 🙂

  3. It is sad. These scams are becoming more and more sophisticated.

    • Such big business now Niamh but there must be a way to prevent them winning without being there all the time or removing the last vestiges of independence from our families.
      xxx Huge Hugs xxx

  4. Such deplorable criminals preying on the the vulnerable. Thank you for warning everyone David. My Dad fell prey to some scammers.

    • I’m sorry to hear that Suzanne. Even my father-in-law, a very intelligent man was taken in by their sophistication. No-one seems to realise if it looks too good to be true, it probably is.
      xxx Gigantic Hugs xxx

  5. Good idea for the heads up. Thanks. We need to be reminded as sometimes we get complacent. 🙂

  6. All of us need be aware and help take care of each other.
    We recently spent quite a bit of time helping our elderly neighbor who was conned by a young woman who came to his door and said she needed to earn money raking leaves and helping clean out his garage so her heat wouldn’t be turned off. He took sympathy on her, and she did good work. But after he wrote her check, while he went to close the garage door, she stole four random checks and then several days later duplicated his signature he’d signed on her check. He was so embarrassed and nervous. It took the backup and assurances of all of us, neighbors and family and friends, to be with him when he filed a report. The worst thing about these crimes is that they prey on the vulnerabilities and fears of the elderly who are afraid their family might move them out of their homes.
    The good news is that there are many elderly in our neighborhood still wanting to stay in their homes, too, and now they know all the neighbors will help them and the things to watch out for. The police also had a big meeting with them (we all came to be supportive, and many of their family members came to the meeting, too) and now they know they have backup don’t need to be shy to call for help.

    • A great idea Marylin to give community support. If we could get the elderly to ask a neighbour about mail they receive before parting with cash.
      Doorstep con are awful as it leaves people feeling more vulnerable ion their own home. I hope they caught the young lay in question?
      xxx Massive Hugs xxx

  7. Thanks for the reminder. I’m experiencing right now how vulnerable my mother-in-law is with her challenged memory. She’d be easily tricked. The nastiness of such scams gets me more than the money.
    What the world needs are more hugs!

    • I agree Christoph. This kind of scam is designed to catch the vulnerable and it leaves a nasty taste in your mouth that someone could do that. It proves these utter b*stards have no scruples. Yet no doubt many have families of their own.
      More hugs will make the world go round. I think they should be non-optional, at least 3 a day.
      xxx Massive Hugs xxx

  8. This is a big problem in the U.S. also. Both of our children have paper shredders so no important information can be taken from the trash and used in an illegal way. It’s very difficult to protect a vulnerable relative without disturbing them, but it must be done. My mother had Alzheimer’s, but she lived with us for about eight years and didn’t drive a car or own a credit card, so that didn’t cause a problem. Someone got ahold of my husband’s credit card and charged stuff. We had to alert the credit card company so they didn’t make us pay. There are all kinds of scams out there.

    • Far too many Suzanne but there are ways to combat them like your shedding machine.The only thing I can do at the moment is warn people when I hear of a new one, and remind them of the old ones.
      xxx Huge Hugs xxx

  9. Very timely warning, David. Seems I get these on a daily basis, either through mail or phone or email. The other day in the post I won 10,000 dollars and the fees to collect were $180. The phone calls are the worst though. They keep you chatting pleasantly about this and that, then ask how you’d spend the money and what preferences you choose for collecting the money before they ever get around to asking which credit card you’d like to use to pay the fees. I’ve never fallen prey to these scams, but I know people who have. Eric almost fell for one involving college students. They get you to volunteer to help people in a foreign country. You pay huge fees and they dump you there and leave you stranded. 😡
    Hugs to you, dear friend.

    • There are some evil ‘scrotes’ out there Elizabeth without a conscience between them. All we can do is be on our guard like you are. You’re right, they relax you on the phone until you don’t realise what you’re doing. I’m so glad you’ve never been caught. I’m glad you said ‘almost’ about Eric or that could have been very dangerous for him.
      Let’s hope Interpol catch them all.
      xxx Massive Hugs to you xxx

  10. A timely warning and well made.
    You may be wondering why I haven’t been commenting recently… well, it turns out that WordPress had somehow managed to stop me following your blog! All sorted now
    xxx hugs xxx

  11. Thanks David. Bad people have always been around but they just have many more ways to catch people up. 🙂

  12. There are so many scams. Sad but true, we have to be wary. Some of the many phone-based scams in the U.S. target older people. My mom has had some pretty strange phone calls — one even started with “I’m a friend of your son.” Since she doesn’t have a son, it was a bad opening, but it might have worked on another older lady.

    Both my mom and I have received a very curious call, “I’m calling to help you with your PC. It’s been hacked and I can help you fix it…” I can’t help but wonder how many people, already feeling vulnerable to hackers, fall for this scam. Fortunately my 87-year-old mom is not easily fooled.

    • ( When she was alive) Ju had a very long conversation with a gentleman from India who introduced himself as someone Microsoft had referred our computer crashes too. Since we’d had a few at that time he sounded reasonable until he started talking fortunes to repair. The we found it was also a premium phone service we were being charged. We soon got that overturned. They are devious and If one call in ten is lucky they make a fortune.
      I’m glad your Mom is not easily fooled too, he almost had us.
      xxx Happy New Year Candy and Huge Hugs xxx

  13. Thanks David, shared on Twitter, Facebook and Google+ 🙂

  14. Reblogged this on Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life and commented:
    A warning from David Prosser about watching out for scam artists. Not just for ourselves but if we have a relative perhaps who is vulnerable or might inadvertantly be taken in. I came home one evening to find my mother had changed her gas and electric contract with a very nice young man who came in and sat with for an hour… Thankfully there was a cooling off period although the sales director I finally got through to had a thorough roasting. But if I had not checked the 15 days would have gone by and my mother would have had the mess of Direct Debits not set up, higher bills and possible loss of her utilities through non-payment.. Older people do like to be independent but they are also at the mercy of the slick and unspeakable. Thanks David for posting – a very good reminder.

  15. Thanks, David, for the warning…the bad and the ugly!!! We can never be too careful… Wishing you well in 2015.

  16. No more love than from YOU, David. Please visit my site: http://kimgosselinblog.com/

  17. Very kind of you to warn people. It’s so easy to get caught in some of these, even if you are an experienced media person, as the scams get more and more sophisticated. Best to you, too. xx

    • Thanks so much Ardys. You’re quite right, no-one is immune from the scammers because in many instances they’re so believable. Even experienced people can be caught off guard.Hopefully forewarned is forearmed.
      xxx Huge Hugs xxx

  18. Reblogged this on chrllrobb and commented:
    It is so sad to know that people do these kinds of things. Especially to the elderly. Makes me mad. Go get a real job and earn your money honestly!

  19. I recently put a blog entitled SCAM! SCAM! SCAM! about a con-artist that caught Freelancers on the internet. I also notice you have a daffodil advertising ‘Welsh Blogger.’ Although I’m not Welsh, I lived in Wales for many years. My last home was Fishguard, Pembrokeshire, before I moved to Spain 14 years ago. In two of my books ‘Fallyn and the Dragons,’ ‘Fallyn and the Sea Dragons’ I mention Pembrokeshire. I had to put phonetic spelling for some Welsh word, ie. Cwm-yr-Eglwys, ‘Cum-er-Eglus. Go to https://www.amazon.com/author/kjrollinson for all my books.

    • I’ve seen your scam warning and it’s a very timely one. I suppose people will target whoever they think they can get away with. Perhaps interpol would be interested in a scam like that where an unauthorised amount is taken from a bank account.
      I’d be happy to say you’re honorary Welsh for the time you spent living here, and the books sound very good too despite making the Welsh easy for the reader using phonetic spelling.
      xxx Huge Hugs xxx

  20. It’s getting worse. We had one on the phone the other day claiming to be from the government and they had identified we had paid bank fees that were illegal and were refunding them. It got the Garden Gnome going for quite a while and a couple of phone calls went back and forth (I wasn’t home) until they told him he had to go to the post office to get a Western Union money transfer. It was then that the penny dropped and he hung up.
    We also get the ones who tell us that they are from Microsoft and there is a problem with the computer in our home. I laughed one night because I had just got off the phone with a Dell rep who had just completed a scan on mine and declared it fine when the phone rang and it was someone telling me there was a problem with my computer.
    People have no morals these days.

    • None at all. If they think they can make easy money from someone -they will. The fact that it might be someone,elderly, disabled or vulnerable in other ways means nothing at all to them.
      I’m glad you mentioned the first scam as It’s a new one on me and no doubt people will be interested and forewarned thanks to you.
      xxx Gigantic Hugs xxx

  21. Hi David,
    Thank you and well done for sharing this. I think more people need to understand and know the different ways these horrible scams work. Its terrible how people could get caught out because some of the wording is so clever and unless you know about then you really could go along with it. Especially promising money. They make me so mad, just horrible people.
    Again thank you for sharing,
    Take care,
    Kim

  22. Just got back from the Moon and found this. Big hugs to Mike. Tell him we can only do the best we can. 😦

  23. It’s such a shame that vulnerable people are preyed upon.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

  24. Thanks for the warning, David. My parents were almost caught up in one of these scams. There are some cold and ruthless people out there. 😦

    • I’m sorry to hear that Vashti, I’m glad it was only ‘nearly’ caught. You’re right, some people out there have no conscience at all. There’s them and there’s victims in their eyes.
      xxx Gigantic Hugs xxx

  25. My mum had power of attorney with my gran and had to take her card off her and literally only give her the money she needed for things as and when she needed it. In one way we were lucky in that she got so deaf when anyone rung she couldn’t hear them anyway and would just hang up but a couple of times people tried to get her to sign up for new windows and doors but soon disappeared when she mentioned my mum had her card and had to authorise any spending.
    It is so sad that we have to take these steps the more vulnerable in society but necessary.

    xxxhuge hugs xxxx

    P.s nearly emptied my inbox now after it being overflowing for years lol

    • It’s a huge shame that someone would prefer to live by theft this way than do a day’s work. And you’re right, it’s always the vulnerable. I think your mum took a good precaution, Yvonne keeps trying to stop me spending that way.
      Well done on emptying your box, when are you coming to do mine.
      xxx Gigantic Hugs xxx

Leave a Reply

