Daily Archives: July 9, 2017

The End

01.10.2012.

To all my friends and followers of Oscar’s Blog,  I have to tell you that Oscar passed away a few days after his last episode at 18 years old. ( 1st Oct 2012) He’s gone on to new adventures elsewhere.
Thank you for all the kind remarks we’ve had over the course of his adventures.

My very good friend Ali Isaac https://aliisaacstoryteller.com/ has tried to persuade me that I should bombard you with folk tales from my country. I tried hard to disabuse her of the notion that I actually know any but she wouldn’t let me get away with that. So, for a week or two I may see what I can dig up and then decide whether to carry on a little more, dependent on comments.

Branwen ferch Llŷr

Branwen, sister of Brân the Blessed, king of Britain, is given in marriage to Matholwch, king of Ireland. Branwen’s half-brother Efnysien insults Matholwch by mutilating his horses, but Brân gives him new horses and treasure, including a magical cauldron which can restore the dead to life, in compensation. Matholwch and Branwen have a son, Gwern, but Matholwch proceeds to mistreat Branwen, beating her and making her a drudge. Branwen trains a starling to take a message to Bran, who goes to war against Matholwch. His army crosses the Irish Sea in ships, but Brân is so huge he wades across. The Irish offer to make peace, and build a house big enough to entertain Bran, but inside they hang a hundred bags, telling Efnysien they contain flour, when in fact they conceal armed warriors. Efnysien kills the warriors by squeezing the bags. Later, at the feast, Efnysien throws Gwern on the fire and fighting breaks out. Seeing that the Irish are using the cauldron to revive their dead, Efnysien hides among the corpses and destroys the cauldron, although the effort costs him his life. Only seven men, all Britons, survive the battle, including PryderiManawyddan and Bran, who is mortally wounded by a poisoned spear. Brân asks his companions to cut off his head and take it back to Britain. Branwen dies of grief on returning home. Five pregnant women survive to repopulate Ireland.

It strikes me it’s not great to be related to Efnysien, there’s one in every family who insults the new husband at the wedding, not that most throw their nephew on a fire though. I suppose he did try to make up for things by breaking the cauldron but it’s not great when your actions mean the death of the king. Just as well he died.

hitting the bottle

Hitting the Bottle

light sabre

The Initiated and the unimpressed.

I wish you all a wonderful week and remind you to not spare the hugs.A man told me I should offer always to walk a mile in another’s shoes. I would then have a new pair of shoes and be a mile further away from him. Walk in my wisdom.

Song of this week an oldie but weirdie , fantastic voices though https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AX-MyKQlndo

101 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized