New Year Starter.

It’s January 1st 2013 and as usual I’m sitting at my desk dealing with the gazillions of emails I get a day. Some times I open one and get surprised. This is one of those. 

one-lovely-blog-award      The very kind Belle DiMonte ( apologies but I have no idea how to get an accent over the final E ) has nominated me for an award. I know I normally post these under their own little section but as the day itself is special as is the award I thought for a change I’d share it. In all honesty I have no idea why my Blog has been awarded this award since it’s not a regular contributor to the blog world and when it is there may be a touch of the self pity’s about it, all in all probably not the best blog to raise a smile. However I was only thinking this morning that maybe I should increase my output and maybe I can learn some positivity to pass round.

So, my undying thanks to Belle since the rules say I must thank my nominator and as part of the rules I must share 7 things with my readers as well as passing the award on to 7 other unfortunates who then have to find 7 things to share. Let’s start……….

1. I died from an asthma attack aged about 5  but was brought back.

2. I used to have a very high IQ but never enough common sense.

3. I was once offered a place at an art college but was too young to be allowed to go.

4. My first name is David but some family members still call me Michael so as not to confuse me with my father.

5. I was born on an RAF base outside the UK.

6. Though I have no problem writing blogs I couldn’t have a conversation with a stranger.

7. I like the milk to be inside my cup before the tea is poured.

And Now, the 7 Blogs I nominate

1. Like a bump on a Blog             http://amberrisme.com/?wref=bif

2.Emma Woodcock                      http://emmawoodcock.wordpress.com/

3. L Leander                                    http://lleander11.wordpress.com/

4. Colinology                                  http://colinon.wordpress.com/

5. Roxie’s Blog                               http://roxieh.wordpress.com/

6. I kissed my date Goodnight  http://ruthrutherford.wordpress.com/

7. Circles in the sky.                     http://circlesinthesky.wordpress.com/

Now all that remains for me to do is notify them

To all those of you who’ve shown so much kindness and not just a little patience over the last year let me say HAPPY NEW YEAR, may 2013 be the year that gives you Health, Wealth and Happiness in abundance.

Hugs

David

33 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

33 responses to “New Year Starter.

  1. David, of course I ‘liked’ this – very much! There is something about your writing that makes reading about things like a simple cup of latte meaningful. I don’t find self-pity here.
    All the very best to you and Ju!
    Maria

    • Thank you for making an old man very happy- and me as well. If I’m making drinking a cup of latte meaningful maybe I should be in advertising? Or perhaps racy books where he eyes her up over the brown sugar.
      I hope the New Year started well for you and the whole of 2013 is a year of great Happiness for you. xx Hugs

      • Thank you for making me smile! Yes, the year started well. I got up and said, I SHALL not complain…! Not on the first day of the year!
        About your changing jobs… Hmm, I don’t think so. Just keep advertising in this particularly lovely way.
        Hugs back!

      • If you feel the need to complain on the second or third days don’t forget my ears are handy. I’m a good listener if nothing else. Just warn me if you’re throwing missiles so I’ve chance to dodge please and remember I’m not as fast as I once was or is that was once? Hugs

      • Congratulations on your award – your humbled response was most endearing and I wish you and your family all the best for 2013.
        Thank you for following me too (greatbigjar) I need all the help I can get lol.

      • Thank you Sarah. I’m sure your blog doesn’t need much help. it seems to get responses and you write quite often. It’s a very good blog.

  2. Thank you for the offer to listen, David!
    (I forgot to congratulate you for this award – yes, this blog is lovely!)

  3. Congrats! I don’t think my seven things will be nearly as interesting as yours, but I’ll give it a try. Have a fantastic New Year!

  4. Congrats on the Lovely Blog award. It makes perfect sense. I continue to follow your posts, as it’s like visiting a dear friend and talking over tea. Take care of you in 2013, and enjoy your family. 🙂

  5. Congrats on the award and yes, I’d love to hear more from you, I’m sure I’m not the only one. (I’d love to hear some tales of your days as a Brylcreem Boy!)

    • Thanks Metan. I could tell you about those years but then I’d have to kill you. Hope you have an Awesome New Year with your family. Hugs. xx

      • Oh well, it was worth a try…. Maybe some kind of serial, aerial, James Bond-esqe tale of adventure that has no bearing whatsoever on a certain persons exploits?

        I hope the new year for you and your family is equally fantastic. Hugs to you 😀

      • Ha, these days I have trouble writing a shopping list. I have the first 2 and a bit chapters of a book such as you describe waiting to be finished as soon as the muse hits…I must remember to stop ducking ! All my very best wishes to you and all the family inc pets for 2013. xx Hugs

      • Oooh, I am really looking forward to that book! Next time the muse aims at you, don’t duck!

      • No promises. Still, I suppose if you read my second book The Queen’s Envoy you’ll know what this one’s like. You might end the muse on a permanent vacation then.

      • Now I really hope the muse targets you, I enjoyed the Queen’s Envoy very much, it was the first of your books I read. 🙂

      • Now I’m blushing but I take a bow to hide it. xx Thank you. xx Hugs

  6. I agree with Metan! More please. But what’s this about being a Brylcreem Boy?????

  7. What a pleasant surprise to see I’ve been nominated for a bloggy award. I appreciate your kindness and visits to my blog. I’ve grown very fond of you and your blog over these many months and found a kindred spirit across the pond. Cheers to a good New Year. Hope Julia is feeling okay lately, and the rest of your family is doing okay.

    • Many thanks Amberr. My blog reciprocates. Julia is starting to feel a bit better again after a helpful visit from the MacMillan Nurse on Monday afternoon. The rsy of the Motley Crew appears tobe doing OK as am I, We wish you a Tremendous New Year. xx Hugs

  8. Thank you for the mention and the award. 🙂

  9. Food Stories

    Health, Wealth and Happiness to you, too 🙂

  10. David,

    What a wonderful way to start the new year! After a writing drought I am getting my sea legs back and trying to get back in “tune” with the community that I have grown to love. I take it that your middle name is Michael??? A refreshing name and it is my middle name (maybe the reason I am partial to it)

    Aaron 🙂

    • Isn’t it horrible when the words just won’t come. Now you’re back I’m sure everything will soon come back to you. Yes, my middle name is Michael. For years it was the name family used so I’m glad to be able to be called David now but I still like Michael. Funny that we both share it.
      So glad to see you writing again,
      Hugs

Leave a Reply

