The Queen’s Envoy

It occurs to me that on occasion I’m supposed to market my books and worse still promote myself. So, I shall make myself a Field Marshall which is about as promoted as I can get. That only leaves me to market the book.

Probably most people would market their first book, the one that started the whole series. I want to have a word about the second book in the series which in an effort to confuse is actually a prequel. It tells the story of the newly titled Lord David before he settled at home to become the unsung hero he actually is playing his part in village life.

In the early days of the Title , David also inherited a job.It didn’t matter that he was already employed as this new job had cachet and also came with an unread “You WILL do this”. And he would. The job was to follow in his cousin’s footsteps as an unlisted, unofficial envoy for HMG (Her Majesty’s Government). It was a great honour of course, especially knowing if you were killed on the job no-one knew you or acknowledged you.

David undergoes a series of tasks for HMG in which he’s seriously out of his depth.He’s also confronted with women, something that’s been a bit of a mystery to him for most of his life. To be honest they scare him, to be more honest his wife Lady J scares him more and if she thinks there’s been any impropriety……………..

Meet Prunella who’s designs on David may not be entirely honorable.

cover

Is it possible that the British stiff upper lip may not be enough to see David through on his missions. Will he in fact survive the visits home? There were some very nice reviews for this book for which I’m extremely grateful plus the usual very bad review which shows you can’t please all of the people all of the time. Check them out for yourself.

Ella Dee had this to say and I never even paid her.

“Had William Shakespeare been alive today and read The Queen’s Envoy, he surely would have written these words about Lord David Prosser… “Be not afraid of greatness; some are born great, some achieve greatness, and others have greatness thrust upon them”… but as he’s not, it falls to me to do so. Lord David doesn’t fail in any of his missions, including the mission to engage and entertain readers. ”

http://goo.gl/jdqBUR  UK.

http://goo.gl/SrprI3    U.S.

@davidmfprosser

85 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

85 responses to “The Queen’s Envoy

  1. I think it sounds great David. I remember reading something good about it elsewhere and being intrigued. But time for reading for pleasure …😦

    • Thanks so much Kate.I think I’m glad on this occasion you have time problems. I think my laundry bill might go up while I was waiting to hear your thoughts.
      xxx Massive Hugs xxx

      • Hey, sometimes I’m nice🙂

      • You’re always nice Kate but I consider you a more discerning reader than something lightweight like my book. Though I did use a proofreader and editor at the time I suspect there are still things you’d find to make my toes curl. If you ever get time I’ll send it to you and I promise that providing you don’t swear, we’ll remain fast friends.
        xxx Massive Hugs xxx

  2. Marvelous, David! The cover is not what I remember, but I really like this one. I hope you’re having a fabulous Friday. Happy vernal equinox hugs!

    • This is the cover on the Amazon.co.uk kindle version. It was designed for me by a good friend as I wasn’t keen on the one I’d done myself ( I’m still not).
      Happy first day of Spring.
      xxx The Hugest of Hugs xxx

  3. Reblogged this on Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog and commented:
    If you haven’t already got this great book – GO GET IT NOW😀

  4. Reblogged this on Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life and commented:
    The Queen’s Envoy is diplomatically requesting some attention for his prequel.. this is not some form of cocktail drunk before a State Dinner but the forerunner for his excellent Barsetshire Diaries.. do pop over and seek an audience..

    • You se, there’s no doubt why I love you so much Sally.For a moment though I thought you were asking for a sequel to the prequel, it’s OK my heart has slowed down now.
      You’re very kind Sweetie.
      xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    • Thank you, that’s really kind. Is the job still going in your college, I thought I might flex my mental muscles an apply.Not ageist are they?
      xxx Huge Hugs xxx

      • Hugs much appreciated! xx
        There is a kind of reverse ageism – the older you are the better! I’d give it a shot, if I were you.

      • That’s what I like, positive discrimination in my favour. You’re very welcome to Hugs, they’re my currency in life though for some reason the nice lady in the chip shop doesn’t agree and prefers money.
        xxx Hugs Galore xxx

      • I didn’t mean that you are old, though – just realised that might have sounded rather rude! My apologies. Hugs are a fabulous currency, I should say, the lady from the chip shop is a crazy fool.
        xxx hurrah! Xxx

      • It didn’t sound in the least rude and I’m as old as I need to be to get a job but most definitely in excess of 60. I think the lady from the chippy is wrong too, though she does point out that since I don’t pay cash she has to resort to eating her own product and was recently mistaken for Giant Haystacks as a result. Oops!
        xxx Massive Hugs xxx

      • It is very much just a number. Also your moustache is epic, it takes the kind of wisdom and experience to grow such a thing that can only come with the passage of time. Now I feel a little sad for chip shop lady; a tragic character somewhere between Miss Haversham and Jabba The Hutt.
        xxx huge hugs back xxx

  5. Hi, David. This book sounds great. I’m still reading the first one. I’m a slow reader. If it’s anything like the first one, and it sounds like it is, it’s certainly going on my TBR list. I’m a fan. Have a great Friday and then a great weekend. Gigantic Hugs.🙂 — Suzanne

    • In some ways it’s quite different to the first book Suzanne as this time there was a lot of make believe as regards travel but the cast remains the same mainly.I’d be happy to know how you’re getting on with the first one.
      xxx Massive Hugs xxx

  6. Not sure how busy you are this weekend David but hoping that you can be my Plus One at this party.. https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/2015/03/20/walking-on-sunshine-blog-party-hosted-by-hugh-roberts-with-guest-lord-david-prosser/ always wanted to walk in on the arm of a Queen’s Envoy… hugs

  7. It’s always good to go against expectations. I’m with Teagan, I don’t remember this cover either. Good luck with your prequel, second…Well, you know! Good luck with all of them!

    • You really are so sweet and very kind to me Olga. The cover is special to me but I wasn’t able to get it on every book for some reason. Or rather my editor wasn’t.
      I don’t really expect sales from this but I just felt I had to make the effort. Maybe it will make me look at the sequel again. Wouldn’t like to come and help would you?
      xxx Gigantic Hugs xxx

  8. Wishing you tons of additional sales, David. I like the cover on this one. Hugs.

    • Thanks so much Mary J. This cover was done professionally as was the first one. If only I’d done so with the others.
      I thought I should make an effort.
      xxx Ginormous Hugs xxx

  9. Love this new cover (assuming it’s new?). It was a fun book!

  10. My review is here https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/12865922-the-queen-s-envoy but for convenience…
    “Had William Shakespeare been alive today and read The Queen’s Envoy, he surely would have written these words about Lord David Prosser… “Be not afraid of greatness; some are born great, some achieve greatness, and others have greatness thrust upon them”… but as he’s not, it falls to me to do so. Lord David doesn’t fail in any of his missions, including the mission to engage and entertain readers. ”
    😊

  11. That is a new cover, I don’t remember seeing this before. You should promote yourself and your friends/fans will also. You are a marvelous writer. Have a wonderful weekend.

    • I don’t suppose you’ll believe this but these wonderful comments are like onions. They make my eyes leak. I;m not very good at promotion and I accept that but it’s not everything. The friends I’ve made are reward enough.
      Your remark is so kind.
      xxx Huge Hugs xxx

  12. Love the cover… About time you did some promo!🙂 Sounds really interesting, my friend. Hugs to you.

  13. I love your new promotion! Field Marshall Sir David Prosser has a certain ring to it does it not? I wonder if you would be kind enough to give me a promotion also?

    I am determined to read your book – it just hasn’t made it to the top of the list yet – but Winter is coming and that is my reading time🙂 xoxo

    • It does have a ring now you mention it. Is there any particular rank you’d like. I have a few spare.Air Commadore sounds pretty good,
      Hard to believe you’re moving towards Winter as we move away from it.You can sample the books on Amazon to see if they’re your cup of tea.
      xxx Huge Hugs xxx

      • I have investigated your books and read the reviews too and yet still I wish to get a copy! 😀 One is out of print or just not available at the moment – the one about Oscar. I’ve got the latest two on my wish list 🙂 And thanks, I’ll take Air Commodore – do I get a plane with that?

