Daily Archives: October 8, 2017

Starting the week wrong.

Monday.

I woke at 4.15 am to news of the attack in Las Vegas. There are so many stories doing the rounds that it’s hard to know what the truth is…..if we ever will, though it does look like another case of home grown terrorism and not something that can be blamed on another minority group creating even more hate. It left me distracted all morning though I can’t blame it for what happened here. I must have nodded off during my programme and woken up during the next one which I carried on watching oblivious to the fact it had changed. When I realised and saw what time it was I jumped up ( well my imagination jumped, I rose with dignity) and put some bacon under the grill. I was standing there minutes later looking at the flames as a decoration to my meal. I’d had some polystyrene boxes on top of the grill to store the pods in for my coffee machine. They were melting and dripping down ( they missed the bacon- phew) and also burning. I actually achieved speed and that wasn’t dignified at all. I managed to get it out and save my bacon at the same time.(pun intended).                                                                                                                     During the afternoon I managed to avoid killing Joey or myself, not that he showed a lot of gratitude when emptying the husk from his seed onto the floor three days before Sharon comes to clean it. I suppose I’ll have to put my pinny on.

Tuesday. 

3.10 am this morning. I went through to the kitchen and took my meds then had my Weetabix before making a coffee to take back to my bedroom to work. There was plenty of mail as usual but a bit extra because of the post I’d done on my Buthidars blog about yesterday’s tragedy.                                                                                                                            By 7.30 am I was dressed and at 8.00 am I left the house and walked to the bus stop. It was very unnerving with so many schoolchildren waiting. Fortunately when the bus came, it stopped near me giving me the chance to queue jump and get a seat. 5 minutes later and I was in Holywell with plenty of time to walk to the surgery to get my flu jab. I was on my way again at 9.10 am having left them sweets for their tea break. I did leave confused though. Yesterday I’d had a letter with forms for some blood tests. I mentioned to Yvonne that I’d had one of them less than two weeks ago. She came back and texted that the Doctor wanted them repeated. Fine. The nurse who gave me the flu jab told me she was the one who’d spoken to Yvonne and that the tests were wanted even if I had them recently.As I left the surgery moments later my phone beeped. A text from Yvonne saying she’d just had a phone call. Blood tests weren’t needed and I could save the form to use in three months. Talk about confused. I took an executive decision, I’ll have them, By the time I’d got home they’d been arranged for early Friday morning so I can take an earlier bus and miss the hordes.                                                                                                        I decided not to set fire to the house today and just had baked beans on toast for lunch.

posh pants 3a

Wednesday.

3.24 am this morning when I got up, relieved my bladder ( in the toilet honest) then went for my drugs and breakfast. Two small pieces of toast today and I didn’t enjoy either, I wish it was the same with the food I like. I worked most of the morning on my emails but I did get one letter through the post too. It included a certificate for me as a supporter of IFAW. It’s a little annoying that they send these certificates out to people who have made a donation to them but include a request for more donations. I make a donation to a charity every month via direct debit, I generally support people collecting for good causes in the street and Mike invariably guides me towards them so I feel obliged. I also make payments from paypal for causes like these disasters from the hurricanes but I still feel guilty when I can’t cough up on a regular basis for all the ones who write to me. I wish Mystic Mog would tell me when my big lottery win is going to be. Maybe I could issue IOU’s then.                                                                                                                                     I slipped a bit and went to the chippy at lunchtime and followed that with an hour in my chair. Back to work until clear at 3.45 pm. Dil arrived at 4.10 pm which was nice but when it came to gaming the news is not good. I lost at Yahtzee, I lost at Nomination though I did win at cribbage. I couldn’t throw him out quick enough. There was a fair bit of work to get through again and then I checked the lottery to find Mystic Mog can’t have meant tonight either.

posh pants 4a

Thursday.

I had my breakfast out of the way by 3.30 am. I had Weetabix again and I was going to try and be brave and eat 3 like Amelie but knew I couldn’t (and shouldn’t with all that sugar). So, I put the two in a large bowl and made it look like I was eating a very small breakfast. It worked too until I opened my big mouth and told myself. I took a coffee back to my desk, checked out the bank then started on the emails. At 9.15 am I’d finished most so got dressed and went out to Pauline’s. I needed extra milk ( must have more toast for breakfast) and my lottery tickets for tomorrow and Saturday. It’s a record prize on the Eurolottery tomorrow night.                                                                                                       When I got back I had to miss my morning programme with Joey again as I was writing some personal mail. Joey wasn’t amused and told me off again. At lunchtime while I was in the kitchen I filled the bird-bath to clip to the front of Joey’s cage as he always starts chattering loudly when I run water, from the tap I mean. I never knew a budgie could make his bottom beak sulk like that. Even when I came back to work I didn’t hear a sound from him, especially the sound of him taking a bath. I didn’t expect him to sing arias though it might have been nice. I had to remove it when I gave up work and went through to him at 4.30 pm. While I was working my cleaner had been and because he hadn’t been near his seed the floor was still pristine. I might try it again.                           Michael (full name as he’s been teasing me) arrived at about 8.00 pm. He’s lucky I’m going to let him stay in bed in the morning while I go for my bloods.                                  One wonderful piece of news to share with you, the latest Great Nephew, Elliot , was born this morning at 4.45 am. He’s 8lb 6 oz. A wonderful addition to the family.

elliot 1

Friday.

I was up at 2.17 am and worked till 3.00 am before going to do my drugs for the week then have my breakfast. At 7.30 am I went to catch my bus to town and was in the hospital by 8.00 am. By 8.20 am they’d emptied an arm and I’d started off for town again with the floppy arm trying to control my crutch ( come on girls, try to keep it clean now). There was a bus in when I got there which had my home again by 8.45 am. Needless to say Mike was still in his bed asleep. I started work again.                                                           He got up unaided about 8.55 am and just reboiled the kettle and made his drink. He only realised something was different when he saw my shoes. He asked whether I was going out or had already been. I took my shoes off. Mike watched Homes Under the Hammer while I continues to work and then he left to go to Manchester at 11.00 am, I’d started one particular email at 10.00 am and was still on the same one at 11.30 am when I suddenly noticed no words were appearing on the page. Not only that but my cursor had St Vitus’ dance. I hadn’t been able to cure it by 11.45 am so I went off to start peeling sweet potatoes for my lunch.                                                                                                             At 1.00 pm I came back hoping it had cured itself as it did last week, the first time this had happened. It hadn’t, it didn’t. All afternoon I kept trying to see if it was ready, but no. Mike got back at almost 6.00 pm just as I was in my room turning the computer off in frustration. At 8.30 pm I came and turned it on again to see what would happen. Hallelujah, it came on AND (big inhalation of breath) gave me a message that I’d closed down incorrectly (like I didn’t know) and would I like to restore? Would I? Too right. When it did so the long email I’d been working on was still there. I spent ten minutes finishing that so I could get it off before finding and completing two short but important ones and then facing the other 102. It was a late night. You’re worth it.

keep fit 10

Saturday.

3.18 am up and heading for the loo. Hands washed very quietly to make sure I didn’t wake Rip Van from his slumbers and then to the kitchen for breakfast. I took my coffee back to my room and started work on the mail. That took me to 5.45 ish of the am and as it was too soon to start making Mike’s coffee I took care of the old papers and carried the recycling out to beyond the flower beds and then took the wheelie bin and food waste bins down there too. By the time I’d done that it was rapidly approaching Alarm 1 so I put the kettle on (it still doesn’t suit me) and put the makings in his mug. It boiled nicely in time with the first alarm. I placed his cup on his table in the lounge and went through to tell him it was there. Now I just had to listen to two more alarms and hope he got up on the fourth one- he did.                                                                                                                  By 7.00 am we were on the road and I was so grateful his eyes were actually open. Sometimes it’s a near run thing. In the Supermarket at 7.15 am and out again at 8.30 am In the next one by 8.45 am when I even had a second breakfast to keep him company and so that I got his fried bread and he had my egg. Even after getting some shopping in we had still managed to get to Flint by 9.30 am and had the chance to go in a couple of favourite shops before going for our coffee in Temptations. We got so far ahead of time there was chance to go for some frozen food and take it home before thinking of lunch. We were at cross purposes for that trip and I thought we were going to one place and Mike thought I’d agreed to another where in actual fact all I’d said is that he hadn’t enjoyed the meal there last time. So naturally he turned the car for where he thought I wanted. No easy place to turn round so we ended up with a nice back country run.     Lunch was nice and I had something I haven’t had in years, a quarter pounder with chips and a side salad  ( for my health police, you know who you are). Mike had the same with cheese and no-one tells him off.                                                                                We came straight home afterwards so I could try and slowly catch up and apart from a break from 5-8 pm I’ve been chained here ever since.

agility test

Sunday.

Have you ever seen a Brian Rix farce? You know how the situations are funny but you know they couldn’t really happen like that? Well change you mind, I took part in a comedy of errors this morning. I was up soon after 3.00 am. Tabs and breakfast behind me I started work. I knew Mike had set his alarm for 7.00 am ( not that he’d get up then) and I having checked the weather outside can tell him to turn the alarm off and go back to sleep or announce his coffee was ready. Somehow I heard no alarm at 7.00 am and I must have relaxed. Mike allowed his clock to go off three times and then got up before he realised I hadn’t called him.                                                                                                                  In a panic that I’d died before rewriting my will in his favour he came through to my room where he swears I was sitting with my head folded back, mouth open, snoring as I tapped my keyboard in a demented fashion. I came too at 8.10 am realised I’d been asleep and went through to see if Mike was up or if I’d got away with it. As I passed his room, there he was happily sleeping the day away, sighs of relief…….until I reached the kitchen and saw he’d put coffee and sugar in his cup ready to make a coffee. I’d been caught. I just left him there as the weather was so bad there’s be no carboot sale.              A bit later when we went out we went to check when the indoor sales would be starting only to be told as there was building work where the traders usually unload they wouldn’t be starting. Please, don’t take my carboots away till next year, Nooooooo.         Lunch was a pleasant affair though we neither of us enjoyed the meat for the first time ever. Afterwards we took a trip to Rhyl to a very large shop we both like. I’m afraid Christmas shopping is becoming much more of a reality and ideas in short supply. We came home and Mike did the flowers for Ju while I started work. I put the grand prix on for him when he finished but he didn’t leave it long before deciding to be on his way. I packed his Red Cross parcel for him and waved him off. I worked until almost 6.30 pm when Joey called me through for a film, typical it had started ten minutes earlier.  Once 9.00 pm arrived it was time to concentrate on catching up, seeing to the blog and getting a read if I’m lucky.

Have a wonderful new week. Share the love, the hugs and the smiles as we never know if people have had to do without such things in their lives.

76 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized