Haunted Plas Teg

Plas teg

Plas Teg is a Jacobean country house located in Flintshire, at Pontblyddyn between the towns of Mold and Wrexham. One of the most haunted houses in Wales, this mansion was built in 1610 by Welsh politician Sir John Trevor I (1563 – 1630), for his family and him to live in.

It served as a home for the Trevor family until the death of Sir Trevor’s wife, Lady Margaret Trevor, and the outbreak of the English Civil War, which saw the family leave the home and move to one of their many other properties. The property was tenanted out during this time.

The Trevor’s resided here again until 1930, when it was sold to the War Office and used as housing for soldiers during the Second World War. It was during this time that plas teg hall slipped into a period of decay up until the 1950’s, when it was put forward for demolition. If it wasn’t for a public outcry it would have gone ahead. Instead, a descendant of the Trevor family, Patrick Trevor-Roper, came forward and took over the property. With a little help from the Historic Buildings Council, he partially restored the building. He leased out the house until 1977, when it was Mr and Mrs William Llewelyn that purchased it.

Mr and Mrs Llewelyn only used the ground floor of the house, resulting in the rest of the house becoming little more than a ruin. However, fortunes soon picked up for plas teg, when Cornelia Bay bought the house for £75,000 in 1986. With help from the CADW (Historic Environment division of the Welsh Government) in the form of £199,000 and another £211,000 from Cornelia’s own pocket, plas teg underwent a £400,000 renovation project. Just 10 months after buying the house in 1986, Cornelia opened Plas Teg house to the public, and it still is to this day.

Plas Teg Ghosts

Plas Teg House is reportedly one of the most haunted buildings in all of Wales. There is said to be no fewer than 15 ghosts lurking in its rooms and hallways. As well as serving as a residence for over 400 years, it’s also believed to have been used as a local court, where people were often tried and hung. It was also said to have been used as a sanatorium, although no records have been found to support this. With such a varied history stretching back so far, the fact that there are a number of ghost stories at Plas Teg is of little surprise.

Plas Teg Ghost Stories

It is said the ghost of Sir John Trevor I’s daughter, Dorothy haunts the A541 that runs past Plas Teg. The story goes, she fell in love with a local farmer’s son named Iorwerth. Her father knew of her feelings for Iorwerth and disapproved, forbidding her from seeing him. Determined to follow her heart, she planned to elope with him, taking her jewels with her that she had previously buried near the well in anticipation for when the night came to run away. When the night came, Dorothy ran out to the well to retrieve her jewellery box, but due to the darkness she slipped and fell down the well to her death.  It is believed that it is her ghost that people have been seeing for years on the A541. Could she be running to meet her love Iorwerth? Is she the woman in white?

Her body was discovered 2 months later, however, her jewels were missing. Iorwerth was so distraught at her death and feared being accused of her murder, he hung himself. His ghost is also believed to haunt the grounds, looking for his beloved Dorothy.

On one occasion during the late 1800’s early 1900’s, a gardener is reported to have felt hands grabbing his shoulder trying to pull him down the well. He struggled free and looked down at the dark water beneath and saw nothing.

Throughout the house, the sound of loud wailing is often heard. Could this be the ghost of John Trevor V who died sometime in the mid 18th Century? He apparently discovered his wife’s affair, and her death came shortly after, believed to be by the hands of John. Drunk and guilt ridden, he drove his carriage at high speed through the grounds of Plas Teg, hitting a tree and severely injuring himself. Due to the injuries he sustained, he died a slow and agonising death.

A young 16 year old named Elizabeth Trevor-Roper also died aged 16 at Plas Teg in 1815. Reportedly, two men had fallen for her but she only loved one of them. The one who she refused, in a fit of jealous rage, killed the man she loved, then chased Elizabeth all the way back to the house. Terrified he might kill her next, there was a struggle, and Elizabeth either slipped or was pushed down the well, and ultimately drowned. Is it their ghosts that are reportedly seen running through the corridor? A woman in white clutching jewels pursued by a man with a bloody wound to his shoulder…

Other Reports

Throughout the house people have reported being touched/prodded, and even pushed by an unseen entity. Another common occurrence is the sudden emotional changes in different areas of the house. People are often overcome with anger, sadness, despair, and happiness.

The sounds of giggling, sobbing, knocking, whispering, talking, and footsteps are also regular occurrences throughout.

Taken from the Haunted Rooms site  at https://www.hauntedrooms.co.uk

the long and the short of it

The Long and The Short of It

finally where he belongs

Behind Bars at Last

yes, her too

Yes, Her Too.