      • I shall have to look into the Oscar book. How can a p/o/d book be out of print?
        Sorry Air Commodore, with the cutbacks we have to supply our own vehicles now.
        Huge Hugs xxx

  14. I’m baffled by the cover as well, David. A new reprint? Or are we all going a little soft in the head? And yay, at last a bit of promotion. Great story, naturally.😀

    • Not a new cover as it’s been on Amazon.co.uk a long time. You know me and anything technical, it never got any further.I couldn’t possibly comment on softness in the head being a (supposed) gentleman. Is promotion really that rare?
      xxx Much Love and Huge Hugs xxx

  15. My want-to-read list is getting so long, I will never get anything read. Before I’m 90.🙂

  16. Reblogged this on chrllrobb and commented:
    Another book to add to my want-to-read list. I’ll never get to them all!😀

  17. Great cover – love it! And I do need to get to the first book – I like to read in sequence, but this post just gave me a big nudge, David!

  18. What a great intro., David. It’s specific, fun, funny, and definitely in your charming voice. And I love the cover.
    Well done!

    • You are as always an Angel Marylin. I’m glad you like the cover. Most people seem to be seeing it for the first time and yet as an ebookm cover it’s not new.
      xxx Massive Hugs xxx

  19. Shucks, I’m an old fashioned gal when it comes to reading – have not entered the world of kindle but, tell you what, you’ve certainly got me intrigued David and I shall give myself the task of gettin’ into it🙂 I love your writing on blogs, witty, up-close-and-personal, draws people inside, rich in the best sense…

    • You’re so kind Ina, thank you. I prefer books too and these are of course available as books if you prefer.
      I’m a little bit of a technophobe but even I have to admit that a tablet is handy and you can read books on those too.
      Thank you, thank you for the kind remarks.You’re a real ego boost.
      xxx Gigantic Hugs xxx

  20. Sounds fascinating David – am off to Amazon to get my copy – for my Kindle of course. Hugs from NZ 🙂

    • Buxxer just discovered the Kindle edition is only available to UK readers. So I’ll see if I can get it on Fishpond – NZ’s answer to Amazon.

      • I wonder why. I’m sure it’s available to the U.S.site too. If you have a problem let me know, I haven’t heard of Fishpond.
        Thank you so much.
        xxx Huge Hugs xxx

  21. Well David, Kindle edition not available through Amazon.co.uk, Fishpond.co.nz but hooray I just purchased it through Amazon.com

  22. Reblogged this on writerchristophfischer and commented:
    A great post for a wonderful book. Highly recommended!

  23. Kev

    Love that book cover, David! Sounds interesting too.🙂

  24. Sounds great David! You’re too humble and modest!

  25. Never one to mess about, I’ve just bought BOTH! Super excited and can’t wait to dive in! Massivo Huggos from Carlotta in rain swept Spain (it’s not true, it doesn’t stay mainly on the plain….) xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    • Both what Lottie? The Queen’s Envoy and one of the other books? If it’s the first one, My Barsetshire Diary, remember that Envoy is a prequel.
      I hope you know you can be honest with me Lottie, my books were never going to appeal to everyone.
      Sorry the rain has reached you, today has been a gem here, sunshine and some warmth.
      xxx Sending Massive Hugs xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

      • Now you’ve really got ‘me knickers in a twist….yes, those are the two that i’ve bought. I’m guessing that I start with MBD….
        Genuinely thrilled to hear that you’ve got sunshine and warmth – we’ve had stunning weather for weeks. A bit of rain won’t hurt, I only mention it because it’s a pain getting me smalls dried!! xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

      • Really you could start with TQE if you wanted as the action pre-dates MBD but it’s up to you. I’m not sure we’re ready for anything like stunning yet but you could say the sunshine did leave us stunned yesterday.
        Just imagine how much of a pain it would be with my extra larges then !
        xxx Massive Hugs xxx

  26. Congratulations on your books and your wonderful reviews! May your talent be widely recognised!
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

Leave a Reply

