The End

01.10.2012.

To all my friends and followers of Oscar’s Blog,  I have to tell you that Oscar passed away a few days after his last episode at 18 years old. ( 1st Oct 2012) He’s gone on to new adventures elsewhere.
Thank you for all the kind remarks we’ve had over the course of his adventures.

My very good friend Ali Isaac https://aliisaacstoryteller.com/ has tried to persuade me that I should bombard you with folk tales from my country. I tried hard to disabuse her of the notion that I actually know any but she wouldn’t let me get away with that. So, for a week or two I may see what I can dig up and then decide whether to carry on a little more, dependent on comments.

Branwen ferch Llŷr

Branwen, sister of Brân the Blessed, king of Britain, is given in marriage to Matholwch, king of Ireland. Branwen’s half-brother Efnysien insults Matholwch by mutilating his horses, but Brân gives him new horses and treasure, including a magical cauldron which can restore the dead to life, in compensation. Matholwch and Branwen have a son, Gwern, but Matholwch proceeds to mistreat Branwen, beating her and making her a drudge. Branwen trains a starling to take a message to Bran, who goes to war against Matholwch. His army crosses the Irish Sea in ships, but Brân is so huge he wades across. The Irish offer to make peace, and build a house big enough to entertain Bran, but inside they hang a hundred bags, telling Efnysien they contain flour, when in fact they conceal armed warriors. Efnysien kills the warriors by squeezing the bags. Later, at the feast, Efnysien throws Gwern on the fire and fighting breaks out. Seeing that the Irish are using the cauldron to revive their dead, Efnysien hides among the corpses and destroys the cauldron, although the effort costs him his life. Only seven men, all Britons, survive the battle, including PryderiManawyddan and Bran, who is mortally wounded by a poisoned spear. Brân asks his companions to cut off his head and take it back to Britain. Branwen dies of grief on returning home. Five pregnant women survive to repopulate Ireland.

It strikes me it’s not great to be related to Efnysien, there’s one in every family who insults the new husband at the wedding, not that most throw their nephew on a fire though. I suppose he did try to make up for things by breaking the cauldron but it’s not great when your actions mean the death of the king. Just as well he died.

hitting the bottle

Hitting the Bottle

light sabre

The Initiated and the unimpressed.

I wish you all a wonderful week and remind you to not spare the hugs.A man told me I should offer always to walk a mile in another’s shoes. I would then have a new pair of shoes and be a mile further away from him. Walk in my wisdom.

Song of this week an oldie but weirdie , fantastic voices though https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AX-MyKQlndo

101 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

101 responses to “The End

  1. Thanks, David. Although I know it was a few years’ back, I’m sorry to hear of Oscar’s passing as it happened at the time (although I’m sure wherever he is, he’s the boss). I am learning no end of lessons from the folk tales. One never knows… Big hugs and have a lovely week, David!

    • I’m quite sure you’re right Olga, thank you.
      I’m sure if you read the Mabinogion while you were in Wales the stories will be familiar to you.
      xxx Gigantic Hugs xxx

  2. Continue on, we would dearly miss your words and perhaps more snippets of wisdom from Oscar!

    • I shall try a little more and see how it goes.thanks. Alas, there are few words of Oscar that haven’t been told over these last months but I do appreciate knowing you enjoyed him.
      xxx Massive Hugs xxx

  3. We will miss Oscar. We knew he had gone over the rainbow bridge but it was like he was still with us. He reminded me of my Frankie who is also over there. Enjoyed it, David. Thanks.

  4. Oscar I am sure is continuing his escapades and adventures from above. The story is certainly interesting, my so much drama back in the day. You are right about the video/song. Very strange another one i am not familiar with. A massive hug for you David from across the pond. Hoping you are well and have a great week. As always this children are adorable.

    • I’m sure you’re right Suzanne, his adventures still continue. Maybe I should employ a ghost writer to get more stories. lol
      What’s really strange about the video is that many people will remember the group Bananarama, who sounded nothing like this, yet they are two thirds of them.
      Thank you for my Hug, I shall have a great week now. I need to persuade a certain Mum to get going with the camera again before I run out of pictures too.
      xxx Hugs Galore xxx

  5. I will grieve albeit late for Oscar. Additionally this tale is epic (as often were Oscar’s) but hard to follow, I’ll reread when the temperature is down enough so my brain functions.Now it is wrapped in plastic like wrap of heat and humidity. I normally come from a hot dry land.

    Take care, cuddle your grand kids, and hugs.
    ~~dru~~

    • Thank you for grieving for Oscar. I agree the folk tale is a little hard to follow and hope I can do better in the future because if not I’ll end them. Today I can agree with you on being superheated so I hope we both get joy of the cool, I’m more used to the rain here.
      Thank you, I’ll cuddle the children tomorrow, I’m grateful for your hugs.
      xxx Huge Hugs xxx

  6. I’m so sorry, David. What a terrible loss. I’m glad you had so much wonderful time together.

    I do hope you’ll continue your blog. I know that I’ll enjoy whatever you decide to write about.

    • Thanks so much Danica, Oscar and I certainly had a long time together. I hope to continue the blog but maybe if the folk stories don’t work out I’ll revert to the diary type blog I used to do, just a little shorter.
      xxx Ginormous Hugs xxx

  7. I knew Oscar was no longer around, but he had a long and wonderful life.
    Aww–so Ireland was populate by five pregnant women. Interesting. 🙂
    That bottle looks almost as big as your granddaughter!
    Many hugs, David!

    • He did have a long and hopefully fun life Merril. He certainly made his own rules.
      Yes, amazing Ireland became so populous again isn’t it. Just 5 pregnant women eh.
      There’s nothing Amelie won’t tackle.
      xxx Hugs Galore xxx

  8. Sending much love. Whatever you decide is best, may you have joy, but I will surely miss the stories…

    • Thank you so much, Love is always appreciated. I’ll try the folk tales but am not sure about them so maybe I’ll revert to the diary blog I used to run. There was still the occasional fun then. I don’t know whether to be sorry or glad you’ll miss the stories,
      xxx Gigantic Hugs xxx

  9. Interesting – I’ve been spending some time with bits and pieces of this tale. A book I’m about to publish was inspired by the ‘cauldron of resurrection’ from the tales of the Mabinogi. of course, I stole it from the legends and totally changed it, but anyone who knows the Welsh legends will know exactly where it came from.

    • I think a lot of what we read, what we write is inspired by folk tales from somewhere Trent. Our interpretations are what matter. I hope I’ve not offered spoilers of your work. I’ll stay with the Mabinogion a few more
      weeks to see how it goes.
      Hugs

  10. Those old myths are always fascinating, but perhaps a little hard to decifer. Could the cauldron have been a metaphor for rebellion? -hugs-

    • I’ve read the Mabinogion and can’t decipher it clearly. A metaphor? Certainly but I couldn’t say what for with any degree of certainty.
      xxx Massive Hugs xxx

      • lol – yeah, probably trying to read too much modern perspective into an old legend. It does make you wonder though, doesn’t it? Where on earth did they get such wild ideas from?

      • You know how things get twisted in repeat word of mouth telling. My Jones went to Newcastle becomes Genghis Khan attacked Rome. Some tribe wants to make their win away from home seem more special in a ‘We have the best chief’ kind of way. Wish they had dragons though.
        xxx Cwtch xxx

      • LMAO – that was very funny Lord Daud! I wish they had dragons too. 🙂

  11. Dear David, thank you for letting us get to know Oscar, he’s now with all of us too.
    Thank you for the tales and the pictures…so not the end, just more journeys. Hope the week ahead treats you and yours kindly. 🙂
    Massive walking in wisdom hugs, dear friend xoxox

    • Hello Dear Donna, I was happy to let you get to know Oscar as it let me off having to think about what to write.More journeys maybe, I’ll have to see how the folk tales go down….and make them a little easier to understand too, I’m glad you like the pictures, at least they’re easy to come by.
      I hope your week is exceptionally nice
      xxx Humongous Hugs xxx

  12. Oscar lives on in all our hearts. It must’ve been a devastating loss to you and yours. Interesting tale, David. I love the pictures of the grandbabies. Hugs sent your way.

    • You mean I haven’t even got rid of him yet Mary J? Ju was certainly devastated at his loss but I think it reminded her of her own mortality which was just months away.
      Thank you, it wasn’t the easiest tale to understand was it bur I’m glad you enjoyed the pictures.
      xxx Huge Hugs winging their way back to you xxx

  13. I enjoyed the tales of Oscar David – despite knowing he was not here with you any more. I think so many of us have tales to share of our pets, but you took it a step further and let Oscar speak in the voice he may well have had, had there been opposable thumbs in the mix. xoxo

    • I’m really glad you enjoyed Oscar’s voice Pauline. I think that was his voice with or without the thumbs, it mainly said “I’m in charge.”It’s good you adjusted to him despite knowing he’d crossed the rainbow bridge.
      xxx Ginormous Hugs xxx

  14. How brave you are for being able to post about Oscar again. I believe when my own girls go I’ll be unable to even look at images of them again for fear of breaking down. They capture such a large part of our hearts. 🤗

    • What made my life easy was I recorded Oscar when he was alive and he wrote his book. That’s meant I only had to post chapters that were already done. Pets do capture a large part of our hearts but sometimes revisiting them can be a comfort.
      xxx Mega Hugs xxx

