The Saturday Special.

Because we were in the Supermarket at 7..30 am on Saturday morning the crowds were avoided ( for my sake ) and the world was our bivalve mollusc. Mike decided instead of the bacon roll he often has after shopping that he preferred to go straight to Flint and have crumpets at Temptations. It was a bit of a disappointment for him when we had parked up to be told by one of the staff that they weren’t opening until 10.00 pm as the re-vamp they’d done during the week merited a Grand Opening complete with cutting of ribbon. I made sure Mike understood that it was the official ribbon which could be cut and not any other he saw on female hats or in their hair. He can be a bit literal at times, explaining about rock cakes was fun.

Anyhoo, we had 45 minutes to waste. That was fine by me as there were shops open and the only thing they were missing was me. I got some chocolates for the staff of Temptations as usual even though it’s a little like taking coals to Newcastle as they sell handmade chocolates. We did a fair bit of mooching until there was just ten minutes to go and we decided that a cigarette at one of the outside tables would be good. We did that and as expected 10.00 am arrived. In we went and joined a small queue which was building up in the shop section while a barrier of heave purple ribbon stopped us entering the cafe.

It was 10.15 am Β when the ribbon was cut and we barged past everyone to claim a table. Newly decorated, new chairs and a posh new fan made the place look very nice. Mike claimed our table with his hat and shot off to the loo while I took my place in the queue at the counter to order coffee. There was no need to get crumpets for him as there were free cakes on the table. My turn came and I handed over their chocolates while giving my order. As I turned to sit down it was delightful to see our local celebrities Adam and Richard, the brothers who sing a lot of opera.

I knew my niece Karen would be jealous if I spoke to them so naturally I sought Adam out to chat to, he knows me well. To make things worse I got Mike to take a picture of us together on his phone and send it to Karen. She came back asking if I’d got their autographs which I had, on the inside of one of their CD’s. I should be in favour next time In see her.

After eating all the free cake and the biscotti we drove to Holywell to pick up some hot pork baps for lunch and went home. Normally I wouldn’t be allowed to go home so early but Manchester United were playing early afternoon in a derby with their great rivals Manchester City. I was able to catch up on work and then fall asleep in front of the TV while Mike was in his bedroom streaming the game.

opera-boys

 

That’s Adam on the left of the picture with Richard on the right with some scruffy beggar in the centre.

Their last album

goo.gl/QouIk9content_copy

Copy short URL

Hugs to all.

95 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

95 responses to “The Saturday Special.

  1. Sounds like a busy morning and memorable in more than one way, David πŸ™‚ Hugs XXXX

  2. Hi David. Thanks for sharing this fun day with us. What a couple of cuties, those brothers. I’m glad you included their video. It was inspiring. Have a marvelous hug-filled Monday.

    • Hello Dear Teagan, thanks for dropping in. I suspect the boys are ‘cuties’ to the fair sex but they’re both taken. The third brother….also a singer….is married to one of the girls we usually see on a Saturday morning. I’m so glad you liked their video.
      xxx Sending Humongous Hugs xxx

  3. Those chaps look very excited to be meeting you, David – I’m surprised they weren’t asking for your autograph!
    xxx Huge Hugs Lovely xxx

  4. Dear god that baritone is…..unbelievable! Apologies, I don’t know which is which and the tenor is good as well but, the baritone is ‘golden’. Wow. Can you get me their autographs as well? Not kidding!

  5. For ‘some scruffy beggar’, you look very distinguished, David. Have a marvellous and hug-filled week! xx

  6. Pingback: The Impossible Dream | Meeka's Mind

  7. You will make Karen’s day when you hand over that CD!

  8. Since we don’t see Britain’s got talent here in the US I was so happy you included the video of their audition. Wow, incredible voices and I think the scruffy gentleman in the middle is quite fetching. What a lovely time you had and I was very excited to see a post from my favorite friend from across the seas’. Hope you have a wonderful week David and mega massive hugs my friend.

  9. I watched their video clip and I have to admit they can both sing a bit. I’m even prepared to tearfully admit that their rendition of The Impossible Dream is better than mine when in the shower. (Indeed, I feel so strongly about it, I’ve even managed to split an infinitive.)

    • I have some sticking plasters if you need one Bun.This isn’t my favourite song by them by any means as Maria from West Side Story can make the hairs on the back of my neck stand up as can my National Anthem which is on the current CD.
      Hugs

  10. It sounds like a wonderful day–chocolate, other yummy food, friends, and music! Thanks for sharing, David. A thousand hugs!

  11. That song, was always a favorite, as a lifelong “Man of La Mancha” fan. They have talent, for sure. Liked your reference to “the world is my oyster”, always curious as to the evolution of that one ???? ☺

    • I wish I could lay claim to the bivalve mollusc joke but that belongs squarely to the late Sir Terry Pratchett I believe. The derivation of the actual saying is a little more classical…..
      THE WORLD IS AN (ONE’S) OYSTER – “If you have a lot of money, you can have anything you want. The proverb first appears in Shakespeare’s play ‘The Merry Wives of Windsor’ (1600).’Falstaff: I will not lend thee a penny. Pistol: Why, then, the world’s mine oyster, Which I with sword will open.’ Act II, Scene II.”
      Shame I can’t lay claim to that either.
      xxx Hugs Galore xxx

  12. What a great photo of you three. Just watched the video.Wow!! Thanks for this great post. πŸ™‚

  13. I have their Christmas album, David. What a pleasure to have met them. Great to see you back on the blog.
    Hugs to you.

  14. good name that, Temptations. Mentioning crumpets has had an immediate and dire impact on my resolution…

    • I’m afraid it’s full of Temptations too Geoff. Just as well I have will power. Mike has changed to crumpets from his traditional teasted toecake. He slathers them with jam. Sorry if that has an even more dire impact on the resolution but if so, you know where to find us on a Saturday morning.
      Hugs

  15. That sounds like a fun morning, David, and worth the wait. Mega hugs and enjoy your week!

    • It was unexpected Diana but nice. I think we should agree to book Temptations for our ‘Finally meeting each other’ for all authors on here. You’ll like the cakes.
      Have a wonderful week
      xxx Gigantic Hugs xxx

  16. What an extraordinary shopping trip that turned out to be! Thanks for including the video, too, which showcased the brothers marvelously.

    • You’re right Anne, it really was extraordinary. To be honest, if I’d known in advance I might not have gone because of the crowds but inside I was well protected from them. Amazing what Mike will do for free cakes.
      The brothers really are fantastic. I saw them perform 2 years ago at the Llangollen Eisteddfod. I often wonder what they’d be like if the third brother, also a singer, joined them, but he prefers to be at home with his wife and children rather than touring.
      xxx Massive Hugs xxx

  17. The brothers are so talented and I loved hearing them. ❀ But, I must say it's the "scruffy beggar" in the middle who brings me here. πŸ™‚ Hugs, David, my friend.

  18. Not sure which of the three is the most dashing… I’l leaning toward the scruffy one in the middle. Thank you, Sir, for the awesome post and the video. One of my most favoritest of songs done right. Hope you have a lovely week!

    • Well, what a smoothie you are. Definitely on my Christmas card list now. I’m glad I found a favourite song to entertain you and I’m so grateful you enjoyed the post.
      Have a lovely week too.
      xxx Massive Hugs xxx

  19. Looking good David. Perhaps being with the famous is washing off on you. Hugs back to you

    • Ah, washing off, That’s what I should have done before the picture. I think it was a case of the famous with the infamous that day. I should have let them hide their faces.
      Keep looking after yourself Judith,
      xxx Gigantic Hugs xxx

  20. David, it is lovely to see you back – and your singing friends are very easy on the eye and ear too. πŸ™‚ I know you haven’t been well and I hope you are much improved now and we will get to enjoy many more of your outings with Mike – just keep him away from rock cakes!! xoxo

