Tale of a Tail.

28./3/2012 2

I really don’t understand. I have given the rats Penny and Amy ( stupid names in my opinion. They should be called Ratty and Another Ratty ) space to settle in. I have treated them with disdain when I’ve walked by the cage and no-one could suspect I may eventually have other plans for them. Mmmm, dinner.

Anyway, I confess that curiosity got the better of me. This morning I went to the cage
(Hmph, they even warrant their own luxury quarters. This has to be brought to an end). , lifted my self on my rear legs and put my paws on the edge of the table. One of them, Amy I think by her darker colouring, came forward and was almost nose to nose with me at the cage. Her nose was twitching to get the smell of my superiority no doubt, when I felt a tug at my tail. I know I have a habit of waving it about when something catches my interest. But my interest is not supposed to catch my tail. I looked down and there was Penny trying to pull my tail in through the bars, probably intending to pull the rest of me through with it. As a Superior (THE Superior actually) I did not scream when I felt the grip she had on me with those ratty teeth. But, there was no way I could allow this state of affairs to continue. Not in my own house.

Gritting my teeth together I told Amy than if Penny didn’t desist I would make a meal of her. I didn’t think she understood but after a moments pause ( nearly said paws then)
I heard her say to Penny, ” Stop sister. no point in making an enemy of this cat and I doubt he’s edible anyway”.
THIS CAT !!!! Who does she think she’s talking about.
But Penny looked up at her sister and released the tail reluctantly. “But I liked playing with it” she said.
“I shall overlook this incident” I told them both, “but you’d better be prepared for war if you ever do that again”.
Swinging my tail round, I licked it clean at the point where the teeth had been without showing that more than just my pride was a little hurt. I mustered all my dignity and turning round, walked away.

My first job after I’ve checked my food dishes is to see whether any of the gang know of a good recipe for Rats. Not that I shall mention why. I would never live it down. They already wonder why there are two rats in the house as If I’m not the Superior who makes these decisions. I had to lie and say I wanted the Longlegs to have company while I was away. But now I think my Longlegs deserve a short sharp lesson for putting me in this position. I think some claws extended massage is due tonight in the pretense of settling down on their knees..

Oscar making sure I know my chair is actually his.

Oscar making sure I know my chair is actually his.

Bernie's playtime in and out of sleeves. Coming for a kiss.

Bernie’s playtime in and out of sleeves. Coming for a kiss.

 

65 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

65 responses to “Tale of a Tail.

  1. Beautiful Oscar, and Bernie too. I know you’ll never forget them. Mega hugs.

    • It’s very unlikely Teagan..The picture reminds me of what happened if I tried to reclaim my chair and that I needed to stock up on the sticking plasters the next day.
      xxx Humongous Hugs xxx

  2. I had heard of ‘bite your bum’…but ‘bite your tail’ seems to have more class.

  3. Poor Oscar. Rat-pecked.😦

  4. Oscar looks very content in his chair, and I guess you and Bernie were content, too.🙂 Hugs.

  5. What tall tale about a tail. Ha ha. Love it. Scrumptious. 😀 ❤

  6. Love the story. A Rat’s Tale or a A Cat’s Tail! LOL! Oscar is a cutie.

  7. When we have them we complain all the time about stolen chairs, carnage when somebody gets bitten, rubbish bins rummaged in, peeing where it is verboten etc etc but when they’re gone, we don’t half miss them.

  8. Oscar can pick a chair for sure🙂 but I do think he’s not really contemplating recipes for Rats while on it🙂 Not a rat eater, Oscar – I reckon. Might be a rat ratter not a rat eater though😀

  9. This could end up in a huge stand-off. Thanks, David.

    • You never quite knew how things would turn out with them in a face down but the girls never paid him much mind if they were out for playtime and he rarely ventured too close.
      xxx Hugs Galore xxx

  10. “Oscar on Duty” is a great picture, David. This is a fun post. Hugs!

  11. Love the story and the pics!

  12. Awesome tale of a tail🙂

  13. I love this! We do not have rats, but sharing a house with 7 cats, I can relate to the attitude! 🙂

    • SEVEN cats? That’s a self inflicted punishment. Do they allow you to sit down in their chairs?
      xxx Huge Hugs xxx

      • Ah yes, some days I threaten to trade them all for one good dog! But alas, it was not by design that we ended up this way. At one time we had 10! All rescue cats. My family seems to have invisible signs on our back saying “Animal lover … will rescue any suffering critter”. Thus we have a menagerie of kitties with a variety of quirks and disabilities. We even have one who has the feline equivalent of autism. Our blind cat died earlier this year, we have one who is diabetic. But … we love them all, so while I grumble and complain, wheeze and sneeze, they are family. And yes, sometimes we are allowed to sit on the furniture😀

  14. Ratty and Another Ratty – YES! Why should these adopted critters be given names at all, since your clear intention is that they won’t be staying long – the usurpers. I am shocked at their temerity, believing that they could get away with attempting to sink their ratty teeth into your exalted flesh. (I just learned that temerity word from Mom and I couldn’t wait to show it off).

    Thanks for liking my article about the trials and tribulations of Mom’s N24 , by the way. We blogging 4-paws have to stick together.

