Daily Archives: June 11, 2017

Good Day Dawning.

3/9/2012

      My day  started really well. As the light first grew through the small clearways I jumped up beside My ‘The Him’ on his sleeping place and made my whiskers tickle him under his nose until he woke up with a mighty Aatishoo. Startled he looked at me and I told him my food dish was empty. “It’s not even 5 o’bl**dy clock he growled swinging his legs out and heading for my dishes. I occupied the warm spot left by him for  moment-just to show I could- and then headed off to my dishes, letting the warm spot get cold before he returned.

Eating finished it was time to survey my domain. I intended asking My ‘The Him’ to open a small clearway but when I returned to his room he’d already done so before snuggling back down in his bed furs. I decided to let him sleep. Jumping up onto the sill I exited the room through the clearway and leapt down to the garden.  The flying things were all waking up and starting to sing but there were none on the ground for me to pounce on. The ones that don’t get caught are quick learners.  I could see them in the branches spreading their wings to descend after I’d gone. Some of them are very pretty.All was quiet in the village itself. No Longlegs moving around yet, perhaps because it was only 5 o’bl**dy clock? I heard the dog from the Fursty Ferret that they’d bought after someone had been in and stolen a full salmon one one occasion and some ham on another.It must have been at times other than when they’d left them as gifts for me to take. It was a bit pointless to get the dog since she was very shy and hid in a corner if a Longlegs came too close. Since none of my friends were out and about I decided to have a word with her. Jumping up on the wall at the back of the Fursty Ferett I looked down at her.
“Good new light Rover” I said, ” have you caught any thieves.”
With a look of derision on her face she answered ” My name is Lassie not Rover, and I don’t like cats very much so come no closer.”
“Fair enough” I replied, “I know when I’m not wanted.”
“Wait” she called, “I haven’t spoken to anyone all dark time. A cat’s better than nothing.”
My hackles started to rise at this but I know not all dogs are blessed with manners any more than they’re blessed with sense. “What do you want?” I asked.
” Tell me all about where we are and what it’s like.” she responded.
So after reminding her that it’s good to have manners, I did.
“Ah” she said “If only I could see it.”
Biting my tongue to stop the remark that was about to appear I suggested that she could. It was just a case of moving a few beer crates a little closer to the wall with her teeth. They were empty so not very heavy and moved easily when she tried. As soon a two together were there and then a single I suggested she could use them as steps. It scares me that something as simple as this defeats even a dog but I must be kind.
Lassie used the crates as steps and appeared next to me at the top of the wall. I wasn’t too worried since ( a) I’m very fast when needs be and  (b) I don’t think she took being a dog very seriously in the traditional sense.It took very little persuasion for me to get Lassie to join me in my walk and get to know the village a bit better. Since the Fursty Ferret is open so late I didn’t think anyone would be awake to miss her at this time of the day. My biggest fear was of one of my friends seeing me walking around with a dog. I’d have to claim I’d trained her or something but I’m not sure I’d have been believed. Anyway, by luck we saw no-one and after a good tour we headed back to the Fursty Ferret where she mounted the wall easily from my side and was able to use the steps to get down her own side. Before I left she looked up and thanked me. Said I was her only true friend there and she hoped I’d come by for another walk sometime. “Hrumph” I answered and headed off home for breakfast and to play alarm cat again if My ‘The Him’ wasn’t up. Well, I have to have some fun don’t I?my beautiful grandbaby

My beautiful granddaughter.

My name is diego montoya

My name is Diego Montoya, you killed my father…….  From the Princess Bride.

singist

The Singist.

This week I’m going off trend to play you what I think is a great piece of live music and live singing. I’d never have kept my foot still and I don’ even like jazz.

I wish all of you a fantastic week with as much love and as many hugs as you can handle. Remember to smile at people to brighten their day and you’ll find it brightens yours too.

64 Comments

Filed under Humour