FREEDOM!! & Friday Cinderella.

Sunday July 19th 2015

3.34 am this morning. I was awake and couldn’t go back to sleep but didn’t feel as though I should be awake yet. As I went to the loo I could see Mike was OK. Light on, fan going and piledriver snore working at full capacity. At least I knew it wasn’t an earthquake. I set to work on my emails and checking comments from this week’s blog. I just kept going steadily. I finished the first mail box at 6.10 am and went to the kitchen to take my meds. It had been raining hard throughout the night and had eased off at that time. It was fairly light but when I spoke to Joey he wasn’t interested. I’m bloody sure Mike trained him to stay in bed to irritate me before he brought him here. I took my coffee back to the bedroom and started the second mail box and refreshed the first. By 7.40 am I was clear on both. A quick look at ebay but the feeling I shouldn’t be awake yet reasserted itself. I took my cup through to the kitchen and settled in my chair in the lounge. Joey still wasn’t fully up but did at least move a shelf lower.
I kept talking to Joey but he wasn’t wasting his words this morning. He did cock his head to show he was listening though. I shut my eyes and drifted away.I wasn’t asleep and I did hear Mike get up and come through to put the kettle on. He didn’t speak, thinking I was asleep which was nice of him but I couldn’t rouse myself to show him I was awake either. This went on for a while until finally I was able to open my eyes and say hello to him. Joey started and we were both concentrating on him for a while. I kept wanting to blank out again but didn’t.

We checked Jen would be in this morning so we could drop off her birthday present. She would so at 9.45 am we got dressed and left at 10.00 am. When we got there Lee invited us in and made a drink while Jen was feeding  the baby. When she came down it was obvious how much he’s grown though he’s still a small baby and he has a delightful smile. We actually stayed a good while though I hadn’t wanted to disturb them really. But, eventually we headed off to Broughton to see if I could find a glass vase to sit inside the hurricane lamp stand that MuJo had bought me which had had the accident. I chose one which came quite close and it looks fine now. I also had a birthday gift to buy so we went to a couple of shops till I found what I wanted. By then it was almost 1.30 pm and I was hungry. Lunch beckoned. We went to the pub we generally use if we’re here. Mike swore he’d stay away from the mashed potato he says are always powdery then promptly ordered a roast lamb steak dinner with mash. I had my usual bangers and mash though had to contend with four roast potatoes a stuffing ball and a Yorkshire Pudding Mike dumped on me that he says he’d never manage.It was nice though.Coming out it was almost 3.00 pm and we headed for home. I caught myself nodding in the car.

Usually when I get in the first thing I do is go to work. Today I sat in my chair and zonked.It was almost 6.00 pm when I woke (reluctantly) and Mike was ready to leave. When I’d waved him off I did go to work and stayed there till 8.15 pm when I had to have my tea. Joey was back on his top perch again so wasn’t answering any chatter. I ate my tea, watched a documentary about a newly discovered 17thC burial ground in London, washed up and went back to work. I’m still at it. The emails I finished at 10.40 pm and then started the blog. I hope it’s not going to be like this all week.

Monday.

A 3.11 am start with a low scream from my bladder that it was time to move a bit faster than usual.  I made it but not with much to spare. The sigh of relief sounded like a breeze blowing through the place. I came back and fired up the computer and started responding to all the emails from those who have day while I have night. I intended to stay on top of things today. At 5.30 I went through and took the morning meds and found I’d forgotten to take last night’s. None of you reminded me did you? Since it was still fairly early, and what Mike would call the middle of the night I was half tempted to take them there and then. Only the fact I have problems enough kipping after lunch put me off. I took the opportunity to sit down by the cage and talk to Joey even though I knew he wouldn’t talk back or even come down from his high perch at this time. Mind you, once I’d been ignored enough I took my coffee through and carried on working.

By 7.25 am I was as up to date as it’s possible to get without creating tweets or new blogs of my  own. I decided against doing that and went through to the lounge instead. Joey had come down to the mid perch and was hanging upside down trying to get the last bits of millet off the sprig. I swear he’s part bat. He talks to me or rather sings to me when I sit in my chair but stops the minute I sit near the cage. I sat with my hand inside for a while but he wasn’t going to get that close. Next time I’m going to try putting some millet on it and see what happens. Either that or I’ll have to try opening the cage door so he can fly out and hope he chooses to land on me at some point or goes back into his cage to eat/drink when he wants it. I want to see as little progress and I hate seeing him stuck in the cage.

At 9.00 am I took a walk to the chemist’s to deliver my prescription request. It didn’t take long as I managed to avoid the temptation of going into Pauline’s for a chips and curry sauce and some packets of jelly beans which are very addictive. Neither are good for you. Back in the house I worked till 10.00 am then watched Homes Under the Hammer while Joey alternated between singing for me and giving me a telling off. I came close to nodding off a couple of times but he put paid to that. I have to make sure it doesn’t happen at 1.00 pm today as I have bids in for something on ebay. At 11.00 am I went back to work again while waiting for the warden to visit. She arrived about 11.20 am and stayed until midday. Joey had decided to be very vocal during her visit so he got plenty of compliments. If I’d known that being noisy was all it took I’d have tried it years ago. As soon as she’d gone I set about making my lunch which today was a corned beef hash followed by a strawberry jelly I’d made yesterday accompanied with evaporated milk. There was half a large punnet of strawberries in it because I couldn’t eat them over he weekend and Mike wouldn’t have his share without me eating in case I used this blog as a platform to make him sound a pig. As if Michael !! Once Bargain Hunt was over I dashed back to my room to bid on ebay something due at  1.02 pm. I won it by my bidding in the last ten seconds. I stayed here till 2.15 pm catching up and then went back to see Who Do You Think You Are only to find it’s one I’ve seen recently.

A little distracted by a few chirrups from Joey when I tried to close my eyes I decided to risk opening the front of his cage and letting him out. He didn’t waste any time. He flew straight out, ignoring the hand I proffered as a staging post. He was zipping back and forth trying to part my hair until he spied the big mirror. Flying towards it he met himself coming the other way and like a cartoon he splatted against the glass and slid down it. Shock sent him flying again until he rested on top of a large canvas on Ju and myself on the wall.  Moments later he was off again and flying towards the mirror.Sometimes landing on top of it which was fine and sometimes landing on the lower frame so he could talk to his reflection and tap beaks with himself. It went on all afternoon. I did nod off for a few minutes and during that time he went back into the cage. As I woke I went to close the cage but before I got there he was off again. I tried getting out a spray of his millet and holding it out for him to land on my hand to eat but that didn’t work so I just put it in place of the stripped bare one in the cage. I had to leave the room for a while to bring the mail up to date but I returned there in time for my 5.00 pm quiz.

I stayed in the lounge until 10.00 pm trying during the adverts to persuade Joey to return to the cage. Not that he understood me of course but you always live in hope. At one point he landed on the cage and I thought he might go in but the thought of talking to the bird that mimicked him in the mirror proved too strong. When I decided I couldn’t carry on climbing all over the furniture and didn’t want to risk scaring him, I turned a lamp on and left him. What he might do to himself in the dark was worrying. I’ll stick my head in from time to time as long as I’m awake and if I find he’s gone to eat or drink I’ll try and lock him in until I get back tomorrow.But at 10.00 pm I had no choice but to come back to my room to try and get the post up to date so there isn’t too much in the morning, and I need to do the blog as well. I have the feeling this may be a late one.

To eat or not to eat? Before the squiggle gets them.

To eat or not to eat? Before the squiggle gets them.

The smiley duck.

The smiley duck.

Tuesday.

I seemed to stare at the clock for a long time this morning trying to make sense of 3.12 am. I knew it couldn’t be three minutes past twelve as I was awake later than that last night but try as I might,I couldn’t seem to find a logical way of deciphering the time from that combination.It’s really odd because I’d mastered the very difficult concept of 3.11 am yesterday with no bother. Perhaps 3.12 am is advanced mathematics at my age. In actual fact it took turning my bedside light on for me to see the light despite the time being displayed on the clock in large numerals which are lit up in bright blue. As soon as that light was on I understood the great mysteries of time. I was able to swing my legs out of bed and make my way to the Piddle Palace before it was too late.

There was much more post from last night than I expected and it took a while to do it before I could start work on today’s. Because I was going out I didn’t want to be in a rush so worked till 5.30 am before going through to take my meds ( and yes, I found last night’s still there again) and also to have some breakfast which today was Cornflakes.I stood in the doorway between the kitchen and the lounge to eat them watching Joey. Perhaps I hoped he’d become one of his predecessors and come to help himself but he didn’t move. I just hope he moves into the cage as it becomes light enough. I’ll have to learn to take my time with him in future. I grabbed a coffee and took it back to the bedroom. It had gone 6.00 am so I started back in on the mail. I intended to have both boxes empty by the time I came to leave the house at 7.30 am though I knew I’d be back to screaming pitch by the time I came home at 1.00 pm. Mike keeps trying to remind me that this is supposed to be a hobby, be fun, but sometimes it doesn’t seem like that. It feels like a job and I have deadlines even if I set them myself. It’s like I have one of those compulsive personalities I used to laugh about saying “Me? no way.”

I was clear to leave at 7.30 am and walked up towards the bus stop via the post box so I could send for an explanation in writing of all the hassle I’ve had from the DWP. I may not be in time to appeal this debt from 2013 but I want to know why they’ve done nothing about it before now, that’s if his isn’t another fictitious debt. I wasn’t at the bus stop long before the bus arrived and I was the only passenger at that point. Great, I sat back with my eyes closed and started to doze. I didn’t wake up kicking the seat in front this week though, Yay, no bruising. Yvonne and Reuben were waiting for me in Chester. Reuben pointed and smiled at me then like someone had turned the light out suddenly frowned and glared at me. I thought I was in trouble but the cloud passed thankfully. We went to our usual store and Reuben pressed the lift buttons then galloped away and parked his bottom on our usual chairs. Just as well no-one else was at the table. We all had drinks and breakfast even though I’d had mine much earlier. From there we had a look round because Roobs needed some new jogging bottoms and Yvonne needed some maternity wear. I was able to pick up a couple of things for Ugo too. Then we had our usual fight as I grabbed everything off her, including her credit card, and with the help of the saleswoman, paid for the items. I’ve never known anyone fight so hard not to have prezzies.

We left there in search of more maternity clothing but I wasn’t allowed anywhere near the counter thereafter on pain of death. Time seemed to be doing OK so we strolled back uptown and decided to go for a cool drink. The cafe is in the rear of a shop so there was time to look at things as we went through and I found some nice gifts for the nieces which I said I’d get on the way out. While we were enjoying the drinks Reuben was walking round close by and spotted a ride on machine. He noticed that just as I noticed my bus was due.  I tried to say goodbye and run but Yvonne insisted they’d see me off ( probably to make sure I really left) and called Reuben to come.  Once he realised his ride was at risk the siren started until Yvonne said she’d bring him back after he’d said goodbye to pops. That sort of mollified him. I had to fly past the gifts but Yvonne promised she’d pick them up for me. I was in time. I had my kisses goodbye and boarded the bus as Yvonne took Reuben back for a ride of the Fire Truck. The journey home was pretty good but I couldn’t call in at Pauline’s as I was full of cool drink I hadn’t had chance to rid myself of. I’m sure Yvonne predicted that.

At home Joey was still in position on the mirror and I could see he’d been licking his reflection again. I lifted my arm to try to tempt him but all he did was fly over to the canvas picture again, then back as soon as I put my arm down. I left him to it and went to make my lunch. Beef stew with dumplings today. Once finished I went to play a little catch-up with the mail for a while . I was interrupted by a knock at the door and it was the delivery of my drugs for which I exchanged a box of chocolates. A few minutes later another knock and this time it proved to be the annual check on my heating system and gas services. I wasn’t expecting it for another two weeks at least so the airing cupboard where the heater lives wasn’t empty. The young man said no problem, he’d move whatever was needed. And, he’d move the stuff in my little pit to access the gas meter. Brilliant, I could get back to trying to entice Joey into his cage ( and maybe watch Escape to the Country at the same time). I had no luck with Joey but the young man was a s good as his word. After three quarters of an hour he came to get a signature and told me that the vent in the loft was showing some light where the plate met the roof. it would need someone to come and repair it. I thanked him and he left. I went back to work and had no sooner sat down than yet another knock. This time it was Bert with a parcel that had been delivered. It would have gone through the door it was so small but needed to be signed for. I thanked him and opened the envelope to see the ring I’d bid for and won. It fit my pinkie and replaced the one that had flown off and not found when I removed my glove.

After Bert had gone I went through to the lounge to watch something and while I was sitting there I saw Joey come off the mirror and land on the cage. He did it a couple of times to taunt me and then finally went in to savage the millet spray. I made as if to leave the room then slipped behind Joey and shut the cage door. At last ! It’s been over 24 hours. I didn’t even get a telling off really but only because his mouth (beak) was full. I stayed in the lounge until 8.15 pm. It should have been 8.00 pm but I’d nodded off and when I woke didn’t realise it was a different programme I was watching until I caught on that there weren’t any antiques. I turned the TV off just as Joey chunnered at me and I swear he was trying to speak. Nothing sensible of course, just the same rubbish I keep repeating to him. Joey Joey Joey, best, best boy. I was chuffed, though of course I could be deluding myself this early in the game. I came back through to the bedroom and started to attack the mail. A text came through on my phone to see if MuJo could visit tomorrow so I need to clear everything I can so there’s no big backlog in the morning. Oh, a miracle, I remembered to take my drugs tonight too.

Pensive pose.

Pensive pose.

In control.

In control.

Wednesday.

When I woke this morning I went straight to the loo then came back and put my dressing gown on, loaded the pockets with sprays, cigs etc then turned to fire up the computer. It was only then I actually noticed the time, 1.18 am. Since my light had only gone out at 12.45 am it didn’t seem I was getting a fair crack of the whip.I yawned, took the dressing gown off and fell back into bed. My next wake up call was 4.23 am which seemed miles better. I did the loo trip again, and again donned the dressing gown, loaded the pockets and powered up the computer. No yawns. I worked on mail until 6.00 am and then went for some breakfast and to take the morning meds. Somehow I managed to miss this mouth with the first batch and ended up chasing them round the kitchen floor. I had to hurry as I didn’t want to find any spaced out field mice tottering round the kitchen later.No worries, as they say in Oz, I managed to find them all including a bonus two lost on previous occasions.

After my breakfast I went to wash the excess butter off my moustache in case I slid off Muriel’s cheek later. Then it was back to work, starting with a re-blog of another authors work. Sometimes it’s nice to feature someone else on the blog. I carried on working until 7.25 am  when the post was (temporarily) up to date and I was able to go through to the lounge to talk to Joey. I might just have closed my eyes for a minute or two as well. At 9.00 am I went to Pauline’s, no Mother’s Mafia now the kids are on holiday. I picked up my TV mag, some micro chips,a micro chips with curry sauce,some bread and a supply of cigarettes. She has a great selection of things in there. Back at home I cleared the post again, had a look at ebay and then went and sat with Joey until MuJo arrived.That happened at 11.00 am. I brought drinks in and we chatted for a while before heading out. Muriel needed the post office in Holywell so we went to the chippy for lunch. It was quite pleasant and it’s always quick and hot there. When we came out it was raining so it was back to the car without wandering.

We drove to Flint where Muriel wanted ALDI. I managed to pick up some nice gerberas to pad out Ju’s vase. They looked nice and bright in there. We headed for Temptations where we parked up and walked over to Homies so I could pick up some chocolates for the girls and a couple of other things. In Temptations I passed the chocs to Sian who was looking forward to trying them as she hadn’t seen them before. We sat and had our drinks and in John’s case a cake as big as a side plate too. I finished and went outside for a cigarette while they finished off. When they joined me we went round a couple more shops. I saw a nice freezer and a lovely TV in one. We came home. They stayed with me until about 4.00 pm then left to make their one hour journey back home to Ty Nant. I came through and started to whittle down the mail but I didn’t have as long as I though as Dil turned up about 4.45 pm. I went to make him a cuppa and we sat chatting until the quiz Pointless started. We were both answering questions as it went along. At 6.00 pm the TV went off and the gaming commenced. As usual it was Yahtzee first and that ended unsatisfactorily at 3 games each, rather than move on I suggested we play again which was a huge mistake since I lost 4-2 . I’m having an operation tomorrow to remove my foot from my mouth. Then we went on to Trivial Pursuits. It was a strange game with Dil getting 4 pieces of pie before I had my first but me reaching the full six while he was still on 4. I worked my way round until I could try to return to the middle but the die kept moving me anywhere but. For ages I was always a place or two beyond the middle. When Dil got his sixth piece of pie he started doing the same thing and getting the same result. Eventually at 9.20 pm I managed to get to the middle and Dil picked the card and looked for a question to ask me. I expected sports as I’m lousy on that subject but he chose an entertainment one which I got. As it happens I would have got the sports one as well but there were two on the card I wouldn’t have got. I didn’t care since I’d won and we were honours even tonight.

Dil left at 9.30 pm and I did my usual quick tidy up, washed the pots and took my meds. I had a quick natter to Joey who was settling down for the night and then came through to work. It’s been hard going as the mail took until 11.05 pm and I couldn’t start the blog until then. It’s almost midnight and I’m anxious to get to my bed.

