Daily Archives: June 4, 2017

The Birthday Surprise

29 Aug 2012

Oscar made it quite clear yesterday that his birthday was his alone. That wasn’t very kind towards the others who live here. I confess I’m not too bothered about the degu and her children as she is treated constantly to make up for feeding time, but there is me and the rest of the girls,  Penny, Bernie and Priya.

My natural inclination is not to get Oscar anything to celebrate his day, but never let it be said that I, Amy am churlish. As it happens, the human woman who lives here didn’t make a great job of locking the cage door last night so with a bit of effort I was able to extend the spring enough to squeeze out of the door. It was a short hop from there to the arm of the settee and hence to the floor. Since I know Oscar was locked in the kitchen there was no chance of him coming out to spoil our surprise.

Control is what’ s needed on an expedition like this since though we are very intelligent creatures it’s easy to get sidetracked for some. Bernie is a case in point. She’s a very friendly girl but bares around like a ‘Sherman tank’ to borrow a human phrase and she’s very inquisitive too. That was almost our downfall when Bernie jumped up on the arm of the settee after I’d released her, and tried to pull a bag of treats within reach from a side table. The treats came alright, but so did a solid ashtray that didn’t bounce as it hit the wooden floor. I hear Oscar’s claws scrabbling at the kitchen door and was worried one of the humans would come and spoil our surprise.

At last we were all out and I had us down on the floor ready to go.I’d seen the human woman put Oscar’s gifts in a corner of the room. We edged over quietly. I set Penny’s jaws to eating through the paper and cardboard until the contents were exposed. Oh YAY it was full of cat chocolate drops. We’re quite partial to those too so I pulled some out and set hem in little piles on the floor. ” Here you go girls” I said, “let’s give Oscar his birthday treat.” Without  hesitation the girls and I dug in. I replenished each pile as it got low until we were all full and the box was all but empty.

Gathering the girls and their satisfied smiles together I herded them back to the cage.
Freedom had beckoned for a moment but I knew it would be difficult through closed doors. Back in the cage Bernie turned to me and asked ” But what have we got Oscar for his birthday since we’ve just eaten his treats?”
“Ah, I answered, the best one of all. Since he’s getting larger as he’s got older, we’ve given him a diet.” With that I closed the cage door to so our little enterprise wouldn’t be discovered. and thought that maybe next year he’d learn to share.
Love, Amy.

kylo ren

                                                                           Kylo Ren

the hulk

                                                                             The Hulk

did you drop this Mr Tennis

                                                               Anyone for Tennis?

Today’s Music Treat.  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MsTIuNikq4w

A Message to Terrorists.

Since you have perverted the message of the Q’uran it is likely that your cowardice in purposefully targeting the innocent which includes people of what you claim is your faith means that your places in Paradise have been given to the faithful. Your places in the burning fires of hell have been reserved. Manchester and a new London attack have not changed the minds of the UK. Muslims who live here are our brothers and sisters and we shall not hate them.

A Message to my Readers.

Have a wonderful new week full of tolerance, love and Hugs. Keep in mind the courage of the three young men, two of whom lost their lives, who went to the aid of two young Muslim girls being harangued on a train by a white supremacist. Bear in mind also the courage and kindness of the people of Manchester who came out in droves to help the victims of the bombing even offering accommodation to those too shocked to get home or those waiting for information. Also the courage displayed by the people of London yesterday and today was heartening to see. Thank you.

66 Comments

Filed under Humour