One of the main reasons I’m taking time away from the computer is because of a bout of cellulitis which a lot of people think means I have chubby thighs from a little extra flab. Nothing could be further from the truth, well no further than my waistline anyway.

Cellulitis is a deep seated bacterial skin infection often linked to diabetes. The affected area often feels hot and tender. In most cases, the skin on the lower legs is affected, although the infection can occur anywhere on your body or face. Cellulitis usually affects the surface of your skin, but it may also affect the underlying tissues of your skin. Cellulitis can also spread to your lymph nodes and bloodstream. It can lead to death. Mine has affected my lower legs but this time the deep seated infection hit just my right leg and foot. The foot was first and became raw meat. That’s hopefully on the way to healing after two lots of antibiotics and some hydrocortisone cream. The problem now is the leg between ankle and knee which has swollen to about 50% larger than the left leg and has also become sore and tender. So far the skin in unbroken.

swollen leg (2)

swollen leg (1)

I don’t think this picture shows just how much the right leg is swollen but I’m sure you can see why it’s hard to stay too long sitting at the computer.

Have a fantastic week all and be happy. Then spread that happiness around with plenty of hugs.

56 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

56 responses to “Haunted Plas Teg

  1. Love ghost stories and aren’t the ones about prohibited love the best. Sorry to read about your foot David and hope gets better soon. Hugs and Cheers

  2. The human body is hard to keep going. Sorry to hear you are struggling with this. Keep us updated please. Hope you heal up soon. Hugs

  3. No matter how interesting your stories, they are invariably upstaged by your grandchildren! Sending healing hugs for the horror of the cellulitis. xx

  4. Thanks for the ghost stories, David. They’re so creepy! Two of the ghosts look just like your grandchildren, except those two aren’t scary at all. Take very good care of your feet and legs and I hope you see some improvement soon. Massive Hugs!

  5. The ghost stories were almost as scary as your legs. 😦 Please take care of yourself. – hugs-

  6. Thank You, Lord David, for a very interesting history lesson. I am fascinated with Ghosts who inhabit Mansions.
    Wishing you a speedy recovery! I just learned I have Diabetes as well . . . hope I do not have to experience your pain.

    Best,

    Mike

    • I think if you’re well behaved with the diabetes control Mike, life can carry on pretty well. At least cellulitis is not a given but if your legs start getting very dry it’s a good idea to moisturise. I hope you never get to suffer the discomfort.
      Look after yourself.
      Hugs
      David

  7. It might be fun to be haunted by your grandchildren. Hope your right leg returns to normal quickly.

  8. I am so sorry that you are feeling so uncomfortable and hope you can put your legs up to reduce the swelling until the pills take effect.
    Lovely photographs of the children….

  9. I don’t know about hauntings, but it sure sounds like plas teg was unlucky for its residents! And that well… my word! 😮

    So, so sorry to hear about the cellulitis. Been dealing with it and fibromyalgia-related neuropathy since last fall. The question I hear most in this house is “why aren’t your feet elevated?” 😄😄 I try to be good… sometimes. 😏

    Sending up prayers for support and a full recovery for you. Enjoy your week. ❤

    • Yes, I think I’m glad I don’t live there Felicia. I certainly wouldn’t be drinking well water.
      You certainly have my sympathy if you have cellulitis too. I’ve never been given any direction as to feet up, feet down, go dancing whatever, so if you get asked about having yours elevated, I shall do so as much as possible now.
      Thank you for the good wishes
      xxx Hugs Galore xxx

  10. OUCH – Hope you get well again SOOOON, David

  11. I wondered after your last post if cellulitis was to blame. My brother has suffered a couple of bouts of it, then got gout. The gout diet (foods to avoid, foods forbidden) seems to have helped the cellulitis as well.
    Look after yourself. (Advice I should use myself, really)
    xxxx Gentle hugs xxxx

    • No, no, not gout too I couldn’t stand it. What if I ever wanted a drink of port?
      (only joking).. Perhaps if I were more rigid in the diabetes control……..
      Yes, please take your own advice and look after yourself, I wouldn’t want to have to tell you off.
      xxx Massive Hugs xxx

  12. Take lots of care, David. Unfortunately, diabetes makes the healing of any conditions more complicated so don’t worry about anything other than your health. And thanks for the information. Indeed the place has seen more than its fair share of tragedy. Big hugs!