Thursday.

I got up because I didn’t have a choice. It was either that or wet the bed. I wasn’t thrilled as the clock read (I thought ) 3.26 am but I was up. After the loo I nipped into the lounge just to make sure Joey was OK on his perch though I didn’t go close enough to scare him as I didn’t want him trying to fly inside the cage in the dark. All seemed fine so I left him sleeping and came through to turn the computer on. Damn me but she had a headache again. I powered up and just glanced at the clock which now read 2.36 am. I started working on my emails and was doing alright up until I fell asleep over the keyboard. I stayed sitting upright but my chin must have been on my chest because when I woke up at 4.03 am I had neck ache. What was on screen I didn’t remember working on as I thought I’d dealt with that one before. I checked the sent box and came away sighing with relief. I hadn’t sent any messages out in a code no-one would understand, including me. By 5.38 am both mail boxes were up to date, though I knew that state of affairs wouldn’t last long. I decided to go through and take my meds and have some breakfast.

I had toast for breakfast. Cold and slathered with butter which tasted faintly of the strawberry jelly I’d had in the fridge earlier in the week. Once done I took my coffee top the lounge and sat talking to Joey while I drank it. He wasn’t very vocal this morning. I’m going to risk releasing him today again to see if he’ll come anywhere near me rather than just finding a high perch to settle on. I returned to work until 9.00 am when I took a walk to Pauline’s to get some milk and my lottery tickets. Back at home I unpacked and then went through to the lounge and opened the front of the cage. He didn’t need telling twice. As he perched atop the mirror I cleaned his cage out and renewed his seed and water. There was ( somehow) still a little of his favourite food left so I didn’t change it then. I was in and out all morning keeping an eye on my mail and on Joey. He was pretty good and returned t the cage twice on his own. I left the door open for him. It was on the second of his returns that I noticed he finished the spray of millet and I chose that time to stick my hand in to get the old one out. Stupid!! I must have moved too fast and panicked him. He fluttered around the cage ( and I still carried on) and eventually came out like a bullet. I put the new millet in hoping it will get him back in again later so I can close the cage for the night.

I had lunch at 12.00 pm and talked to Joey throughout. He gave me a right bollocking so maybe he objects to conversation while I’m eating. After lunch I had an apple and cut a piece off for Joey. So far he hasn’t shown any enthusiasm for things like that. When Bargain Hunt finished I came back to the mail again. It doesn’t take long to mount up. I could hear Joey talking or maybe shouting and stopped dealing with the mail and left the work till later. When I went back through he stopped. I think he does enjoy the company and the chatter even if he’s not ready to respond to it yet. Given time I think we’ll be OK. Around 3.00 pm I had a text from Mike to say his Dad’s in hospital again. They want to check why his antibiotics aren’t working on his chest infection.It’s very awkward for Mike as he’s with his grandchildren at the moment and will be until at least 6.00 pm, possibly later. Then he needs to drive to his own place to pick things up before he comes up. It could be tomorrow before he gets to the hospital. I hope this isn’t going to mess up his chances of signing for the new place. After that Joey went back to his cage but I left the door open for him and returned to work where I stayed, nose to grindstone until 4.00 pm when I sort of declared a local holiday.

The holiday lasted until 7.00 pm when I found the BBC had removed my antiques show yet again, this time to record a flower show, and not the Chelsea one either. I suppose it was a prompt to leave Joey and the TV behind and do some work  but I can tell you I wasn’t a happy bunny until I saw that there was a DIY SOS Big Build on at 8.00 pm. I would have to work hard for the hour until that was on. Just before I went back through to get my eyes squared again I got a text from Mike to say he was on his way. I expect him about 10.30 pm depending upon the traffic. Last week he did the journey in two hours, his best time ever and I bet he wasn’t legal once in the whole journey unless he was at traffic lights, and even then………                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        I defy anyone to come away from Big Build with dry eyes but I left the lounge in case Joey saw me and took me for a soft touch. You know the kind of thing, pleading poverty just to get some extra millet. I spent an hour catching up on mail so that I could go through at 10.00 pm to wait for Mike and have all the stuff ready in his mug for him. Once I’d said my hellos and made his drink and checked out his week I knew I’d have to excuse myself to do the blog. . I know Mike’s Dad is back in hospital again so I want the full story. Mike arrived at 9.55 pm and I asked him where he’d parked the jet and whether he’d used it in stealth mode to get past the police. I’m not sure why but he said he sensed some sarcasm. No sh*t Sherlock. I got his drink and we nattered till 11.30 pm after which I had to come through again.

Friday.

After I’d sat at the computer Mike came through as I was selecting the music for last night. He stayed to listen to it and to a few more tracks while I applied the steroid cream to my leg. It was therefore midnight before he left and before I could get back on the computer. It was just after 12.30 am when I was able to close down and go to bed. I was tired. There was still time for a read though and I managed a chapter and a half before my eyes and brain refused to co-operate. That took me to 1.05 am and the light went out. My lights didn’t come back on until 4.43 am this morning so I slept for over 3 hours, miraculous. A visit to Looville then I fired up the computer and started again. I worked till 6.00 am then went to take my meds and being Friday, renew all the meds in my tablet case. It was only when I finished that I decided to have breakfast this morning and took the pre-foodie pill. A bowl of Ricicles with real sugar was a treat. It was 7.00 am before I got back to work but all I managed were the urgent ones as I started to yawn. Thinking I’d get a sleep.  I returned to my chair in the lounge.,I came close a few times. The room itself didn’t seem conducive to a sleep without the TV so on it went and I tried to nod to a background of some wonderful classical music ( mainly adverts). That made things easier but Joey doesn’t like the display of pigeon without the display of human to be lacking in case he wants to tell you off. Every time I looked like dropping off there he was ,full voice to stop me. I soon gave up and started watching the TV that was playing. As soon as that happened I dropped off. I woke at 9.00 pm when I heard Mike turn the kettle on. I must have been out for seconds as the TV hadn’t moved on much and Mike had only just come out. Disgustingly I stayed watching until 11.00 am before getting dressed. Mike stopped about 10.45 pm and went to get dressed and take a phone call.I went back to work ans Mike went off to Manchester to see his Dad.

At 12.00 I made lunch then sat with it while I watched Bargain Hunt. Both teams made a healthy profit at auction. Joey was showing what a crosspatch he is by head butting his rival in the mirror which is now covered with budgie saliva. He went back in his cage but I overcame the temptation to lock him in, as it’s my own insecurities I’m dealing with, not his. Work beckoned so off I went. During the afternoon Mike texted to say he’s be late as he was taking his Dad home from hospital. That’s a good sign. I worked until 3.30 pm when the eyes started to close and went through. Joey was quieter and let me nod off but alas not for long. By 4.05 pm I was awake again and having to repeat through gritted teeth what a good boy he was. Mike sent another text at 6.00 pm to say he was on his way.To be honest I didn’t bother going back through and started watching the TV. I was still there at 7.00 pm when it was time to close the TV and go for a shower. Hellfire, I tried to stand and my foot hurt. More one particular toe than the whole foot at first. I managed to get to the bedroom to get my change of clothes and prepare my washing then went for a shower. I had to sit down and like all cowards I approached that gingerly in case the seat was cold. Shower finished I dressed in my Animal lounge pants and went back to the lounge.

Mike arrived back at 7.50 pm ish while I was watching a fascinating programme about our Coast which just happened to be covering the stretch from Holyhead to the Wirral. The next was on the Vikings and as a history one was of interest to us both. Mike quickly told me how the day had gone, I made him a drink and something to eat and we enjoyed the Vikings together.Time moved on to 9.00 pm and I was able to come through for an hour to skip through some mail but I was expected back for a programme at 10.00 pm. I was struggling for time but it was about to get worse when we fond that the programme we’d just watched had another episode on straight after. Aaargghh. It was midnight before we determined the box had to go off and we had to go to bed. At least Mike could go to bed but I had work to do in the shape of the blog. Emails could wait till the morning. Now I’m not even sure I’ll have the time to read and heaven knows what time I’ll get up for shopping.It would be funny if Mike made it before I did,

Saturday.

Despite the lateness of the hour last night ( this morning) and like Cinderella having to run from the ball at midnight I still managed a small read after the blog was done. It was more a case of settling my mind down for sleep really. When I woke I glanced at the clock and found it to be 2.54 am. Much earlier than I’d thought and much earlier than I’d hoped but here I was awake. No urgency about it but a slight message from my bladder did suggest a tour of the facilities to hand. As soon as I returned the computer was booted up and I hit the first of my mailboxes, amazing it took until 3.59 am to empty it and start on the second which was clear at 4.10 am. Why can’t it be this easy all of the time? I decided a visit to ebay was  a good idea and treated myself. I looked at frockcoats, signet rings, pocket watches and maybe a new waistcoat ( which I haven’t bought for my collection for ages). I managed to resist the temptation on all of them. At 5.00 am I went through to the kitchen making sure I didn’t ddisturb Joey as it wasn’t dawn then. I took my meds and a pre-foodie tablet then put two slices of bread in the toaster. Lighting a cigarette to use as  timer I carried some rubbish through to my recycling bags and then answered an email. Perfect timing the email went off as I finished the smoke. Back to the kitchen and troweled on some butter then ate my toast. Wonderful. I made a coffee, took my two after food tabs and then returned to the bedroom.

By now a little more mail was coming through and I enjoyed a short story by someone as well a a post by my friend Valerie from NZ who had a great post about tea, sitting an oral French exam in front of Chinese nuns and a woman who tried to kill a woman she disliked in a tearoom but still wanted to be served tea. Very entertaining.                  At 6.30 am Mike’s alarm went off for the first time and I took a coffee through. I made sure to make plenty of comments in the hopes of penetrating the fog and moving him. At 6.40 the alarm went off again, still no movement.Things were looking good. I left it a minute or two then went to inform him the coffee was going cold. I got a half coherent reply and this is the point I’d usually have some luck. I went back to my room and waited, there didn’t seem to be any movement, am I going to get a third alarm today? Answer, Yes but I didn’t get to make my third call. Total 3A– 2C. We left the house a little after 7.30 am today and made a quick run to the Supermarket. We also made quite a quick run round the Supermarket. I just hadn’t been able to think of much to put on the list though I didn’t leave it a 5 bottles of pop which is how it was until I added millet this morning. Somehow the bill still came to more than usual and I’d no clothes in today.Perhaps the strawberries were gold plated. We went for a drink where Mike had great fun waiting for me to get brain freeze. It’s not easy hiding it.

After packing the car we drove to Flint. We moved from clouds and rain into sunshine which was nice, they’d promised a nice day. we parked up and took a walk to Homies and to Jolley’s ( the pet shop) for more millet then went to get our coffee from Temptations. The lovely Sian was on this morning with Kyle. He was near to kipping on the couch after a late night but did get up when I came to the counter. We enjoyed the coffee then drove home early. We had no specific plans in mind today. The subject of what to do next did crop up though after we’d put the shopping away and I’d made an attempt at my mail again. The problem was we were both asking each other what the other wanted to do and the other was saying “What about you”? It shows what boring old farts we’ve become when Mike suggested we look for a new fridge and a freezer and I was able to suggest where. First we drove to a large Supermarket with a cafeteria and ha something to eat then we walked over to a large retail chain shop and priced up their models, none of which were the ones we’d earlier looked at online. I dithered as it was such a large outlay  and we came away with nothing except the stains where I’d drooled over a larger TV. We came home.