  15. Doesn’t time fly? and our memories get stronger I think…I still remember each and every one of my pets who have gone over that rainbow bridge either when a song plays, another pet does the same thing or someone reminisces, lots of triggers but we never forget…Carry on with your tales if they make you happy to write them you will always have your followers 🙂

    • Yes, time gallops by. I swear it was Christmas just a couple of weeks ago. It’s easy to remember our pets where they’ve been included as family and been as important as. Where their antics make us laugh or where their little oddities make them stand out. Oscar was family even though he wasn’t head of the family as he thought.
      I’ll carry on with folk tales for a while but may stop if they’re not well thought of. You have a lot more faith in followers than I who know they’re easy to lose except maybe a real core.
      xxx Massive Hugs xxx

  16. Reblogged this on meatdoesntgrowinmygarden and commented:
    as something to wait for the next (final?) instalment of Ausone’s notebook

  17. If he had a good life (am sure he had!) then all is fine. Loosing a cat is just pure horror Hugs

  18. David, here’s sending you hugs from across the great pond. Thanks for sharing Oscar with us.

  19. Well, this sounds like a lively event all round! It sort of reminds me of a wedding in Northampton. Very enjoyable, love it.
    xxx No Hugs Spared In The Slightest xxx

  20. I’m so sorry to hear of Oscar’s passing but feel that he will be still entertaining others with wit and wisdom in some other place. Big hugs! Emma xx

    • Thanks so much Emma. I’m sure he will still be talking about himself to someone he has pinned in a corner. Actually it’s probably my Julia who loved him to bits anyway.
      xxx Massive Hugs xxx

  21. I am sorry to hear of Oscar’s passing. You will have so many special memories. Greetings from a descendant of those pregnant women. 😊

  22. Oscar’s light shines on and tremendous hugs flow across The Dee to you and yours. xXx ❤

  23. Oscar’s passing may have been in 2012 but it still brought tears to my eyes. These were soon wiped away by The Initiated and The Unimpressed and I ended with a guffaw at the take on the Walk Two Moons aphorism!

    • I’m sorry to have brought a tear to your eye Sarah but as I didn’t have a tissue handy I was happy to be able to wipe it away with a guffaw.
      xxx Ginormous Hugs to you xxx ❤

  24. I admit it: Oscar reminded me of Sailor whose Longlegs I was and he too passed away some years ago but came alive in Oscar. Thanks for that David and yes: more stories please 🙂 Million Hugs

    • I think it’s nice that Oscar reminds so many owners of their special pets that crossed the rainbow bridge. Perhaps they all had an input into his tales.
      .But, onwards and upwards now, those days are over. New worlds to conquer.
      xxx Gigantic Hugs Ina xxx

  25. Sad time but great memories that you and Oscar have shared, David.x

  26. Poor old Oscar. Sounds as though he had a very good innings, though. And…Big Bran Blessed…all those shenanigans, he should have been an actor – oh, hang on…

  27. Those old legends are always so bloody! Yikes. Cute photo of the initiated and the unimpressed. Ha ha. Mega hugs, David. I will remember Oscar with fondness. 🙂

    • That must be what happens when you don’t have TV, I’m glad you liked the photos and that you’ll think kindly of Oscar….my tormentor !
      xxx Ginormous Hugs Diana xxx

  28. It was strange being in that timewarp with Oscar, especially since my Oscar has just had his third birthday. But I’m sure he’s watching from the rainbow bridge, enjoying us enjoying his adventures again.
    XXX Hugs XXXX

    • It was actually funny reliving Oscar’s adventures over again. I thought I had a couple of weeks left yet so I caught my breath when I checked and found we’d had the last one last week. You’re right though, he’ll be up there basking in his fan’;s adoration.
      xxx Humongous Hugs xxx

  29. I am glad to have met Oscar, even long after his demise.

    Ah…folk tales!
    Somewhere – for surely no one would want to steal it – I have a collection of the folk tales of England,Wales and Ireland (not Scotland where such things were probably wiped out by the Wee Free).
    Among cauldrons giving life, women being produced from flowers and the sites and names of the sacred trees of England I passed many an hour when young, doubtless mispronouncing the lot.
    Discovered in this by my paternal grandmother she took the book from me and locked it up, pronouncing it to be heathen nonsense and in very bad taste.
    I got the book back at the end of the holidays and determinedly read it all the way on the train home to compensate.

    • Thank you Helen.Oscar would have reciprocated, he did have good taste mainly.
      Folk Tales, meant to generate pride in the younger generation but nowadays they’re met by scoffs. No-one believes in dragons, the fae or magic cauldrons anymore so there’s a chance that 1% off truth may disappear forever.
      That heathen nonsense must have been a wonderful read back then. I envy you your train ride home.
      I’m hoping to open up a world of Welsh wonder to my grandchildren in the not too distant future and hopefully their father won’t catch me.
      xxx Gigantic Hugs xxx

  30. Thank you for the folk tale! They always make me happy I didn’t live back then–what a bunch of nasty ruffians, especially Efnysien, who reminds me of Ramsay Bolton in “Game of Thrones.”