    SILVER LINING: The good thing about that cage is that they can’t get to the computer. If they start blogging, we’ll HAVE to include them you know.

    Happy Be-thankful-you-don’t-have-N24 Day! If the 2-legs have turkey, make sure you get some.
    Woof! Tink

    • It didn’t take me long to discover that RATS don’t have claws. They have little hands nearly and I’m sure can get out of the cage when they want to. My food dish has come up light a few times and I don’t think it’d me sleep-eating like the long legs say.
      No Thanksgiving here so no gobble bird but a sad look often gets me ham..
      xxx Meow xxx

      • I don’t get much ham. Mom had to stop eating bread, so no more ham sandwiches — and I’m not allowed to have those Mexican things she eats instead. She will share the chicken – and I really love that.

        Tell your 2-legs to check the cage. One of the rats that lived with my Mom’s friend Cindy used to hide all kinds of things there. One even tried to take the Dad’s wallet (but it was too heavy, so he didn’t get very far with it).
        xx, Tink

      • There are no circumstances they could stop eating ham sandwiches here, they’d have to make them for me even if I do lick the butter and leave the bread. You’ll be alright if the chicken is shared with you, the ‘Him’ doesn’t usually eat chicken and is far too mean to share his beef.

        Food seems to be the only thing the Rats are interested in hiding which is fine if it’s their own.They don’t have anything I want in there. I’d better not have anything they want out here.
        Have a nice Thanksgiving
        Meow, Oscar.

      • THANKS! Things are seriously looking up – better than nice. Mom just got a call from one of my fans at our Cheers bar asking if I was planning to attend the potluck Thanksgiving in an hour.

        And of course Mom was clue-free about it, blogging in her pjs and robe, so we’re certainly not going to make it on time. I hope we get there before the food runs out.

        Then Aunt Peggy said she was invited to P’s blended family T-giving at the ex-husband’s. I’m not invited, but Mom promised to bring back some of her turkey – so it’s all good.

        I hope tomorrow is a ham day for you.
        Woof! Tink

  15. Cat’s rule, and the longlegs should just acknowledge that fact. YOUR chair?? It was never your chair of course. 😼

  16. Such a great cat, Dave! Good writing too!

  17. Adorable Oscar🙂 And such a witty tale of a tail, David xx

  18. Delighted that you’ve decided to tell these stories again David, although is it Oscar who is King of the storytellers? They are so heartwarming. I think you should have used the the word ‘paws’. 😀
    Thursday hugs to you.

    • Thanks so much Hugh and you’re right it’s Oscar who writes his own stories even if he used me as a secretary on occasion. I suppose he thinks I have my uses. I just hope they bring the odd smile to people’s faces though anyone who smiles at Oscar must be odd.
      Huge Hugs to you.

  19. It could be worse. My cat’s chair is wherever my lap is lol . I didn’t know you were a cat lover😉

  20. Hello, David. Hope you’re doing well. Just wanted to pop on here and catch up with you. ((HUGS))

  21. Now that was a delightful, warming tale, and from a dogs point of view, woof! In an abecedarian fashion:

    About cats:
    Beautiful,
    Cuddly,
    Delightful,
    Exciting,
    Fluffy,
    Gorgeous,
    Homely,
    Independent,
    Jaunty,
    Killers,
    Lappers,
    Mighty,
    Naughty,
    Osculating,
    Purring,
    Quizzical,
    Reassuring,
    Special,
    Tasty,
    Unrepentant,
    Vexing,
    Wight,*
    Xenodochial,**
    Yare,*** and
    Zappy.

    Xenodochial, I am familiar with, yare, and wight I had to go look for

    * Nimble; strong; courageous
    ** Hospitable; kindly to strangers
    *** Marked by quickness and agility; nimble; prepared; easily handled.

    Take care,

    Mick ☮

    • A stroke of genius and pure generosity. Many thanks Mick. Does this by any chance indicate you might be pro-feline?
      Hugs

      • Wow, I’m blushing ☺ Many thanks David. Yes love cats, in fact I have an obsession with all things living, just one animal that scares me, you too, I should imagine, don’t think I need to name it/them. Anyway I’ll try and visit more often, in fact as soon as I’ve clicked send. Catch you later,
        Mick ☮

      • The one thing I’m none to keen on is sp****s and if I find any inside I have to ask them to leave after which they take their chances. Your obsession with all things living is good, I’m in favour of that as long as they’re not attacking me. Live and let live eh.
        Take care,
        Hugs xx

  22. Feline superiority and the air of indignity only felines can exhibit . . . I love it! I lived with cats for 23 years, all the while allergic and requiring several hospital stays for asthma. But they were my babies, and I’d throw a good hiss at anyone who dared suggest I give them away. I sure miss having feline energy around me. Loved this tale, David🙂 Hugs xxx

    • Felines can manage an air of superiority and an air of indignity with just a look. I know well the asthma that comes with the allergies Tina, it’s no fun but I understand them being your babies.
      Thanks so much for your kind words Tina, I’m glad you enjoyed the read.
      xxx Massive Hugs xxx

  23. Wonderful cat stories – they remind me of my childhood cats Kitty and Tommy!

Leave a Reply