    • Thanks so much Pauline, a lovely thing to hear. My young friends make me look almost human don’t they.
      I am improved thanks and I hope that you’re OK too. Sometime I will get back to more outings when Mike doesn’t notice and can’t complain I spend too much time on here.
      I try to lead him away from food as I don’t want to spoil lunch but he always seems to manage both.
      xxx Ginormous Hugs xxx

  21. Got an extra crumpet you can send my way, David? πŸ™‚ Loved hearing Adam and Richard ~ outstanding!

    • Sorry Tina,the gannet ate them before going home. You’re welcome to join us on Saturday morning and I’ll buy breakfast while keeping your plate out of his reach.
      xxx Massive Hugs xxx

  22. Reblogged this on Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life and commented:
    I nearly made it to the goodnight button when I noticed this from David Prosser… see how easily I get distracted…. a lovely song from Richard and Adam singing the Impossible Dream.. mega hugs David.

  23. Get you, mingling with the celebrities. Glad to see you out and about and enjoying it even. All the Best from the beautiful South. Mega Hugs!

    • Can’t let anything interfere with the Saturday morning coffee. Anyway, I was an author so I could be called celebrity too though perhaps more infamous than famous.
      All the best from ‘Up’ North
      Huge Hugs

  24. Good to read about your and Mike’s adventures again, David. Those brothers are marvelous. I can see why your neice likes them so much. Good-looking boys as well. They’ve got everything going for them. Massive Hugs. πŸ™‚ — Suzanne

    • Thanks Suzanne. It was really just to introduce the boys again that I posted though it was nice to see them again. Karen is very pleased to have got the CD and autographs out of me.
      xxx Giant Hugs xxx

  25. Their singing gives me goosebumps! Sounds like a wonderful morning.

  26. Nice to see you blogging again, David! What a trio of good-looking guys!

    • Time for a trip to the optician Ali ( with apologies to the two good looking lads who were there). It was such an unusual and unexpected event it was worth a post and because of the football I didn’t even get moaned at.
      I’m not quite ready to come back full time but I do miss and remember my friends.
      xxx Gigantic Hugs xxx

  27. The “scruffy beggar” in the middle fits in perfectly with Richard and Adam! πŸ˜‰ I listened twice to “The Impossible Dream”–thanks so much for sharing this, David. Have a wonderful week! Many hugs! ❀

    • I washed my hair and couldn’t do a thing with it ! I’m so glad you enjoyed the song. Adam’s voice seems to come from his boots. There are other examples on youtube if you like them including ”Maria’ from West Side Story.
      xxx Ginormous Hugs Marylin xxx

  28. What a delightful morning, David! Your a celebrity for sure, bringing chocolates to them, indeed, they should have a wall full of your autographs! Appreciate the singers, they have some amazing voices and they’re easy on the eyes πŸ˜‰

  29. This is a very enjoyable post, a slice of your life. Thank you for sharing, and also for the music. I’d never heard of Adam and Richard (I’m in the U.S.), and my goodness they sing so beautifully, I nearly cried! ~ Peri

    • Many thanks for your kind remarks Peri. Though Richard and Adam re quite well known I think their fame is restricted to mainly the UK so far though other Nationalities may have seen them on some cruise ships.Their voices are quite stunning and they can certainly raise the hairs on the back of my neck. I think they’d be quite moved that you nearly cried.
      xxx Massive Hugs xxx

  30. Glad you had such a memorable morning, David!
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

  31. I am missing the score of the game ….
    Who did win?

    Kind regards,

  32. Wow, three stars in one place! I am catching up after my long half-absence, and finding gems, like this post πŸ™‚ Many hugs!!! xxxx

    • I was in the right place for a lot of reflected glory Inese. I do wish I’d seen my hair before then picture was taken so I could have looked a little less unwanted.
      xxx Hugs Galore xxx

Leave a Reply

