Daily Archives: June 19, 2017

Degu or not Degu, that is the question.

10/09/2012

      I was locked out of the room with the seats. Me! Kept away from the seats. And I could hear the scrabbling on the floor of things I should have been catching. I could also hear My ‘The Him’ and ‘The Her’ calling to them and cursing their speed. If only they hadn’t closed the clearway I could have put a stop to that straight away. The only place they’d be going to fast is my mouth.

      It took a long time but finally the clearway opened and I was allowed in.I was disappointed to see the rats were still in their cage but oddly enough the degus weren’t. They were in a small carrying case on the seat. I went over to check on them and they ‘chittered ‘ at me and hissed. I ignored them since I have the last laugh, they’re in a carrier and I’m not.

My ‘The Her’ put her fur on to go out and My ‘The Him’ picked up the arm sticks he uses and followed carrying the degus. It looks like they’re taking the new rodents away and I’ll just have to cope with the rats then, unless they’re next of course. It was quiet at home since the rats make most noise at night so I left through one of the small clearways left open for me.  I strolled towards the village and met Ginger. He told me there was a lovely smell coming from one of the houses at the bottom of the hill. It had to be worth a closer look. As we approached we could see there was a clearway open and on the ledge inside were two plates with a fish pie gently steaming. Though these had probably been left as gifts for us I was still  careful in my approach since the Longlegs can be moody creatures for no reason. Proof of that came as I got close to the sill and the Longlegs inside saw me. She shouted ‘Oi’ or something and pulled the plates out of reach. Strange behaviour. Stranger still was her next move which was to throw a jug of water, complete with jug, at us which drenched poor Ginger and missed me. He was not happy and let out a screech which said so before he ran off. I chose the same moment to beat a hasty retreat too.

Since Ginger wasn’t in sight and the Longlegs had withdrawn her gift ( perhaps it was not meant for Ginger to share) I headed for home to eat. I had just got there when My ‘The Him and Her’ arrived. They still had the carrier which I guessed was now empty and ready for the rats. But as we got inside I saw it still contained rodents. Less of them to be sure, but they were still there. Only three now instead of six as before. It was a blow but it was a better situation than before. I heard My ‘The Her’ saying she hoped they’d go to good homes so I guess she’d given some away. I went to eat to ward off my disappointment in the day. I heard the head rat Amy saying she was cross that some had come back. I guess they don’t get on. But then, who gets on with rats anyway?

hat thief
                                                                         Hat thief
climbing up
                                                                       The climber.
this should help
                                                                  Engine coolant.
This has been a bad week with the news of the fire engulfing a tower block of flats in London. The death toll has been rising steadily all week and I don’t believe they’ve found everybody yet. I’m hoping it proves to be a tragic accident and that other blocks aren’t at risk but if it proves to be criminal negligence after millions were spent there last year I hope the culprits are made to pay. You can’t put life below cost in importance.
The fire crews called out to tackle the blaze worked tirelessly above and beyond. Nothing short of heroic. I ‘d like to pay tribute to them that even more lives weren’t lost.
I wish you all a wonderful week filled with happiness and Hugs. Don’t forget to make someone’s day with a smile and/or a hug.
Enjoy the song for tonight. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ntuqTuc6HxM

73 Comments

Filed under Humour