    • You’re welcome. I can’t help but wonder just what the truth was before it became so embellished. Probably nothing exciting at all. I don’t know Ramsay Bolton I’m afraid but I can guess what you mean. Efnysien doesn’t sound the perfect friend.
      xxx Massive Hugs xxx

  31. 😥 😥 😥 I so enjoyed Oscar and I will miss him, as I’m sure you have for several years. R.I.P. dear Oscar.
    That said, I’m up for some folk tales from across the water — anything that brings some smiles! 🙂
    Many hugs to you, dear David!

    • I’m glad you enjoyed Oscar Jill. It was a shock this week to find I’d used the last one. I’m sure he’ll appreciate being missed.
      I’m going to give the folk tales a try but I’m not fully on board yet. Not sure they’ll generate smiles though since there’s nearly always a bloodbath somewhere.
      xxx Gargantuan Hugs Jill xxx

      • Yes, I am as yet undecided about the folk tales, but …. you simply cannot disappear from blogger-world! You are family! So … you must find some niche, whether it’s the folk tales or something else. I would miss you too terribly if you left. 😥 And I would miss seeing the pics of those gorgeous grandbabes! If nothing else, I do have an idea for you, but I’m fairly certain you won’t like it, so I’ll hold onto it for a bit. 😀
        xxx Cwtch Mawr xxx

      • Hmmm, colour me curious.
        xxx Cwtch xxx

      • 😀 😀 😀
        Big, HUGE hugs, Amigo! 🙂

  32. Certainly not ‘The End’, I hope? Oscar’s memory will live on in many of our imaginations thanks to yours…and please continue to share your weekly snippets of folklore, fun kiddie pics and musical interludes. Très GROS calins! xo

    • Perhaps not quite the end yet then Mel. I need to improve my retelling of the folklore an awful lot before I’d decide to carry on with that but pictures of the children and my music choices are no problem.
      xxx Love n’ Massive Hugs xxx

  33. A charming little story that explains many things I have often wondered about the Irish! I realise Oscar went to his Maker sometime ago, but I must honour his memory, nonetheless. hugs, from Fred.

    • I’m always glad to be able to clear up any queries Frederick, even on subjects I know nothing about.
      Most kind of you to honour Oscar’s memory, it’s much appreciated. Thank you.
      Hugs

  34. Well, Oscar led a long, comfortable, and interesting life. He’s been immortalized by your stories. That’s a lot more than most cats can lay claim to. Cute pictures of the children. I couldn’t connect with the song from here for some reason. With the name, I could probably pull it up on Youtube. xxxMassive Hugsxxx 🙂 — Suzanne

  35. So sorry we’ve come to the end of Oscar’s rule, but it’s good to know that his story never really ends as you’ve kept him alive here. Gotta admit the cat’s got some flair. Good to see the kiddos. Big hugs to you my friend. 💗

    • Hi Steph, he had a good run but as long as the book’s about I don’t think he’ll ever die really. Glad you enjoyed seeing the photos.
      xxx Gigantic Hugs xxx

      • Oh he most definitely will live on. I know there are bunches of stories I’ve missed so I can go back at my leisure and read on more of his escapades.

  36. Nothing brings our loved ones closer than telling their stories. Good for you for sharing the wonder of Oscar. 🙂

    • Thanks so much Jenny. I’ve actually had loads of fun reading how others felt about Oscar’s escapades. It seems giving an animal some human qualities in order for him to tell his own story is quite acceptable.
      xxx Unlimited Hugs xxx

  37. As you’ve already proven, David, Oscar has already achieved immortality.
    Well done.

  38. Raising a glass to Oscar. Take care, David.

  39. Oscar is smiling down on us at all the lovely comments and words he receives xx I’m hoping you’ll continue on writing as I like reading your clever posts ❤

    • As always Christy you’re very kind to me. Thank you. I’ll see how I feel about the Myths and legends (feet?) and maybe revert to another diary format if I’m not happy with it.
      xxx Massive Hugs xxx

  40. The tale is lovely, David, but Hitting the Bottle and The Initiated and the Unimpressed made my day! Sending a barrel of hugs your way ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

  41. Cats have 9 lives and I have lamented over Oscar 3 times already. Six more laments to go…😟

  42. Precious ending.. Last drop in that bottle of your adorable grandbaby!💗💗💗

  43. 1. Gorgeous kids.

    2. Before you decide about walking a mile in someone else’s shoes, check out their shoe size.

Leave a Reply