Once we got in which was about 2.30 pm I left Mike to relax with TV and I came back to work. I seemed to be doing fine but somewhere along the line I nodded off. When I woke I couldn’t even figure out how to get myself out of where I was, or how I’d got there. Last night’s lack of sleep had taken it’s toll. Worse still while I was trying to come round Mike walked in and said “Oh you’re awake again then” and as I hadn’t caught him asleep I had no rejoinder. I was in shame. It was 5.45 pm and he’d come to let me know Pointless celebrity was due on. I cleared the screen gulped at the amount of mail I could see and joined him in the lounge. By 7.00 pm I was back clearing what I could but only until 8.00 pm when something decent came on. Mike went for some bacon and we had sandwiches while we watched a detective programme. I was there till 10.30 pm when I called it a night and made a concerted effort with the post. I was only able to work until 11.00 pm before having to start the blog so there may be a bit waiting for me tomorrow.

Have a fantastic new week filled with hugs.

65 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

65 responses to “FREEDOM!! & Friday Cinderella.

  1. Perhaps Joey’s mum also told him ‘it’s not good manners to talk with your mouth full’🙂 You stay so busy David, it wears me out just reading it all! That first photo of Rueben makes him look so much older than the others. Tell him to ‘stop that looking older stuff’! Have a great week, David. xx

    • I hadn’t thought of that and of course his mouth is so often full. It doesn’t seem busy from this end Ardys since there are usually 4 inactive days but maybe the other three overflow.
      I agree, he’ll be 2 in just under a month and that’s old enough for now but he does seem older sometimes and he’s been in age 2-3 clothes for a while. Easy to forget.
      Hope you have a fantastic week
      xxx Huge Hugs xxx

  2. What a week you’ve had David. Joey is a great addition to this weekly adventure. And I always loved that Robert Palmer song. Fun choice. Have a sublime Sunday. Mega hugs! 😀

    • I’m just waiting for Joey to learn typing ( and maybe spelling) so he can write his own adventures on here and I can take time off Teagan. I too always liked that Robert Palmer song and thought it a fun addition.
      One sublime Sunday on it’s way. I hope you have a Wonderful Week.
      xxx Sending Mega Hugs in return Dear Heart xxx

      • Yes, a new week. This one ended with an interview (finally an interview). The job is half my current pay, but would have gotten me back out west. But doing my “homework” I found the people were greedy and dishonest (funny that they aren’t here in Washington…). So I won’t be moving yet, but I hope one interview “attracts” more. 😀 Sunshine Sunday hugs back.

  3. I’m glad that you seem to be in better health this week, and that you’re making progress with Joey. Or he’s training you?🙂 (If he’s flying around the room, do you also have to clean up after him? I’ve been targeted by pigeons in a park. Not fun to have to clean poop out of your hair. )
    Good news that Mike’s father came home from the hospital.

    Enjoy the rest of your weekend. Hope you also have a week filled with hugs!

    • I think you guessed it in one Merril. I’m well on the way to being trained. The pets have always been in charge in this house. Yes,it involves a bit of cleaning up, but it’s very minimal and not very messy.The perching is worse when it’s in a concentrated place.Little landmarks on the top of a picture or the mirror. Not in the hair (so far).
      Mike said his Dad was in great spirits but he’s having to reschedule the signing-up of the new flat which is a shame.
      My weekend will be great and I hope yours is even better.
      xxx Sending Massive Hugs xxx

  4. I too am enjoying ‘The Adventures of Joey’ I think it would be grand if you could get him – or he could get you – trained sufficiently to be able to leave the cage door open and he could use that place as his refuge and you [and the mirror] for fun and games🙂 Have a good week David xoxo

    • It’s already happening Pauline. The cage door is opened when it’s light enough and he’s awake and then closed when he’s made his last foray of the day, usually at dusk. I only close it so he doesn’t come out and fly around in the dark as there’s no night vision.( I’m not even sure about day vision when you see him bump into things).During the day, the cage is just his cafe or rest stop.It didn’t really take him long to train me did it.
      I hope you have a Great week
      xxx Hugs Galore xxx

  5. You certainly outdid yourself this week, David. Even for you, a 33-minute night is short. And that song from The Archies! Wow, that one really took me back. One thing I’ve been meaning to ask is, what is a warden? Where I come from, this is a prison guard and as much as you are a slave to the rhythm, I don’t think they lock you in at night?🙂

    • What can I say Mel, I’m a record breaker.Soon I’ll be waking before I’ve gone to sleep.Ha, the Archies was a really fun blast from the past I thought.
      Not lock me in at night? Is this possible?
      The wardens are staff who check up on residents on a daily or weekly basis to see they’re OK and perhaps facilitate a solution to any problems like repairs. If there’s something wrong they can call out doctors or ambulances where needs be.Sometimes they just provide a bit of company as mine does on a Monday. It’s nice to know someone is around.
      xxx Sending you Mega Cwtch from Wales xxx

  6. Joey sounds very entertaining.

  7. With a name like “joey” – delight guaranteed – in the end, if not sooner🙂 – just as delightful as the little man wearing the shirt with “Adorable” emblem on the chest🙂 Phew, so glad Joey survived the crash with the mirror – if it were me I’d have a nose bleed for hours and a red nose even “Rudolph” would envy. Have a fantastic week, David

    • It’s funny, I really don’t remember wearing that tee shirt.
      I’m glad Joey survived and happy the mirror did too. It wasn’t designed with kamikaze budgies in mind.
      At the moment I’m sure he isn’t frightened of me but he’s very distrustful so I’ll have to work hard to counter that. I did offer to share my bowl of strawberries with him if he came down but he didn’t move.
      Have a wonderful week Ina.
      xxx Sending Huge Hugs xxx

  8. Guy

    Pleased to hear you found a suitable vase David. Don’t Fear The Reaper by Blue Oyster Cult would make a great choice of funeral song I always think. The weather in London is horrendous at the moment. I assume it is the same where you are. The farmers should be happy, what with harvest being imminent.

    • Beggar me if MuJo didn’t also bring a vase this week but it just didn’t fit at all so I’m glad my choice was made. You’re quite right about the Blue Oyster Cult classic, it would really suit some people.I’ll go for I’m in a Different World by the Four Tops. Yes, our weather is foul at the moment too with no sign of lifting. I was glad of the little break from it yesterday. The youngsters aren’t having a great break from school, but the farmers may be pleased for now, not if it carries on though.
      Keep well Guy.
      Hugs

  9. I would be worried about finding poop in places it should not be! Lol
    You have had a busy time and I feel worn out reading it, glad you are feeling better. Have a super Sunday xxxx

  10. Great post, as always, and lovely pics of Reuben, but I am puzzled – what stops Joey from escaping outside when he’s loose and you open the front door? Or can you lock him in the loungeroom?

    • Thank you thank you. When Joey is out the door to the lounge is kept closed so he’s confined to there and the kitchen. If he came out of there when I did I just wouldn’t open the front door but so far he’s not inclined to follow me.
      xxx Ginormous Hugs xxx

      • Aaah! I see. Thanks, David. I was half imagining a force field type arrangement.😀
        I’m not a bird person but I was also wondering if covering that big mirror would help get Joey back in his cage?

      • That problem is over now. He comes and goes from the cage a lot now. He goes in when he’s alone or hungry and stays out when I’m about. The mirror is his favourite perch . Up top is a great place to view his demesne, down below a great place to chunner at his reflection. I still need to get him on the hand though.
        xxx Huge Hugs xxx

      • Oh that’s great news, and great progress too.🙂

  11. Reuben looks like he had a busy week as well, not quite as busy as Joey who’s going to keep you on your toes apparently.😉
    Thank you for sharing your week with us, David, sounds like it was a busy one which makes me hope you’re feeling better.🙂
    Take care, dear one and massive hugs. Can’t wait for the next installment!🙂

    • I think you’re right about Reuben, he’s always on the go. Joey will definitely keep me on my toes, I already know who’s boss.
      My week didn’t seem to be busy though there was a little flurry on a couple of days. I’m quite chipper thanks Donna.
      Please look after yourself, I’m sending Gigantic Hugs to you Donna xxxxxx

  12. I had one of those moments with neither option sounding good last night. Mine was get up and put the cover over the neon green panel lights on the AC or try to make my eyes stay shut and not notice the glaring green light filling the room. LOL, in the end I got up and covered it. I’m one of those folks who like pitch darkness to sleep. So I cover all the things that have stupid little indicator lights on them that don’t go off at night.Enjoyed your summary and pics of your grandkid. Joey sounds pretty cute too.

    • I can understand the irritation Madison but I can’t share it as my room is lit up like a runway by a blue neon light from the clock so I know whether ton get up or not.
      Thank you, I’m glad you enjoyed the summary and the pictures of Reuben
      You’re right, Joey is cute.
      Have a great week.
      xx Massive Hugs xxx

  13. Nice week. I hope Mike’s Dad gets better and everything is sorted. Joey seems to be getting there (or getting you there, as has been pointed out). I’m worried about your foot…

    • His Dad seemed pretty perky at home on Friday Mike said. The next job is t get him signed up for the new flat.
      Joey is making progress of a sort and I’m trying to be very patient.
      Thank you but please don’t worry about the foot.As I’m in most of the time no-one sees it From the knee down on hat leg it makes my trousers appear sprayed on it’s so tight.
      xxx Sending humongous Hugs xxx

  14. ‘Joey’ sounds delightful… I, too, occasionally awaken and wonder where I am…almost every morning…tee hee!
    Lovely pictures, Collins and Seeger – you know how to entertain, good David. Hugs. (You’ve noticed, of course, I’ve joined the ‘hugs’ group – hope it’s okay…)

    • Joey is a delight Billy Ray and almost has me trained. At this age it depends whether I remember what he’s taught me.
      There were some good songs there from a few eras this week. I enjoyed most. I had noticed you’d joined the Hugs group, always happy to have you anywhere.
      Hugs Billy Ray.

  15. The cast of growing characters is one of the most charming things about reading your blog, David, although surely my keyboard would run out of ink if I attempted to list all of your writing charms. I might give it a crack one day just for the helluva it.
    You’ve got to say one thing for all this fresh life happening around you though, they are all keeping you on your toes and exercising. It makes for a beautiful, well-lived life. One I truly enjoying reading about.
    xoxo

    • Wow Shelley, what compliments you pay. I’m glad the characters get your attention, it means I get lost in the background.
      I’m certainly kept on my toes round here as Joey’s taken over from Oscar, the degus and the rats in putting me in my place, the training goes well. I don’t know about a well lived life but it’s certainly a lived life.
      xxx Have a Wonderful weekShelley
      xxx Huge Hugs xxx

  16. I have decided from reading your posts, that you are a polyphasic sleeper – you get your sleep in little, short bursts, not all at one time (which would be a monophasic sleeper). So that puts you in the ranks of some really great thinkers and artists, such as Leonardo Da Vinci, Thomas Edison, and Nikola Tesla, and other extremely successful people. I think I am a biphasic sleeper – I sleep about 6 hours a night, but sure could use a little nap at about 3 in the afternoon.
    Love the stories about Joey – he sounds like a fascinating fellow that marches to his own drummer.
    The music selections were wonderful – especially the Archies. Used to watch that cartoon when I was a kid. Always disliked Betty.
    Hope you have a wonderful week!!!!

    • And I thought it was polyphasic because I keep a budgie. I’m delighted to be ion the company of such great thinkers but can’t help feeling the delight only travels one way.
      I think everyone deserves a little nap in the afternoon. Even ten minutes is nice.
      Joey is a delight but any pet entering this house had better march to the beat of his own drummer, or a full marching band of them.They all end up barmy. I’m so glad you enjoyed the music, hearing the Archies again was a treat for me too, it’s been years.
      Thank you. I hope you have a Fantastic Week.
      x Huge Hugs x

  17. Hello, David. Joey sounds like he is enjoying getting out and about the house. In the U. S. they make tiny mirrors for their cages. The budgies love to look at themselves don’t they? Ruben is adorable as always. I wish we had some of your rain. The heat has been unbearable in Florida this summer. Take care. I know you will have a fabulous week. Until next time, tons of hugs to you!❤

  18. I got tired just reading about the full week you had. Seems like they’re all keeping you busy. Glad you’re doing well and I must say, one of the best mixes of song yet. Have a great week.

  19. I love that song – ‘Everybody’s Got to Learn Sometime’ but never knew who sang it. Very nice pick! Thanks, David😀

    You’ve certainly been keeping very busy. Joey is hugely entertaining😀

  20. Like everyone else, I am in love with the Joey stories. What a great addition to the family. Loved seeing Reuben with the ducks – feeding them was one of my favourite childhood pastimes.
    Top votes for “You can’t Hurry Love”. Huge HUgs for the rest of your week!

    • I hope the Joey stories will improve with time and his learning skills. I don’t want this to be the first budgie hat bested me.
      I always enjoyed feeding the ducks too,I find them delightful creatures.
      Phil Collins was one of the few people I thought could get away with doing a Motown record and this was excellent.Top marks from me too.
      I hope you have a wonderful and successful week
      x Huge Hugs x

  21. The feathered-ones whether in-house or in-garden provide so much amusement, which is a nicer way of saying they are time wasters but in the best possible way. If Joey was in my house I’d never get anything done, I’d spend the day communing with him until I was a bird brain myself🙂

    • At least I have an excuse for the way this place looks now,it’s Joey’s fault. I’ve just written my name over my name in the dust.
      The colours would make them more fascinating to watch in the garden than our birds which can still be entertaining.
      As for being a bird brain. Too late, I can already chirp with the best of them.
      xxx Huge Hugs xxx

  22. Ah… A weeks worth of hugs to you too David. Is your toe better? I know you never sleep well, but this week was worse than ever… Any ideas why, new meds, worried about something? Hope you are having a better week this week so far…

  23. Good morning, my lovely friend. Enjoyed reading all about your week and the videos were great. I couldn’t watch the first one because it was blocked in the US, but loved the others. Hadn’t heard Addicted to Love for years.😀 Hope you have a fantastic day, David. ((HUGS))❤

  24. A is most definitely for “Adorable” in this case!

  25. Well, fancy giving me a mention during your ‘daily rounds and common tasks’ !!!!
    Joey has got you on toast hasn’t he, and presumably the adorable Reuben too… do you sing that song from Oliver to him:’ I’d do anything for you, just anything… etc???
    I would, if he was my grand child….

  26. I’m so happy that Joey Left his cage…and went back in. I was so afraid he’d fly outside when someone opened the door. You’ve had a very productive week. (With little sleep.) Here’s to a restful week. Hugs, my friend.

  27. Suggest a lifelike picture of a sparrowhawk to convince Joey of the benefits of home life. A full week! Best, Fred.

  28. I’m just now writing this as I’ve had some health problems this week. They were partly my fault. I found the coffee I’ve been drinking was too strong and gave me a problem. I hope you’re back on the computer soon. I have to catch up again with my email. Take care and Huge Hugs, Suzanne.

    • I hope you’re feeling better Suzanne. Strong coffee doesn’t suit me either. I try to drink de-caf now.
      I’m finally back on line from thois morning. I can’t tell you how I’ve missed the net and all my friends.
      xxx Huge hUgs xxx

  29. Enjoyed reading and listening. Love the Korgis. Great that Joey got himself a friend in the mirror. I don’t know how it is going to help building your relationships though… It is quite difficult to be more interesting and fun than the guy in the mirror… You will have to work hard…
    Fighting back the temptation to buy the chips was very heroic. Proud of you. Hugs!!!

    • I think I’ve lost out to that fascinating bird in the mirror. He keeps kissing it. Meanwhile he’s not interested at all in coming on my hand.
      I may have to work harder still.
      xxx Gigantic Hugs xxx

  30. I love your ‘firing up the computer’ – it did make me laugh. I spend my life trying to ‘un-fire’ my laptop – it gets so hot in this heat that i’m worried that it might explode! Sorry to be SO behind with your posts – life’s taken on an even faster pace here and this August we have visitors right through until beginning of September so there’ll be precious little time for blogging. I do hope that you are feeling better and I bet Joey gives you hours of amusement. My canaries are beginning to molt now so feathers everywhere! HUGE HUGS from a very scorchio Spain xoxoxoxoxooxox

    • I’ve so missed getting on the computer to read comments from my friends. It’s taken my phone/isp until this morning to fix the phones and internet.
      I hope you have a wonderful time with your visitors and that your weather stays scorchio for you. It’s dismal here as per your typical British Summer.
      I’m having fun with Joey but still no hand training.
      xxx Massive Hugs xxx

      • Thanks David. I do sympathise with you as It’s a real pest when internet, computers etc give us grief – we are all so reliant on them. Try strapping Joey to your hand!!! ( I think you have to start when they are babies, not the strapping but the hand training for it to work though i may be very wrong!!) Lots of chirpy cheeps from Spain xxxxxxxx

  31. Have you managed to teach Joey how to type yet? I wish I could teach Albert and Victoria, our budgies. I’m sure Chicki (our little white dog) wouldn’t mind the idea since she already likes to sit on my lap while I do all the tapping.
    Hope you have a great new week, David
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

    • I think Joey is more the dictation type Margaret so typing doesn’t interfere with his eating or fighting himself in the mirror.
      I don’t know how I missed his comment and I’m so sorry for the delayed response. Is Chicki writing his first book yet?
      xxx Huge Hugs xxx

Leave a Reply