    • Too much care may mean a very boring (if longer) life Olga. I’ve been on borrowed time for years.
      Some places seem to attract tragedy and I swear the very walls soak it up.
      xxx Gigantic Hugs xxx

  13. Look after yourself, David. Those legs of yours are scarier than the story 🙂

  14. Oh! I love a good ghost story, thanks for sharing.

  15. A hug to you from me. ~~dru~~

  16. Wonderful ghost stories, David! Hope you feel better soon x

  17. Oh dear. Hope you feel better before long x But doIlove a good ghost story.Look after yourself, David.x

  18. The house looks amazing and I am sure the ghostly giggles of your gorgeous grandchildren scare the beejaysus out of passing tourists! So sorry about your legs.Looks so painful. Wishing you better. x

    • What a great idea you’ve given me Niamh. I’ll get them a length of chain each, cut up a couple of pillowcases and rent them out as ghosts. You’re right, they can scare passing tourists as much as the scare me.
      Thank you very much. I’m sure they’ll be fine soon.
      xxx Unlimited Hugs xxx

  19. Thank you for the haunted house tales. It’s funny that it’s been habited so often despite the stories and/or ghost sightings. Have you been there?
    Your grandkids are so cute. I’m sure their smiling faces brighten your spirits.
    I’m so sorry to hear about the cellulitus. I hope you’re feeling better soon. Hugs!

    • I suppose some people would live there just to prove they don’t give credence to ghosts, others perhaps just to say they live in a haunted house. We’re a funny lot really. I’ve been past any number of times but until recently I had no idea they did tours. The kids lift my spirits right up until they want a ride on my foot. I’ll be fine soon thanks Merril.
      xxx Hugs Galore xxx

  20. Thank you for letting us know about your health, my thoughts are with you and I’m wishing you a speedy recovery! With fall on the horizon your spooky story is a good fit, creating perfect shivers!

  21. David, thanks so much for these Welsh ghost stories. So many ghosts in one place make me think that the house is not a place to visit, especially at night. That well especially sounds very dangerous.
    I hope you are feeling better very soon.
    Hugs to you.

    • Hello Hugh, I’m glad you’ve enjoyed the stories ( up to now). I think you’re right that it’s not a place to visit or at least stay in, but if you do, don’t drink the water, it may be haunted.
      Huge Hugs

  22. No matter what, Dai Bach, I still think you have lovely legs! Seriously, I hope they recover for you soon. The well at Plas Teg has a lot to answer for, doesn’t it? If anybody offers a drink of the water I should think it would be prudent to refuse. Remember Noel Coward?
    There’s the ghost of a mad yougest son,
    Who was murdered in 1541;
    An extremely rowdy nun
    Who resented it,
    And people who come to call
    Meet her in the hall.
    Oh, I love these stately piles and their legends. May they long endure! Hugs, David; many hugs!

    • Don’t worry Frederick, should I ever go there I shall carry a hip flask of some restorative liquid. I love the Noel Coward ditty, he met a few stately piles in his time and probably visited their properties too. I hope they long endure, there’s nothing like a bit of history.
      Many Hugs back to you my friend.

  23. Love real hauntings and they’re true. I am thrilled about ghost – let’s know the spirit lives on. How time flies and promotes growing. Your grand babies seem to be having a grand time. Oh how they are growing faster than time. Precious moments Hugz & Smiles!!!

    • Whilst I don’t doubt hauntings and I’m sure the energy from tragic events can stay in the ground, I’m sure lots of these building are exaggerated. My grandies are having the time of their lives but I can’t keep up with the speed they’re growing up. My grandson starts school next week. Where has the time gone? Is seems Christmas was a couple of months ago and here we are in the 9th month again. It’s a Government plat to help the economy, they pinch hours when we’re asleep.
      xxx Huge Hugs xxx

  24. Oh David, you poor thing! You really have got it bad. Are you on antibiotics or any kind of treatment for that? I hope it clears up soon, it must be so sore. As for the haunted house, I was cheering about its refurbishment… until you mentioned the ghosts. No way could I live there! But what an amazing history it has.

    • Had two lots of antibiotics so far maybe I’ll get more from them when I go for my diabetic review today.
      I think I’d risk the ghosts in order to live there Ali, maybe I could help the ghosts move on but the history of the house just draws me on so I would put up with them. At least they can’t take up much room.
      xxx Massive Hugs xxx

  25. Good ghost story. I don’t think I’d get anywhere near the well on the property. That’s certainly a house with an unhappy history. Sorry, I’m late getting to this. I now have an internet connection by stick I can plug in. I don’t know what I’m paying for as my Hi-fi hasn’t been working well lately. Lovely pictures of the children. Thanks for the music. 🙂 — Suzanne

  26. Looks like Amelie is picking up lots from her big brother 🙂 Two buddies 🙂
    So very sorry about your leg, David. Hope the antibiotics will work well. Sending good vibes. Many Hugs! xxxxxx

Leave a Reply

